German-Greek Museum Collaboration Touching memories

German Foreign Minister Frank-Walter Steinmeier and the Greek Foreign Minister Nikos Kotzias open the exhibition.
German Foreign Minister Frank-Walter Steinmeier and the Greek Foreign Minister Nikos Kotzias open the exhibition. | © Goethe-Institut Thessaloniki / George Kogias

“History is not a prison – history must be a school.” This statement by the Foreign Minister of Greece, Nikos Kotzias, gets to the heart of a current exhibition by the Goethe-Institut Thessaloniki. A number of institutions worked together on this Greek-German collaboration that reveals moving memories.

The large-scale show Divided Memories 1940-1950. Between History and Experience being held at the Macedonian Museum of Contemporary Art (MMCA) in Thessaloniki outlines two courses of time between 1940 and 1950. There is the harrowing story of the Jewish community, which had about 50,000 members when the city was invaded by the Wehrmacht in 1941 that was decimated to 1,900 people by 1944 by deportations to concentration camps. Then there is the vicious period of the Greek civil wars, which began shortly after the end of the world war and led to the 1949 victory of the conservative Greek army, supported by Great Britain and the USA, over the leftist people’s front.

“This period of civil war is not a time for poetry,” writes the poet and painter Nikos Engonopoulos in 1948 in a poem that can be read at the MMCA. Next to it hangs an excerpt of his vital creative output, which, as the exhibition shows using the example of many of the artists of the time, was by no means hindered by repression, terror and poverty. The highly expressive painting by Engonopoulos is called Civil War. In bold colours it shows two half-naked women, one of which is pierced through with a spear. Close by are the glowing, intense black-and-white pictures by Life photographer Dmitri Kessel, who came to Athens with British troops at the end of 1944 to document misery and departure before moving on to Northern Greece to meet with partisans. “Civil War Breaks Out in Greece” is the name of Kessel’s photo essay that shows how the German occupiers previously systematically plundered, starved and humiliated the country.

“Divided Memories 1940-1950. Between History and Experience” grapples with the occupation and civil war in Greece. “Divided Memories 1940-1950. Between History and Experience” grapples with the occupation and civil war in Greece. | © Goethe-Institut Thessaloniki / George Kogias

A living contribution to coming to terms with history

The exhibition was opened by the foreign ministers of Germany, Frank-Walter Steinmeier, and Greece, Nikos Kotzias with over 200 invited guests. The two have known each other since their days as students in Germany. In his speech, Steinmeier directly addressed the occupation, saying, “We know what traces it left behind (...). We must never allow alienation or hostilities between our peoples again.” In the meantime, in front of the MMCA building demonstrators had peacefully unrolled banners demanding that Germany make financial reparations for its war guilt.

“We at the Goethe-Institut regard this exhibition as a living and tangible contribution to coming to terms with German as well as Greek history,” explains Peter Panes, head of the Goethe-Institut Thessaloniki, on a tour of the exhibition. The role of the Goethe-Institut as an intermediary, bridge builder and initiator between the Jewish Museum Thessaloniki, the MMCA and the German Historical Museum in Berlin (DHM), represented by Monika Flacke, was exciting and challenging. In the northern Greek metropolis, the collaboration between the two local museums is a creative premiere. The starting point for the exhibition was the concept of Myths of the Nations. Arena of Remembrance, which was shown at the DHM in 2005.

The curator of the MMCA, Denys Zacharopoulos, guides guests through the exhibition. The curator of the MMCA, Denys Zacharopoulos, guides guests through the exhibition. | © Goethe-Institut Thessaloniki / George Kogias

“Every exhibit here is a narrative in itself”

The curator of the MMCA, Denys Zacharopoulos, describes the orientation of the present show, which is neither strictly didactic nor theoretically instructive, but addresses the visitors’ sensitivities, saying, “We want to create a little space here between history and experience. This exhibition is not just about history between 1940 and 1950 in Greece, but about art and history. Every exhibit here is a narrative in itself.” It is a haunting presentation that follows a pathway along emotions and facts, along misery and hope. “We have only recently begun grappling with the past in Greece,” explains Zacharopoulos. “We want to enlighten here.”

Foreign Minister Frank-Walter Steinmeier holds the opening address. Foreign Minister Frank-Walter Steinmeier holds the opening address. | © Goethe-Institut Thessaloniki / George Kogias As curator, Evangelos Hekimoglou from the Jewish Museum vividly and harshly depicts the fates of the mostly Sephardic Jews of Thessaloniki. After the invasion by the German armed forces in April 1941, the Nazis immediately banned the local Jewish press, confiscated hospitals, dwellings and schools, and imprisoned prominent members of the community of about 50,000 people, the majority of whom were destitute. Photographs at the MMCA testify to these demeaned people’s will to survive. They also suffered immensely during the Greek famine in the winter of 1941/42, which was triggered by German looting and a British sea blockade.

From March 1943 and after all Jewish assets were confiscated, the deportations began. By the end of June 1943, 17 transports to Bergen-Belsen and 16 to Auschwitz-Birkenau had left the old train station of Thessaloniki. Crowded onto the trains, the Jews lost their homeland and headed to their cruel deaths.

Providing answers and asking questions

The local Jewish community has now named Federal Foreign Minister Frank-Walter Steinmeier an honorary member, which the latter considers “a miracle of reconciliation.” After the exhibition opening at the MMCA, the SPD politician visited Monastiriotis Synagogue where he was distinguished for his contribution to combating anti-Semitism.
 
  • © Goethe-Institut Thessaloniki / George Kogias © Goethe-Institut Thessaloniki / George Kogias
  • © Goethe-Institut Thessaloniki / George Kogias © Goethe-Institut Thessaloniki / George Kogias
  • © Goethe-Institut Thessaloniki / George Kogias © Goethe-Institut Thessaloniki / George Kogias
  • © Goethe-Institut Thessaloniki / George Kogias © Goethe-Institut Thessaloniki / George Kogias
  • © Goethe-Institut Thessaloniki / George Kogias © Goethe-Institut Thessaloniki / George Kogias
  • © Goethe-Institut Thessaloniki / George Kogias © Goethe-Institut Thessaloniki / George Kogias

  • © Goethe-Institut Thessaloniki / George Kogias © Goethe-Institut Thessaloniki / George Kogias
  • © Goethe-Institut Thessaloniki / George Kogias © Goethe-Institut Thessaloniki / George Kogias

The last German occupiers left Thessaloniki in October 1944. By April 1945, 1,900 Jews returned to the city. They had escaped the extermination camps, had hidden in southern Greece or had gone to the surrounding mountains to join the partisans there. A photo installation at the MMCA shows touching pictures of the people who returned to take part in the first free elections after the war in 1946.

“To whom should we tell all this? Where will we talk about it? Who will listen to it? Where should we portray all that we have seen?” asks Iakovos Kambanellis in his book Mauthausen. An excerpt from it is hung in the exhibition Divided Memories 1940-1950. Between History and Experience. It is an earnest attempt, supported by the Goethe-Institut, to provide answers in Thessaloniki – and to ask further questions.

By Harriet Wolff

Deutsch-Griechische Museumskooperation Berührende Erinnerungen

Bundesaußenminister Frank-Walter Steinmeier und der griechische Außenminister Nikos Kotzias eröffnen die Ausstellung.
Bundesaußenminister Frank-Walter Steinmeier und der griechische Außenminister Nikos Kotzias eröffnen die Ausstellung. | © Goethe-Institut Thessaloniki / George Kogias

„Geschichte ist kein Gefängnis – Geschichte muss Schule sein“: Der Satz des griechischen Außenministers Nikos Kotzias bringt eine aktuelle Ausstellung des Goethe-Instituts Thessaloniki auf den Punkt. Kooperiert haben für diese mehrere Institutionen – eine griechisch-deutsche Zusammenarbeit, die berührende Erinnerungen freilegt.

Zwei Zeitläufe zwischen 1940 und 1950 umschreibt die groß angelegte Schau „Gespaltene Erinnerungen 1940-1950. Zwischen Geschichte und Erfahrung“, die in Thessaloniki im Makedonischen Museum für Zeitgenössische Kunst (MMCA) stattfindet. Da ist die erschütternde Geschichte der jüdischen Gemeinde, die beim Einmarsch der Wehrmacht 1941 in die Stadt rund 50.000 Mitglieder zählt und bis 1944 durch Deportationen in Konzentrationslager auf 1.900 Menschen dezimiert wird. Und da ist die grausam bewegte Zeit der griechischen Bürgerkriege, die kurz nach Weltkriegsende beginnt und 1949 zum Sieg des konservativen griechischen Heers, unterstützt von Großbritannien und den USA, über die linke Volksfront führt.

„Diese Zeit des Bürgerkrieges ist keine Zeit für Dichtung“, schreibt der Dichter und Maler Nikos Engonopolous 1948 in einem Gedicht, das im MMCA nachzulesen ist. Gleich daneben hängt ein Ausschnitt seiner vitalen Kreativität, die sich eben gerade nicht, und das zeigt die Schau am Beispiel vieler Kunstschaffender der damaligen Jahre, hat behindern lassen von Repressionen, Terror und Armut. Das Gemälde von Engonopolous heißt Bürgerkrieg und es zeigt kühn farbig und stark expressiv zwei halbnackte Frauen  – die eine vom Speer durchbohrt. Unweit davon leuchten die intensiven Schwarzweißbilder des Life-Fotografen Dmitri Kessel, der Ende 1944 mit britischen Truppen nach Athen kam und dort Elend und Aufbruch dokumentierte, bevor er nach Nordgriechenland weiterzog, um dort Partisanen zu treffen. Mission: Griechenland, Auftrag: Kriegswunden heißt Kessels Fotoessay, der belegt, wie die deutschen Besatzer das Land zuvor systematisch ausgeplündert, ausgehungert und erniedrigt hatten.

„Gespaltene Erinnerungen 1940-1950. Zwischen Geschichte und Erfahrung“ setzt sich mit der Besatzungszeit und dem Bürgerkrieg in Griechenland auseinander. „Gespaltene Erinnerungen 1940-1950. Zwischen Geschichte und Erfahrung“ setzt sich mit der Besatzungszeit und dem Bürgerkrieg in Griechenland auseinander. | © Goethe-Institut Thessaloniki / George Kogias

Ein lebendiger Beitrag zur Aufarbeitung der Geschichte

Eröffnet wurde die Ausstellung vor über 200 geladenen Gästen von Bundesaußenminister Frank-Walter Steinmeier, zusammen mit seinem griechischen Kollegen Nikos Kotzias. Die beiden kennen sich noch aus deutschen Studententagen, duzen sich. In seiner Ansprache ging Steinmeier direkt auf die Besatzungszeit ein: „Wir wissen, welche Spuren sie hinterlassen hat (…). Die Entfremdung oder gar Feindschaft zwischen unseren Völkern dürfen wir nie wieder zulassen.“ Vor dem Gebäude des MMCA hatten derweil Demonstranten friedlich Transparente entrollt, die Deutschland aufforderten, finanzielle Reparationen für seine Kriegsschuld zu leisten.

„Wir vom Goethe-Institut begreifen diese Ausstellung als lebendigen und konkreten Beitrag zur Aufarbeitung der deutschen wie der griechischen Geschichte“, erklärt Peter Panes, der Leiter des Goethe-Instituts Thessaloniki, bei einem Rundgang durch die Schau. Spannend und anspruchsvoll sei hier die Rolle des Goethe-Instituts gewesen als Vermittler, Brückenbauer und Impulsgeber zwischen dem Jüdischen Museum Thessaloniki, dem MMCA und dem Deutschen Historischen Museum in Berlin (DHM), vertreten durch Monika Flacke. In der nordgriechischen Metropole ist die Zusammenarbeit zwischen den dortigen beiden Museen eine kreative Premiere. Ausgangspunkt für die Ausstellung war das Konzept von Mythen der Nationen. Arena der Erinnerung, die 2005 im DHM gezeigt wurde.

Bundesaußenminister Frank-Walter Steinmeier hält die Eröffnungsrede. Bundesaußenminister Frank-Walter Steinmeier hält die Eröffnungsrede. | © Goethe-Institut Thessaloniki / George Kogias

„Jedes Exponat hier ist eine ganz eigene Erzählung“

Der Kurator des MMCA, Denys Zacharopoulos, beschreibt die Ausrichtung der aktuellen Schau, die weder streng didaktisch noch theoretisch belehrend auftritt, sondern das Empfinden der Besucher anspricht: „Wir wollen hier ein Stück Raum zwischen Geschichte und Erfahrung entstehen lassen. Diese Ausstellung ist keine rein über die Historie zwischen 1940 und 1950 in Griechenland, sondern eine zwischen Kunst und Geschichte. Jedes Exponat hier ist eine ganz eigene Erzählung.“ Es ist eine Präsentation geworden, die einem nachgeht, die einen Weg beschreibt entlang Gefühlen und Fakten, entlang Elend und Hoffnung. „Die Auseinandersetzung mit der Vergangenheit ist in Griechenland erst spät losgegangen“, erklärt Zacharopoulos. „Hier wollen wir aufklären.“

Der Kurator des MMCA, Denys Zacharopoulos, führt durch die Ausstellung. Der Kurator des MMCA, Denys Zacharopoulos, führt durch die Ausstellung. | © Goethe-Institut Thessaloniki / George Kogias Evangelos Hekimoglou vom Jüdischen Museum zeigt als Kurator dabei anschaulich und beklemmend das Schicksal der meist sephardischen Juden Thessalonikis. Nach dem Einmarsch der deutschen Wehrmacht im April 1941 verbieten die Nazis sofort die jüdische Presse vor Ort, beschlagnahmen Krankenhäuser, Wohnungen und Schulen, und inhaftieren prominente Mitglieder der rund 50.000 Menschen zählenden Gemeinde, deren Mehrheit mittellos ist. Fotos im MMCA zeugen vom Überlebenswillen der Gedemütigten. Sie leiden unter anderem auch extrem stark während der griechischen Hungersnot im Winter 1941/42, die ausgelöst wird durch deutsche Plünderungen und eine britische Seeblockade.

Ab März 1943 und nachdem das gesamte jüdische Vermögen konfisziert worden ist, beginnen die Deportationen. Bis zu ihrem Ende im Juni 1943 verlassen 17 Transporte nach Bergen-Belsen und 16 nach Ausschwitz-Birkenau den alten Bahnhof von Thessaloniki. Eingepfercht in den Zügen verlieren die Juden ihre Heimat und fahren dem grausamen Tod entgegen.

Antworten geben und Fragen stellen

Dass die jüdische Gemeinde vor Ort jetzt Bundesaußenminister Frank-Walter Steinmeier als Ehrenmitglied benannt hat, sieht letzterer als „Wunder der Versöhnung“. Nach der Ausstellungseröffnung im MMCA hatte der SPD-Politiker die Monastiriotis Synagoge besucht. Dort wurde er für seinen Beitrag zur Bekämpfung des Antisemitismus ausgezeichnet.
 
  • © Goethe-Institut Thessaloniki / George Kogias © Goethe-Institut Thessaloniki / George Kogias
  • © Goethe-Institut Thessaloniki / George Kogias © Goethe-Institut Thessaloniki / George Kogias
  • © Goethe-Institut Thessaloniki / George Kogias © Goethe-Institut Thessaloniki / George Kogias
  • © Goethe-Institut Thessaloniki / George Kogias © Goethe-Institut Thessaloniki / George Kogias
  • © Goethe-Institut Thessaloniki / George Kogias © Goethe-Institut Thessaloniki / George Kogias
  • © Goethe-Institut Thessaloniki / George Kogias © Goethe-Institut Thessaloniki / George Kogias
  • © Goethe-Institut Thessaloniki / George Kogias © Goethe-Institut Thessaloniki / George Kogias
  • © Goethe-Institut Thessaloniki / George Kogias © Goethe-Institut Thessaloniki / George Kogias
  • © Goethe-Institut Thessaloniki / George Kogias © Goethe-Institut Thessaloniki / George Kogias

Im Oktober 1944 verließen die letzten deutschen Besatzer Thessaloniki. Bis April 1945 kehrten 1.900 Jüdinnen und Juden in die Stadt zurück. Sie waren den Vernichtungslagern entkommen, hatten sich in Südgriechenland versteckt oder waren in die umliegenden Berge gegangen und hatten sich dort Partisanen angeschlossen. Eine Fotoinstallation im MMCA zeigt berührende Bilder der Zurückgekehrten anlässlich der Wahlausweise für die erste freie Wahl nach dem Krieg im Jahr 1946.

„Wem sollten wir das alles erzählen? Wo werden wir darüber sprechen? Wer wird es sich anhören? Wo sollen wir all das vermitteln, was wir gesehen haben?“, fragt Jakovos Kambanellis in seinem Buch mit dem deutschen Titel Die Freiheit kam im Mai. Ein Auszug daraus hängt in der Schau „Gespaltene Erinnerungen 1940-1950. Zwischen Geschichte und Erfahrung“. Sie ist der engagierte Versuch, unterstützt vom Goethe-Institut, Antworten in Thessaloniki zu geben – und weitere Fragen zu stellen.

Von Harriet Wolff

Harriet Wolff arbeitet bei der Tageszeitung „taz“ in Berlin. Über den Journalistenaustausch Nahaufnahme des Goethe-Instituts ist sie zur Zeit einen Monat in Thessaloniki bei „Parallaxi". Im September/Oktober war „Parallaxi“-Redakteurin Elena Taxidou bei der „taz“.