Kritikmaschine Kursbuch takes a trip around the world

Kritikmaschine, a transnational series of events, brings together intellectuals worldwide for discussions.
Kritikmaschine, a transnational series of events, brings together intellectuals worldwide for discussions. | Photos: Carlos Porfírio; Still/Goethe-Institut; Andrei Gordeev (from left to right)

Kursbuch is celebrating! For more than 50 years, the cultural magazine has been offering up-to-date discussions on politics, business and society. Together with the Goethe-Institut, the editorial team is organizing a transnational event series called Kritikmaschine. Watch videos here with excerpts from the socio-political talks in Moscow, Lisbon and Paris.

Kursbuch, one of Germany’s leading intellectual magazines, reflects in new ways on politics, economics and society. Its 50th anniversary is being celebrated with the event series “Kritikmaschine” (criticism machine) for which eight German intellectuals are travelling to Boston, Jakarta or Riga – to name just a few of the 26 venues – to discuss socio-political topics before an audience.

When intellectuals in different cities around the world meet their colleagues from a host country, it can be confrontational, enriching and illuminating. A visit to Russia offers new insights into German feminism, Heinz Bude hits a nerve in Seoul with his topic “The Anxious Society,” and philosopher Grigory Yudin responds in St. Petersburg to the lecture by Kursbuch editor Armin Nassehi.

The event series not only aims to show how people are thinking and arguing in Germany; in particular it aims to initiate an international exchange, to confront foreign perspectives with each other, to look for new answers as well as new questions. At the end of the tour, German and foreign intellectuals will meet in 2017 for a dialogical conference in Munich.

In the three videos below, two intellectuals talk with one another about feminism, displacement and change in the world of work.

Is satisfaction the new currency in the world of work? (Lisbon)

José Luís Garcia, a sociologist from Portugal, and the German historian Sabine Dornauer speak about topics and movements arising from the European economic crisis and about the role played by emotions in today’s world of work.
 
 

Feminism today (Moscow)

The feminists Tatjana Wolkowa from Russia and Meredith Haaf from Germany talk about the “new feminism” and their personal situations. What are the main issues for feminists in Russia and Germany?
 
 

“Because France can do it” (Paris)

In Paris, the French sociologist Karen Akoka and the German journalist Wolfgang Bauer speak about refugees and arriving at personal and political levels.

Kritikmaschine Das Kursbuch auf Weltreise

Die transnationale Veranstaltungsreihe „Kritikmaschine“ bringt Intellektuelle weltweit zur Diskussion zusammen.
Die transnationale Veranstaltungsreihe „Kritikmaschine“ bringt Intellektuelle weltweit zur Diskussion zusammen. | Fotos: Carlos Porfírio; Still/Goethe-Institut; Andrei Gordeev (v.l.n.r.)

Das Kursbuch feiert! Seit über 50 Jahren bietet die Kulturzeitschrift aktuelle Diskussionen zu Politik, Wirtschaft und Gesellschaft. Gemeinsam mit dem Goethe-Institut veranstaltet die Redaktion die transnationale Veranstaltungsreihe „Kritikmaschine“. Sehen Sie hier Videos mit Ausschnitten gesellschaftspolitischer Gespräche in Moskau, Lissabon und Paris.

Als eine der wichtigsten intellektuellen Zeitschriften in Deutschland denkt das Kursbuch neu über Politik, Wirtschaft und Gesellschaft nach. Sein 50-jähriges Jubiläum ist Anlass für die Veranstaltungsreihe „Kritikmaschine“: Acht deutsche Intellektuelle reisen nach Boston, Jakarta oder Riga – um nur einige der 26 Veranstaltungsorte zu nennen – und diskutieren vor Publikum über gesellschaftspolitische Themen.

Konfrontativ, bereichernd und erhellend wird es, wenn Intellektuelle in verschiedenen Städten weltweit auf ihre Kolleginnen und Kollegen aus dem Gastland treffen. Da bringt der Besuch in Russland neue Aspekte im deutschen Feminismus auf; trifft Heinz Bude in Seoul mit dem Thema „Gesellschaft der Angst“ bei den Besuchern einen sensiblen Punkt oder antwortet in St. Petersburg der Philosoph Grigorij Yudin auf den Vortrag von Kursbuch-Herausgeber Armin Nassehi.

Die Veranstaltungsreihe will nicht nur zeigen, wie in Deutschland gedacht und gestritten wird. Sie will vor allem einen internationalen Austausch starten, fremde Perspektiven miteinander konfrontieren. Sie will nach neuen Antworten suchen – und neuen Fragen. Zum Abschluss der Tournee treffen sich deutsche und ausländische Intellektuelle 2017 zu einer dialogischen Konferenz in München.

In den folgenden drei Videos sprechen je zwei Intellektuelle miteinander über Feminismus, Flucht und den Wandel in der Arbeitswelt.

Zufriedenheit als neue Währung in der Arbeitswelt? (Lissabon)

José Luís Garcia, Soziologe aus Portugal, und die deutsche Historikerin Sabine Dornauer sprechen über Themen und Bewegungen, die sich aus der europäischen Wirtschaftskrise ergeben und über die Rolle von Emotionen in der heutigen Arbeitswelt.
 
 

Feminismus heute (Moskau)

Die Feministinnen Tatjana Wolkowa aus Russland und Meredith Haaf aus Deutschland sprechen über den „neuen Feminismus“ und ihre persönliche Situation. Was sind die wichtigsten Themen für Feministinnen in Russland und Deutschland?
 
 

„Weil Frankreich es kann“ (Paris)

Über Flucht und Ankommen auf persönlicher und politischer Ebene sprechen in Paris die französische Soziologin Karen Akoka und der der deutsche Journalist Wolfgang Bauer.