Günter Grass Exhibition “Beyond the final hill, the sea”

Federal President Frank-Walter Steinmeier and Claudia Hahn-Raabe, director of the Goethe-Institut Lisbon.
Federal President Frank-Walter Steinmeier and Claudia Hahn-Raabe, director of the Goethe-Institut Lisbon. | Photo: Bundesregierung/Steffen Kugler

Günter Grass had an especially close relationship with Portugal. The travelling exhibition Encontros presents works that emerged from his encounters with the people and the natural landscape of the country. The exhibition in Porto, which originated in collaboration with the Goethe-Institut, was also visited by Federal President Frank-Walter Steinmeier. 

“My luxury is my own lemon for tea. A little tree stands in Portugal to oblige me in winter,” wrote Grass in his 1997 book Fundsachen für Nichtleser (Found Objects for Non-Readers). He and his wife Ute were drawn to their agave and cactus-lined house in the hinterland of the Algarve during the colourless German winters. The vibrancy of nature, combined with the productive tranquillity of its refuge, its culinary abundance and its proximity to the sea, that place of constant searching, are merely elements of a multi-layered relationship. Grass first travelled to Portugal for a debate in 1976, two years after the Carnation Revolution, at the invitation of the Goethe-Institut and from then on actively participated in Portuguese cultural life. He was a close friend of José Saramago who received the Nobel Prize for Literature one year before him.

Frank-Walter Steinmeier and the Portuguese President Marcelo Rebelo de Sousa admire a self-portrait of Günter Grass. Frank-Walter Steinmeier and the Portuguese President Marcelo Rebelo de Sousa admire a self-portrait of Günter Grass. | Photo: Bundesregierung/Steffen Kugler The exhibition was first shown in the vicinity of his house in the Museum of Portimão. It then opened at the Casa Museu Guerra Junqueiro in Porto on 2 March. Displayed on the two floors of the museum, watercolours, etchings and sculptures reveal how Grass experienced Portugal and how the country shaped and fostered his work. In his works, in addition to found objects and plants, encounters between the land and the sea are striking: the fish that the enthusiastic cook painted before or after eating it, a stranded shell, feathers floating above the sea. Among other things, Grass drew using sepia ink that he extracted himself; its longevity and expressive colour inspired him.

Federal President Steinmeier visits the exhibition 

Before the opening, Federal President Frank-Walter Steinmeier visited Encontros together with his Portuguese counterpart Marcelo Rebelo de Sousa as part of a state visit. Claudia Hahn-Raabe (Goethe-Institut Portugal) and Hilke Ohsoling (Günter and Ute Grass Foundation) led them through the exhibition and the conversation soon revolved not only around the exhibited works, but also the recognition that Grass found as a temporary citizen and especially as a writer in Portugal. The evening was followed by the opening ceremony, which was attended by colleagues of Grass such as the writers Tilman Spengler and Katja Lange-Müller and the translator Helena Topa. Together, they read poems from Fundsachen that had been especially translated into Portuguese for the occasion.

Bronze sculptures “Small Chicken” (1951), “Girl with Apple” (1950) and “Flounder with Handle II” (1982) by Günter Grass. Bronze sculptures “Small Chicken” (1951), “Girl with Apple” (1950) and “Flounder with Handle II” (1982) by Günter Grass. | Photo: Bundesregierung/Steffen Kugler

Found objects in words and pictures

Graphic designer Arne Kaiser, responsible for the exhibition design, explained that one of the aims of the exhibition was to emphasise the constant interaction of words and pictures in Grass’s work. This unity is also evident in the exhibited book editions, for which the author was regularly also a graphic designer.

In Porto, far from Almancil, where Grass regularly exhibited, it seems that Günter Grass is best known as a writer. Many a visitor was surprised by the artistic variety of the works and the proximity to their own reality: For many people in the northern Portuguese city, having a lemon tree in the garden is also their little everyday luxury.

Günter Grass Ausstellung „Hinterm letzten Hügel das Meer“

Bundespräsident Frank-Walter Steinmeier und Claudia Hahn-Raabe, Institutsleiterin des Goethe-Instituts Lissabon
Bundespräsident Frank-Walter Steinmeier und Claudia Hahn-Raabe, Institutsleiterin des Goethe-Instituts Lissabon | Foto: Bundesregierung/Steffen Kugler

Mit Portugal verband Günter Grass ein Verhältnis besonderer Nähe. Die Wanderausstellung „Encontros” zeigt Werke, die aus den Begegnungen mit den Menschen und der Natur des Landes hervorgegangen sind. Die Ausstellung in Porto, die in Zusammenarbeit mit dem Goethe-Institut entstanden ist, besuchte auch Bundespräsident Frank-Walter Steinmeier. 

„Mein Luxus heißt: Die eigene Zitrone zum Tee. In Portugal steht ein Bäumchen, das mir im Winter gefällig wird”, schreibt Grass 1997 in den „Fundsachen für Nichtleser”. In den farblosen deutschen Wintermonaten zog es ihn mit seiner Frau Ute in ihr von Agaven und Kakteen gesäumtes Haus im Hinterland der Algarve. Die Lebendigkeit der Natur, verbunden mit der produktiven Ruhe ihres Refugiums, die kulinarische Fülle und nicht zuletzt die Nähe zum Meer, jenem Ort der stetigen Suche, sind nur Teile einer vielschichtigen Beziehung. Auf Einladung des Goethe-Instituts war Grass 1976, zwei Jahre nach der Nelkenrevolution, erstmals zu einer Debatte nach Portugal gereist und nahm von da an aktiv am portugiesischen Kulturleben teil. Mit José Saramago, der ein Jahr vor ihm den Literaturnobelpreis erhielt, verband ihn eine enge Freundschaft.

Frank-Walter Steinmeier and the Portuguese President Marcelo Rebelo de Sousa admire a self-portrait of Günter Grass. Frank-Walter Steinmeier and the Portuguese President Marcelo Rebelo de Sousa admire a self-portrait of Günter Grass. | Photo: Bundesregierung/Steffen Kugler In Nachbarschaft zu seinem Haus wurde die Ausstellung zunächst im Museum von Portimão gezeigt. Im Anschluss eröffnete sie nun am 2. März in der Casa Museu Guerra Junqueiro in Porto. Auf den zwei Stockwerken des Museums entsteht in Aquarellen, Radierungen und Plastiken ein Bild davon, wie Grass Portugal erlebte, wie das Land seine Arbeit prägte und förderte. Neben Fundsachen und Pflanzen fällt in seinen Werken immer wieder die Begegnung von Land und Meer ins Auge: der Fisch, den der begeisterte Koch vor oder nach dem Verzehr malte, eine gestrandete Muschel, Federn, die über dem Meer schweben. Grass zeichnete unter anderem mit Sepiatinte, die er selbst extrahierte und deren Langlebigkeit und ausdrucksstarke Farbe ihn begeisterten. 

Bundespräsident Steinmeier besucht die Ausstellung

Noch vor der Eröffnung besucht Bundespräsident Frank-Walter Steinmeier „Encontros“ im Rahmen eines Staatsbesuchs gemeinsam mit seinem portugiesischen Amtskollegen Marcelo Rebelo de Sousa. Claudia Hahn-Raabe (Goethe-Institut Portugal) und Hilke Ohsoling (Günter und Ute Grass Stiftung) führen durch die Ausstellung; das Gespräch dreht sich bald nicht nur um die ausgestellten Werke, sondern auch um die Anerkennung, die Grass als zeitweiliger Mitbürger und insbesondere als Schriftsteller in Portugal fand.
Am Abend folgt die feierliche Eröffnung, zu der sich auch Weggefährten wie die Schriftsteller Tilman Spengler und Katja Lange-Müller und die Übersetzerin Helena Topa eingefunden haben. Gemeinsam lesen sie Gedichte aus den „Fundsachen”, die eigens für die Ausstellung erstmals ins Portugiesische übersetzt wurden.

„Bronze Skulpturen „Kleines Huhn“ (1951), „Mädchen mit Apfel“ (1950) und „Butt mit Griff II“ (1982) von Günter Grass „Bronze Skulpturen „Kleines Huhn“ (1951), „Mädchen mit Apfel“ (1950) und „Butt mit Griff II“ (1982) von Günter Grass | Foto: Bundesregierung/Steffen Kugler

Fundsachen in Schrift und Bild

Der Grafiker Arne Kaiser, der für das Ausstellungsdesign verantwortlich zeichnet, erklärt, es sei eines der Ziele der Ausstellung gewesen, das stetige Zusammenspiel von Schrift und Bild in Grass’ Werk herauszuarbeiten. Diese Einheit wird auch an den ausgestellten Buchausgaben deutlich, für die der Autor regelmäßig auch Grafiker war.

In Porto, weit entfernt von Almancil, wo Grass regelmäßig ausstellte, scheint tatsächlich vor allem der Schriftsteller Günter Grass bekannt zu sein. Manch ein Besucher zeigt sich überrascht von der künstlerischen Vielfalt der Werke und der Nähe zur eigenen Lebensrealität: Der Zitronenbaum im Garten ist auch für viele in der nordportugiesischen Großstadt ihr kleiner Luxus im Alltag.