Quick access:

Go directly to content (Alt 1)Go directly to second-level navigation (Alt 3)Go directly to first-level navigation (Alt 2)

On the centenary of the birth of Joseph Beuys
The abiding Secret

The exhibition “Beuys verstehen” (“Understanding Beuys”) will be presented by the Goethe-Institutes of Warsaw and Prague.
The exhibition “Beuys verstehen” (“Understanding Beuys”) will be presented by the Goethe-Institutes of Warsaw and Prague. | Illustration (detail): © ZAUBAR/Imago

To mark the centenary of the birth of Joseph Beuys, the exhibition “Beuys verstehen” (“Understanding Beuys”) will be presented by the Goethe-Institutes of Warsaw and Prague. Curators Catherine Nichols and Eugen Blume as well as the technical developer from Zaubar, Stefan Marx, discuss the significance of Beuys and take us behind the scenes of a virtual gallery.

The virtual gallery “Understanding Beuys” opens right on time to celebrate the centenary of the birth of Joseph Beuys. What can the public expect to find there?

Curator Catherine Nichols is part of the curatorial team of "beuys2021". Curator Catherine Nichols is part of the curatorial team of "beuys2021". | Photo (detail): © Catherine Nichols Many people find the cosmos that Joseph Beuys created in his work to be fascinating yet hard to penetrate. The virtual gallery therefore offers an accessible route into this complex intellectual world; a virtual tour of discovery that reflects on the artist’s language of form and image, materiality and transformation intentions. It presents eight of Beuys’ key works including the performance installation THE CHIEF, the Capri Battery and 7000 Oaks, which each illustrate an important aspect of the expanded concept of art. The exhibition explores the correlations between these works which Beuys regarded as being elements in a Gesamtkunstwerk. It incorporates key quotes of the artist which illuminate the significance of language and thought for his “utopian plan” – and which certainly prove that the impetus Beuys gave for a freer and more democratic society has lost none of its topicality and explosive nature. The debate surrounding Beuys himself and his relationship to myths plays an important part in the exhibition and is introduced right at the beginning. Observers are invited to form their own opinion about the importance and relevance of the artist.

What do you find exciting about Joseph Beuys – even today?

His crossing of boundaries, acting out of the conventional concept of art into society without abandoning art in the narrower sense. Curator Eugen Blume is part of the curatorial team of "beuys2021". Curator Eugen Blume is part of the curatorial team of "beuys2021". | Photo (detail): © Eugen Blume
He regarded his work as a vehicle, a means of transport which triggers a spiritual response and, in doing so, crosses the boundary of rational, pure intellectual space. His idea of rethinking societies from the standpoint of art and opposing every form of authoritarian leadership or ideological certainty with openness is a worthwhile approach that numerous partners worldwide have examined and scrutinised on the occasion of this centenary. It is an approach that appears to be increasingly significant, if one considers the danger of right-wing, narrow and authoritarian populism that opposes democracy even in Europe. 

The exhibition is entitled “Understanding Beuys”. Do you understand his art?

It’s not about whether one understands his art – or art in general – in the usual sense of a purely rational comprehension of correlations, but about how to discover his work in a multifaceted, even emotional way that inspires the observer to reflect on issues such as trauma, transformation, illness and healing. In his work, Beuys explored things which were enigmatic and secretive. On one of his tableaux, he wrote the sentence “make the secrets productive”. The abiding secret and the intimation of correlations can be far more lucrative for our thinking than complete resolution. The creative thinking that Beuys advanced, which also extends to physical processes and conceives models of social behaviour, remains open and includes contradictions, rather than resolving them. In this respect, the concept of “understanding” is a topic for discussion itself.

Beuys continues to be a controversial topic of discussion, particularly in a political sense. If he were alive today, would Beuys be be part of the Querdenker-Movement, would he be a Fridays for Future activist or something completely different?

I think Beuys would always be a Querdenker in the true sense of its meaning as ‘lateral thinker’, but would have nothing to do with conspiracy theories or reactional mindsets; he would want to facilitate the freedom of the individual. I’m sure he would support #Fridays for Future because his art was essentially about monuments for the future, as he called his “Straßenbahnhaltestelle” (“Tramstop)” for the 1976 Venice Biennale, in which a switch played the lead role. We also need to switch tracks if humanity is going to survive. This was his message. His art is an appeal for help to all of us that, at the same time, suggests how we can establish common ground between people, a solidarity than gives us the ability to act. He refers to this as social sculpture.

Mr Marx, was it difficult to transfer the art of Joseph Beuys to the 21st century and the digital sphere?

Stefan Marx, CO-FOUNDER (CEO) at „ZAUBAR“ Stefan Marx, CO-FOUNDER (CEO) at „ZAUBAR“ | Photo (detail): © „ZAUBAR“ / Stefan Marx “Beuys verstehen” (“Understanding Beuys”) is available as an immersive web tour in browsers for desktop and mobile devices, as well as an augmented reality app for iOS and Android. We thereby use the newest interactive formats, but were very careful to ensure that they did not distort the artworks or their meaning. We regard the formats of the web tour and augmented reality tour as a platform to introduce Joseph Beuys to new generations who have new realities of life. In our approach, we have located the historic pictorial material of the artworks and the artist spatially and conceptually in a virtual gallery. During the “Understanding Beuys” web tour, the public floats through the life and work of Joseph Beuys in a minimalist virtual gallery.

Do you have a personal favourite artwork in the virtual gallery?

My personal favourite artwork comes right at the beginning. It is a moment in the life of Beuys that gives a very deep insight into his creative process and his motivations – and perfectly puts the visitor in the mood for what is to follow. What follows is the unique digitalisation of a selection of the most important German art of the previous 100 years.


The interview was conducted by Carla Jamatte and Alexander Behrmann.

Top

Schnelleinstieg:

Direkt zum Inhalt springen (Alt 1)Direkt zur Sekundärnavigation springen (Alt 3)Direkt zur Hauptnavigation springen (Alt 2)

Zum 100. Geburtstag von Joseph Beuys
Das bleibende Geheimnis

„Beuys verstehen“ ist der Titel einer virtuellen Galerie der Goethe-Institute Warschau und Prag.
„Beuys verstehen“ ist der Titel einer virtuellen Galerie der Goethe-Institute Warschau und Prag. | Grafik (Ausschnitt): © ZAUBAR/Imago

Zum 100. Geburtstag von Joseph Beuys entsteht die Ausstellung „Beuys verstehen“ der Goethe-Institute Warschau und Prag. Die Kurator*innen Catherine Nichols und Eugen Blume wie auch der Tech-Entwickler Stefan Marx von Zaubar sprechen über die Bedeutung von Beuys und gewähren einen Blick hinter die Kulissen einer virtuellen Galerie.

Pünktlich zum 100. Geburtstag von Joseph Beuys eröffnet die virtuelle Galerie „Beuys verstehen“. Was erwartet das Publikum dort?

Die Kuratorin Catherine Nichols gehört zu dem Kurator*innenteam von „beuys2021“. Die Kuratorin Catherine Nichols gehört zu dem Kurator*innenteam von „beuys2021“. | Foto (Ausschnitt): © Catherine Nichols Viele Menschen empfinden den Kosmos, den Joseph Beuys in seinem Werk entstehen ließ, als ebenso faszinierend wie schwer zu durchdringen. Die virtuelle Galerie bietet daher einen zugänglichen Einstieg in diese komplexe Gedankenwelt, einen Entdeckungsrundgang im virtuellen Raum, der über die Form- und Bildsprache, über die Materialität und den Transformationswillen des Künstlers reflektiert. Sie präsentiert acht Schlüsselwerke von Beuys, darunter die Aktion „DER CHEF THE CHIEF“, die „Capri-Batterie“ und „7000 Eichen“, die jeweils einen wichtigen Aspekt des erweiterten Kunstbegriffs veranschaulichen. Dabei erkundet die Ausstellung die Zusammenhänge zwischen den Werken, die Beuys alle als Teil eines Gesamtkunstwerks verstand. Sie bindet Schlüsselzitate des Künstlers ein, die die Bedeutung von Sprache und Denken für seinen „utopischen Plan“ erfahrbar machen – und die allemal davon zeugen, dass die von Beuys ausgehenden Impulse für eine freiere, demokratischere Gesellschaft nichts an Aktualität und Brisanz verloren haben. Einen wichtigen Platz nimmt die Debatte um die Person Beuys und seinen Umgang mit Mythen ein, in die gleich zum Auftakt eingeführt wird. Die Betrachter*innen werden dazu eingeladen, sich selbst eine Meinung zur Bedeutung und Relevanz des Künstlers zu bilden.

Was reizt Sie an der Kunst von Joseph Beuys – bis heute?

Seine Grenzüberschreitung, die aus dem herkömmlichen Kunstbegriff in die Gesellschaft hinein agiert, ohne die Kunst im engeren Sinne aufzugeben. Der Kurator Eugen Blume gehört zu dem Kurator*innenteam von „beuys2021“. Der Kurator Eugen Blume gehört zu dem Kurator*innenteam von „beuys2021“. | Foto (Ausschnitt): © Eugen Blume
Seine Werke hat er als Vehikel verstanden, als Trans­port­mittel, die etwas Geistiges bewegen und dabei den rationalen, rein verstandesmäßigen Raum überschreiten. Sein Vorschlag, von der Kunst her die Gesellschaften neu zu denken und das Offene gegen jede Form von autoritärem Führertum oder ideologische Gewissheiten zu stellen, ist ein lohnenswerter Ansatz, der anlässlich des 100-jährigen Jubiläums von zahl­reichen Partner*innen weltweit beleuchtet und hinterfragt wird. Es ist ein Ansatz, der zunehmend an Bedeutung zu gewinnen scheint, wenn man die Gefahr des rechten, engen und autoritären Populismus sieht, der sich auch in Europa gegen die Demokratie stellt. 

Die Ausstellung trägt den Titel „Beuys verstehen“. Haben Sie seine Kunst verstanden?

Es geht nicht um das Verstehen seiner Kunst – oder von Kunst überhaupt – im herkömmlichen Sinn eines rein rationalen Begreifens der Zusammenhänge, sondern darum, einen vielschichtigen, auch emotionalen Einstieg in sein Werk zu finden, das zum Nachdenken über Trauma, Transformation, Krankheit und Heilung anregt. Beuys ging es in seinen Werken um das Rätselhafte, das Geheimnisvolle. Auf eine seiner Tafeln schrieb er den Satz „make the secrets productive“. Das bleibende Geheimnis und die Ahnung von Zusammenhängen sind unter Umständen viel ertragreicher für das Denken als die restlose Auflösung. Das von Beuys vorangebrachte bildnerische Denken, das sich auch auf physikalische Prozesse ausweitet und Modelle sozialen Handelns entwirft, bleibt offen und schließt Gegensätze ein, statt sie aufzulösen. Insofern steht das Verstehen an sich zur Diskussion.

Gerade in politischer Hinsicht wird weiterhin kontrovers über Beuys diskutiert. Was denken Sie, wäre Beuys heute Querdenker, „Fridays for Future“-Aktivist oder etwas ganz anderes?

Im guten Sinne war Beuys immer ein Querdenker, hatte aber nichts mit Verschwörungstheorien oder reaktionären Denkweisen zu tun, sondern wollte der Freiheit des Einzelnen zum Durchbruch verhelfen. Sicher würde er „#Fridays for Future“ unterstützen, denn in seiner Kunst ging es wesentlich um Monumente für die Zukunft, wie er seine „Straßenbahnhaltestelle“ 1976 in Venedig genannt hat. Dabei spielte eine Weiche die Hauptrolle. Die Weichen müssen neu gestellt werden, wenn wir als Menschheit überleben wollen. Das war seine Botschaft. Seine Kunst ist ein Hilferuf an alle, der zugleich Vorschläge unterbreitet, wie wir unter den Menschen Gemeinsamkeiten herstellen können, eine Solidarität, die uns handlungsfähig macht. Diese nannte er soziale Plastik.

Herr Marx, war es schwierig, die Kunst von Joseph Beuys ins 21. Jahrhundert und in den digitalen Raum zu versetzen?

Stefan Marx, CO-FOUNDER (CEO) bei „ZAUBAR“ Stefan Marx, CO-FOUNDER (CEO) bei „ZAUBAR“ | Foto (Ausschnitt): © „ZAUBAR“ / Stefan Marx „Beuys verstehen“ ist als immersive Webtour im Browser für Desktop und Mobilgeräte sowie als Augmented-Reality-App für iOS und Android verfügbar. Damit bedienen wir uns der neuesten interaktiven Formate, haben aber sehr darauf geachtet, dass diese nicht die Kunstwerke und deren Sinn entstellen. Wir verstehen die Formate der Webtour und der Augmented-Reality-Tour als Plattform, um Joseph Beuys neuen Generationen in neuen Lebens­wirk­lich­keiten näher zu bringen. Wir sind dabei so vorgegangen, dass wir historisches Bildmaterial der Kunstwerke und des Künstlers räumlich und gedanklich in einer virtuellen Galerie verortet haben. Im Webrundgang von „Beuys verstehen“ bewegt sich das Publikum schwebend in einer minimalistischen virtuellen Galerie durch das Schaffen und Leben von Joseph Beuys.

Haben Sie ein persönliches Lieblingskunstwerk in der virtuellen Galerie?

Mein persönliches Lieblingskunstwerk ist gleich zu Anfang zu erleben. Dabei handelt es sich eher um einen Lebensmoment Beuys’, der ganz tief in sein Schaffen und seine Hintergründe blicken lässt - und somit eine besondere Einstimmung bringt in das, was folgt. Was folgt, ist die einmalige Digitalisierung eines Ausschnitts der wohl wichtigsten deutschen Kunstwerke der letzten 100 Jahre.


Die Fragen stellten Carla Jamatte und Alexander Behrmann.

Top