The Business of Tomorrow PITCH-PERFECT Future Young Entrepreneurs

The participants in Pitch-Perfect.
The participants in Pitch-Perfect. | Photo: Bernhard Ludewig

An online platform for affordable tutoring, an app that finds cooks: the Goethe-Institut’s Future Young Entrepreneurs project encourages sustainable business ideas by young people. At the final event in Berlin’s Akademie der Künste, 14 teams competed for the prize for best project. It went to an idea from India.

The five pupils from the Stedelijk Lyceum Kottenpark in Enschede, the Netherlands have already internalized the first lesson in good entrepreneurship: know your market! “In the Netherlands there are 90 million bicycles for 70 million inhabitants,” the prospective company founders explain. In their eyes this means 90 million bicycles keys that can be lost. Their project Fldentity can help: it is the name of a bike lock that can be closed and opened with a fingerprint. The prototype does not exist yet. “But we are technically able to make it,” the teens ensure.

“Feel Good Food” team from the Netherlands “Feel Good Food” team from the Netherlands. Photo: Bernhard Ludewig | Photo: Bernhard Ludewig Building prospects with creativity

Future Young Entrepreneurs is the EU-funded project by the Goethe-Institut that began encouraging pupils between the ages of 15 and 18 to take their first steps into the world of start-ups in March 2015. Participants come from India, Indonesia, Malawi, the Netherlands, Romania, Vietnam and Germany. In most of the countries, they collaborated with the Schools: Partners for the Future (PASCH) initiative. Following a theoretical, preparatory phase during which the teen managers were able to gain knowledge about the world of business, now the two best teams from each country competed in Berlin at the final event Pitch Perfect: Who Will Make It to the Top? at the Akademie der Künste.

The project’s focus is, however, neither on competitiveness nor on the prospects of profits from the pupils’ projects. Instead, it is on multilingualism and associated professional mobility, in other words the future prospects of the participants from around the world and their contemporaries. “In some parts of Europe, 40 percent of young people are unable to find work,” Heike Uhlig, the head of the Language department of the Goethe-Institut, points out in her opening speech. “Worldwide, we anticipate a youth unemployment rate of approximately 14 percent in coming years.” The Future Young Entrepreneurs work to resist this threatening trend.

“School’s Out” team from Malawi. “School’s Out” team from Malawi. | Photo: Bernhard Ludewig Find farms, book chefs

Each group is given only two minutes to pitch their ideas to possible investors. Their pitches are evaluated by an expert jury of three consisting of Cosima Stahr, manager of the United Nations SEED programme promoting entrepreneurship for sustainable development, Anabel Ternès, professor of e-business at the SRH Academy in Berlin and Felix Scharf, business innovation manager at Volkswagen AG. The aspects they assess include whether the business idea solves an existing problem in a creative way, whether it fulfils sustainability criteria, how it handles existing resources and, of course, whether the business plan is viable.

Choosing the winners is no easy task for the jury. The pupils pitch an amazing spectrum of ideas with social and ecological backgrounds. For example, the Regiofinders project from Germany: an app that can be used to find farms and shops with regional products. With Beaural-Jayoe, pupils from Indonesia aim to sell a traditional herbal beverage that helps people lose weight. One of the two groups from Romania plans to use an app so guests can “Book a Cook,” promising both intercultural and culinary experiences. And the Malawian School’s Out portal networks instructors and learners for affordable tutoring.

Participants from Indonesia. Participants from Indonesia. | Photo: Bernhard Ludewig Get to know Malawi and survive in the jungle

Although none of these very imaginative projects presented with handsome diagrams make it to one of the top three places, the jury encourages all of the groups to continue to pursue their ideas. The second group from Bambino Private Secondary School in Malawi wins the third place prize in this neck and neck race of young entrepreneurs. They want to spread knowledge about their homeland with the Cedar Cultural Center. “Many people in the west still think that Africa is one country,” explains the pupil Orelha Thodi in her pitch. The planned centre – where regional artists can also sell their works – aims to bring Malawian culture to life.

The second place goes to Jurvival, a digital learning game from Vietnam, which makes users capable of surviving in the jungle while also conveying lots of facts about the ecology of the Asian country. “We spend up to eight hours a day using smart phones and tablets,” explains pupil Nguyen Thao Nguyen. “Why not use this time wisely?”

“Lunat” team from Vietnam making their pitch. “Lunat” team from Vietnam making their pitch. | Photo: Bernhard Ludewig Used books win the day

Finally, the first place is awarded to a team from New Delhi whose PeekaBook web portal won over the jury. Not only because the pupils gave their presentation a humorous framework with photos from a sort of Indian Hogwarts, but most of all because their idea seemed so well thought out. PeekaBook helps pupils of little means find the schoolbooks they need in second hand bookshops. Every team had to answer tough questions at the end of their pitch and the PeekaBook team was ready with good answers. The young Indians respond to the question of whether e-books would not be a more practical alternative by presenting studies on the lack of a flourishing e-book market in their country.

T“PeekaBook” team from India after the announcement of their win. “PeekaBook” team from India after the announcement of their win. | Photo: Bernhard Ludewig Networking is also part of entrepreneurship

The Future Young Entrepreneurs project is also all about testing social skills in a globalized world, as the project manager Miriam Irle reminds the groups with the fairness award. It is won by the Romanian pupil Agata Tabacu. “She immediately sought contact with all of the groups,” Irle lauds. There is no better attribute for an entrepreneur of tomorrow.

By Patrick Wildermann

Unternehmen Zukunft Pitch-Perfect „Future Young Entrepreneurs“

Die Teilnehmerinnen und Teilnehmer von Pitch-Perfect.
Die Teilnehmerinnen und Teilnehmer von Pitch-Perfect. | Foto: Bernhard Ludewig

Eine Online-Plattform für günstige Nachhilfe, eine App, die Köche vermittelt: das Projekt des Goethe-Instituts „Future Young Entrepreneurs“ ermutigt nachhaltige Geschäftsideen von Jugendlichen. Auf der Abschlussveranstaltung in der Berliner Akademie der Künste konkurrierten 14 Teams um den Preis für das beste Projekt. Durchsetzen konnte sich eine Idee aus Indien.

Die fünf Schülerinnen und Schüler des Stedelijk Lyceums Kottenpark im niederländischen Enschede haben die erste Lektion des erfolgreichen Unternehmertums bereits verinnerlicht: Kenne deinen Markt! „90 Millionen Fahrräder für 70 Millionen Einwohner gibt es in den Niederlanden“, führen die angehenden Firmengründerinnen und Firmengründer auf Englisch aus. Was in ihren Augen vor allem bedeutet: 90 Millionen Fahrradschlüssel, die verloren gehen können. Abhilfe soll ihr Projekt „Fldentity“ schaffen. Hinter dem Namen verbirgt sich ein Fahrradschloss, das per Fingerabdruck geschlossen und geöffnet werden kann. Ein Prototyp existiert zwar noch nicht. „Aber technisch sind wir dazu in der Lage“, versichern die Jugendlichen.

Team „Feel Good Food“ aus den Niederlanden. Team „Feel Good Food“ aus den Niederlanden. | Foto: Bernhard Ludewig Mit Kreativität Perspektiven schaffen

„Future Young Entrepreneurs“ nennt sich das von der EU geförderte Projekt des Goethe-Instituts, das seit März 2015 Schülerinnen und Schüler im Alter zwischen 15 und 18 Jahren zu ersten Schritten in die Welt der Start-Ups ermutigt. Beteiligt sind daran Indien, Indonesien, Malawi, die Niederlande, Rumänien, Vietnam und Deutschland. In fast allen Ländern wurde mit der Initiative „Schulen: Partner der Zukunft“ (PASCH) zusammengearbeitet. Nach einer theoretischen Vorbereitungsphase, in der die jungen Gründer in spe sich viel Wissen über die Geschäftswelt aneignen konnten, traten nun in Berlin die zwei besten Teams jedes Landes bei der Abschlussveranstaltung „Pitch Perfect: Wer hat die zündende Idee?“ in der Akademie der Künste gegeneinander an.

Der Fokus des Projektes liegt dabei allerdings weder auf dem Konkurrenzgedanken, noch auf dem Profitversprechen der entwickelten Vorhaben. Vielmehr stehen die Mehrsprachigkeit und die damit verbundene berufliche Mobilität, sprich die Zukunftsperspektive der Beteiligten aus aller Welt und ihrer Altersgenossen im Vordergrund. „In manchen Teilen Europas finden 40 Prozent der jungen Menschen keine Arbeit“, gibt Heike Uhlig in ihrer Eröffnungsrede zu bedenken, Leiterin der Abteilung Sprache des Goethe-Instituts. „Weltweit rechnet man in den kommenden Jahren mit einer Jugendarbeitslosigkeit von circa 14 Prozent“. Diesem bedrohlichen Trend wirkten die „Future Young Entrepreneurs“ entgegen.

Team „School’s out“ aus Malawi. Team „School’s out“ aus Malawi. | Foto: Bernhard Ludewig Bauernhöfe finden, Köche buchen

Lediglich zwei Minuten Zeit bekommt jede Gruppe, um ihre Idee so zu präsentieren, dass sie bestenfalls Investoren anziehen könnte. Bewertet werden die sogenannten Pitches in Berlin von einer dreiköpfigen Fachjury, bestehend aus Cosima Stahr, Managerin des SEED-Programms der Vereinten Nationen zur Förderung nachhaltigen Unternehmertums; Anabel Ternès, unter anderem Professorin für E-Business an der SRH Hochschule Berlin; sowie Felix Scharf, Business Innovation Manager bei der Volkswagen AG. Unter anderem schauen sie darauf, ob die Geschäftsidee auf kreative Weise ein bestehendes Problem löst, ob sie Kriterien der Nachhaltigkeit erfüllt, wie mit vorhandenen Ressourcen umgegangen wird – und natürlich, ob der Businessplan sich umsetzen ließe.

Die Auswahl der Sieger wird der Jury nicht leicht gemacht. Die Schülerinnen und Schüler pitchen eine staunenswerte Bandbreite an Ideen mit sozialem und ökologischem Hintergrund. Aus Deutschland kommt beispielsweise das Projekt „Regiofinders“: eine App, über die sich Bauernhöfe und Geschäfte mit regionalen Produkten ausfindig machen lassen. Schülerinnen und Schüler aus Indonesien wollen mit „Beaural-Jayoe“ ein traditionelles Gewürzgetränk vertreiben, das beim Abnehmen helfen soll. Eine der beiden Gruppen aus Rumänien plant, über die App „Book a Cook“ Hobby- oder Profiköche an Gäste zu vermitteln, was interkulturelle und kulinarische Erfahrungen zugleich verspricht. Und das malawische Portal „Schools Out“ soll Lehrende und Lernende für günstige Nachhilfe vernetzen.

Teilnehmerinnen aus Indonesien Teilnehmerinnen aus Indonesien | Foto: Bernhard Ludewig Malawi kennenlernen, im Dschungel überleben

Für einen der ersten drei Plätze reicht es zwar bei keinem dieser durchweg phantasievoll und mit schönen Grafiken präsentierten Vorhaben. Dennoch ermutigt die Jury sämtliche der Gruppen, ihre Ideen weiter zu verfolgen. Den dritten Platz in diesem Kopf-an-Kopf-Rennen der Jungunternehmer belegt die zweite Gruppe der Bambino Private Secondary School aus Malawi. Die will das Wissen über ihre Heimat mit dem „Cedar Cultural Center“ mehren. „Viele Menschen im Westen denken immer noch, Afrika sei ein Land“, so die Schülerin Orelha Thodi in ihrem Pitch. Das geplante Zentrum – wo auch Künstlerinnen und Künstler aus der Region ihre Werke verkaufen können – soll malawische Kultur lebendig werden lassen.

Der zweite Platz geht an das digitale Lernspiel „Jurvival“ aus Vietnam, das fit machen soll für das Leben im Dschungel – und nebenbei viel Wissenswertes über die ökologischen Bedingungen des asiatischen Landes vermittelt. „Bis zu acht Stunden täglich verbringen wir mit Smartphones und Tablets“, so Schülerin Nguyen Thao Nguyen. Warum diese Zeit nicht auch sinnvoll nutzen?

Team „Lunat“ aus Vietnam beim Pitch. Team „Lunat“ aus Vietnam beim Pitch. | Foto: Bernhard Ludewig Mit dem gebrauchten Buch zum Erfolg

Über den ersten Platz schließlich darf sich ein Team aus Neu Delhi freuen, dessen Webportal „PeekaBook“ die Jury begeistern konnte. Nicht nur, weil die Schülerinnen und Schüler ihrer Präsentation einen lustigen Rahmen mit Fotos aus einer Art indischem Hogwarts-Internat gegeben haben. Sondern vor allem, weil ihre Idee so hervorragend durchdacht scheint. „PeekaBook“ hilft Schülern und Studenten mit wenig Geld, in Second-Hand-Buchläden das benötigte Lehrmaterial ausfindig zu machen. Auch auf die kritischen Frage, der sich jedes Team im Anschluss an den Pitch stellen muss, hat das „ PeekaBook“-Team gute Antworten parat. Den Einwand, ob nicht E-Books praktischer seien, kontern die jungen Inder mit Studien zum nicht eben florierenden E-Book-Markt in ihrer Heimat.

Team „PeekaBook“ aus Indien nach der Bekanntgabe ihres Siegs. Team „PeekaBook“ aus Indien nach der Bekanntgabe ihres Siegs. | Foto: Bernhard Ludewig Auch Netzwerken gehört zum Unternehmertum

Dass es beim Projekt „Future Young Entrepreneurs“ auch darum geht, soziale Fertigkeiten in einer internationalen Welt zu erproben, ruft Projektleiterin Miriam Irle mit dem Fairnesspreis ins Gedächtnis. Den gewinnt die rumänische Schülerin Agata Tabacu. „Sie hat sofort mit allen Gruppen den Kontakt gesucht“, lobt Irle. Gute Voraussetzungen für eine Unternehmerin von morgen.  

Von Patrick Wildermann