Visitors Programme “I want to sit at the steering wheel of my own life”

The Saudi Arabian artists together with Claudia Roth and Johannes Ebert, Secretary General of the Goethe-Institut
The Saudi Arabian artists together with Claudia Roth and Johannes Ebert, Secretary General of the Goethe-Institut. | Photo: Goethe-Institut/Jörg Schumacher

An entrepreneur, lawyer and women’s rights activist, Sofana Dahlan is a prominent figure in Saudi Arabia and one of the country’s best-known women. She was invited by the Goethe-Institut to come to Germany and visit Frankfurt, Berlin and Leipzig. Christopher Resch met with her.

Ms Dahlan, you were one of the first women in Saudi Arabia to be granted permission to work as a lawyer. How did you manage that?

It was a long journey that took 13 years in all. It started when I was still at school and felt that I wanted to leave the country and never come back.

But why?

I wanted to explore the world and see everything, but Saudi Arabia did not give me the opportunity to ask questions. So I studied law in Cairo. After four years, all of the Saudi men in my year had their certificate – I was the only one who didn’t. I was told that my qualification could not be recognised because there was no university in the whole of Saudi Arabia that offered a law degree for girls. That was a great disappointment.

At the time I went to Beirut where I took a master’s degree in business administration, got married and then began to work as a legal adviser in Kuwait. Ultimately, however, all of that was just an escape from Saudi Arabia, which after all was my own country! So I returned there in 2011 and started Tashkeil, my own business, in Jeddah.

So Tashkeil is an incubator, a kind of business centre for creative start-up ideas. What is the idea behind it?

Tashkeil is based on a socioeconomic model. Its main goal is capacity building. Everyone of course must have a certain knowledge base, but we also have highly individual capabilities. These need to be identified and then built upon and expanded. The other main element of the business is social crowdfunding, which allows us to help young creative people get their first projects off the ground.

We have got 60 designers up and running and have supported over 200, everything from pop-ups to proper exhibitions and coaching programmes. Over 10,000 people – both women and men – have taken part in workshops since 2011. Just imagine what a difference it can make if a female participant takes just one thing she has heard back home with her and tells her mother or her husband about it!

But you hadn’t given up on the idea of becoming a lawyer one day, had you?

Not at all. At the end of 2012, the King issued a decree that allowed women to practise as lawyers. I flew to Riyadh the very next morning. When I arrived at the Ministry of Justice, I was incredibly excited. I went in, said a friendly “Hello” and asked which documents I would need to submit in order to be recognised as a lawyer. Four bearded men sat in front of me and one of them said: “Not in a thousand years.”

Yet another disappointment.

I wasn’t simply upset, I was absolutely furious. For the next eight weeks, I would board a plane at 6 am every Tuesday and turn up at the ministry at 8.30 am on the dot. They would ignore me the first four times I came, but you could see how they were becoming more and more frustrated.  Finally, one of them disturbed me rather rudely while I was praying and I burst into tears, which gradually led to some feeling of empathy – on both sides. When they asked me whether I wouldn’t get tired of all of it sooner or later, I of course replied “no” – and one day I was actually given my certificate.

In February, the Goethe-Institut organised Germany’s cultural guest contribution to the Janadriyah Festival in Riyadh. You have already worked with the cultural manager based in Jeddah on a number of occasions. What can be accomplished through intercultural cooperation?

Any kind of cultural interaction brings us closer together. Amid all the politics, borders and visas, we have forgotten how similar we ultimately are. Language can be a barrier, true, but art or music are wonderful ways in which to communicate. What we need from countries like Germany are cultural programmes that give young people an opportunity to learn and experience new things. Unfortunately, however, Saudi Arabia lets only few people visit the country.

So the other direction would be more promising – Saudis could come to Germany for a while, for instance on the sort of trip that you are taking part in?

Yes, we need cultural programmes of this kind, and I do not mean only high-ranking business partners or visitors programmes like this one. Obviously it is wonderful to meet a politician like Claudia Roth or to see the Schirn gallery in Frankfurt. On a much simpler level, it is also about young Saudis coming to Germany, taking some very personal memories home with them, and passing them on to family and friends.

Some people here think that your country is nothing but deserts and women in burkas. What would you respond to them?

I hear all the time about how we Saudi women are not allowed to drive. And yes, we should be allowed to sit at the steering wheel – but for me it is more important to sit at the steering wheel of my own life. My country should grow organically at a pace that it can cope with. That takes time. I don’t believe in revolution, I believe in evolution. 

 
The interview was conducted by Christopher Resch. He is a freelance journalist in Leipzig who writes mainly about the (political) culture of the Arab/Islamic world.

Besucherreise „Ich will am Steuer meines Lebens sitzen“

Die saudischen Künstlerinnen und Künstler gemeinsam mit der Vizepräsidentin des Deutschen Bundestages Claudia Roth und dem Generalsekretär des Goethe-Instituts Johannes Ebert
Die saudischen Künstlerinnen und Künstler gemeinsam mit der Vizepräsidentin des Deutschen Bundestages Claudia Roth und dem Generalsekretär des Goethe-Instituts Johannes Ebert | Foto: Goethe-Institut/Jörg Schumacher

Unternehmerin, Anwältin, Kämpferin für die Rechte der Frauen: Sofana Dahlan ist eine herausragende Persönlichkeit in Saudi-Arabien und eine der bekanntesten Frauen des Landes. Auf Einladung des Goethe-Instituts hat sie an einer Besucherreise nach Frankfurt, Berlin und Leipzig teilgenommen.


Frau Dahlan, Sie haben als eine der ersten Frauen in Saudi-Arabien eine Zulassung als Anwältin bekommen. Wie haben Sie das geschafft?

Das war ein langer Weg, insgesamt hat er 13 Jahre gedauert. Er hat schon in der Schule begonnen, mit dem Gefühl, dass ich das Land verlassen und nie mehr zurückkommen wollte.

Wieso das?

Ich wollte die Welt erkunden, alles sehen, aber Saudi-Arabien gab mir nicht den Raum, Fragen zu stellen. Also habe ich Jura studiert, in Kairo. Nach vier Jahren hatten alle saudischen Männer meines Jahrgangs ihr Zertifikat, nur ich nicht. Man könne meinen Abschluss nicht anerkennen, weil es in ganz Saudi-Arabien keine Universität gebe, die Jura für Mädchen anbietet. Das war eine große Enttäuschung.

Zu der Zeit bin ich nach Beirut gegangen, habe dort einen Master in Business Administration gemacht, geheiratet und anschließend in Kuwait als Rechtsberaterin angefangen. Aber am Ende war das alles nur eine Flucht aus Saudi-Arabien, immerhin war es mein Land! Also bin ich im Jahr 2011 zurück und habe in Djidda meine eigene Firma Tashkeil aufgemacht.

Tashkeil, ein Incubator, also eine Art Gründerzentrum für Ideen aus dem kreativen Bereich. Was ist die Idee dahinter?

Das Fundament von Tashkeil ist ein sozioökonomisches Modell. Es geht vor allem um Capacity Building, den Aufbau von Kompetenzen. Jeder Mensch muss natürlich einen Fundus an Wissen haben, aber er hat auch ganz individuelle Fähigkeiten. Diese muss man herausfinden und dann auf- und ausbauen. Die andere Säule ist soziales Crowdfunding, wodurch wir jungen Kreativen helfen, ihre ersten Projekte zu starten.

Wir haben 60 Designer an den Start gebracht und über 200 unterstützt, von Pop-ups über richtige Ausstellungen bis hin zu Coachings. Seit 2011 haben über 10.000 Menschen an Workshops teilgenommen - Frauen und Männer. Stellen Sie sich vor, wenn eine Teilnehmerin auch nur einen Satz mit nach Hause nimmt und ihrer Mutter oder ihrem Ehemann davon erzählt!

Aber den Plan, eines Tages Juristin zu werden, hatten Sie noch nicht aufgegeben, nicht wahr?

Richtig. Ende 2012 erließ der König ein Dekret, das es den Frauen erlaubte, als Anwältin zu praktizieren. Direkt am nächsten Morgen bin ich nach Riad geflogen. Als ich im Justizministerium ankam, war ich wahnsinnig aufgeregt. Ich ging hinein, sagte freundlich „Guten Tag“ und fragte, welche Papiere ich einreichen müsse, um als Anwältin anerkannt zu werden. Vor mir saßen vier bärtige Männer und einer von ihnen sagte: „In tausend Jahren nicht.“

Eine erneute Enttäuschung.

Ich war nicht einfach nur aufgebracht, ich war maßlos wütend. Ich bin dann acht Wochen lang jeden Dienstag um 6 Uhr morgens ins Flugzeug gestiegen und stand pünktlich um 8.30 Uhr im Ministerium. Bei den ersten vier Besuchen haben sie mich noch ignoriert. Aber man konnte sehen, wie sie immer frustrierter wurden, bevor mich dann irgendwann einer der Vier etwas rabiat beim Beten störte, ich in Tränen ausbrach und dadurch langsam Empathie füreinander entstand. Auf beiden Seiten. Als sie mich fragten, ob ich es nicht irgendwann leid sei, sagte ich natürlich „nein“ – und eines Tages habe ich dann tatsächlich mein Zertifikat bekommen.

Das Goethe-Institut hat im Februar den deutschen kulturellen Gastbeitrag für das Janadriyah-Festival in Riad organisiert. Sie haben schon mehrfach mit der in Djidda ansässigen Kulturmanagerin zusammengearbeitet. Was kann die interkulturelle Zusammenarbeit leisten?

Jede kulturelle Interaktion bringt uns näher zusammen. Bei aller Politik, allen Grenzen, allen Visa haben wir vergessen, dass wir uns am Ende so ähnlich sind. Die Sprache ist eine Hürde, ja, aber man kann sich wunderbar mittels Kunst oder Musik verständigen. Was wir von Ländern wie Deutschland brauchen, sind kulturelle Programme, um den jungen Leuten Gelegenheit zu geben, dazuzulernen und Erfahrungen zu sammeln. Es ist aber leider so, dass Saudi-Arabien nur wenige Besucher ins Land lässt.

Die andere Richtung wäre also erfolgversprechender – Saudis kommen für eine Weile nach Deutschland, zum Beispiel mit Besucherreisen wie der, an der Sie teilnehmen?

Ja, solche kulturellen Programme brauchen wir, und damit meine ich nicht nur hochrangige Gesprächspartner oder Reisen wie diese hier. Natürlich ist es großartig, eine Politikerin wie Claudia Roth zu treffen oder sich die Frankfurter Schirn anzusehen. Es geht aber viel einfacher auch darum, dass junge Saudis nach Deutschland kommen können, ihre ganz persönlichen Erinnerungen mit nach Hause nehmen und dort an Freunde und Familie weitergeben.

Manch einer hier glaubt, Ihr Land bestehe nur aus Wüste und verhüllten Frauen. Was würden Sie ihm sagen?

Ich höre immer wieder, dass wir saudischen Frauen nicht Autofahren dürfen. Ja, wir sollten am Steuer sitzen dürfen. Aber für mich ist es wichtiger, am Steuer meines eigenen Lebens zu sitzen. Meine Nation sollte organisch wachsen, in einer Geschwindigkeit, die sie sich leisten kann. Das braucht Zeit. Ich glaube nicht an Revolution, ich glaube an Evolution.


Das Interview führte Christopher Resch.
Er lebt als freier Journalist in Leipzig und schreibt vor allem zur (politischen) Kultur der arabisch-islamischen Welt.