P3M5 – Plurality of Privacy Boundaries unbound?

Short videos discuss themes of privacy.
Short videos discuss themes of privacy. | Screenshot: P3M5

With Plurality of Privacy, the Goethe-Institut is launching a transnational discourse about privacy. American and European playwrights address trump and vexation in the virtual world in five-minute videos.

Virtual boundaries do not correspond to the boundaries established at the national level, often not even those set by our personal intuition. So what does privacy mean in the digital age? And how can cultural and national political concepts of data protection be reconciled? Answers to these questions are offered by whistle-blowers, experts, artists and intellectuals in the transatlantic theatre project Plurality of Privacy in Five-Minute Plays – or P3M5 for short.

The project is focussed on artistically implementing the theme of data privacy and plays with the diversity of opinions and concepts of privacy. For P3M5, the Goethe-Institut commissioned 15 European and American theatres to produce five-minute plays.

Five minutes of privacy

In her play privacy, Sarah Gubbins from the Alliance Theater in Atlanta depicts a lesbian couple panning to attend a film premiere. But Paige, one of the two, locks herself in the bathroom. She does not want to make their relationship public. Her partner Dee tries to convince her to come out. Their battle of words highlights potential privacy issues for same-sex couples.

Paco Bezerra received the commission for his play @hotmigrants from SPAIN arts & culture, the cultural office of the Spanish Embassy in Washington. A mother and daughter argue over schoolwork and a popular new Instagram account that shows photos of attractive refugees. Their altercation takes an unexpected turn when mother and daughter admit that they both know more than they let on at the beginning.

You can find all 15 videos here.

Russell Miller, Editor of the book "Privacy and Power: A Transatlantic Dialogue in the Shadow of the NSA-Affair" and Kevin Place, Coordinator of the P3M5 theater project launch the project as part of International Data Privacy Day:

P3M5 – Plurality of Privacy Unbegrenzt eingegrenzt?

Kurze Videos setzen sich mit dem Thema Privatsphäre auseinander.
Kurze Videos setzen sich mit dem Thema Privatsphäre auseinander. | Screenshot: P3M5

Mit Plurality of Privacy startet das Goethe-Institut einen transnationalen Diskurs über Privatsphäre. In fünfminütigen Videos setzen sich amerikanische und europäische Dramatikerinnen und Dramatiker mit den Vor- und Nachteilen der virtuellen Welt auseinander.

Virtuelle Grenzen entsprechen nicht den Grenzen, die auf nationalstaatlicher Ebene etabliert wurden, oft auch nicht der individuellen Intuition. Was also bedeutet Privatsphäre im digitalen Zeitalter? Und wie lassen sich kulturelle und nationalpolitische Vorstellungen von Datenschutz vereinbaren? Antworten darauf geben Whistleblowerinnen, Experten, Künstlerinnen und Intellektuelle im transatlantischen Theaterprojekt „Plurality of Privacy Project in Five-Minute Plays” – kurz P3M5.

Das Projekt ermöglicht die künstlerische Umsetzung des Themas Datenschutz und spielt mit der Vielfalt von Standpunkten und Konzepten von Privatsphäre.
Hierzu beauftragte das Goethe-Institut für P3M5 15 europäische und amerikanische Theater mit der Inszenierung fünfminütiger Theaterstücke.

Fünf Minuten Privatsphäre

Sarah Gubbins vom amerikanischen Alliance Theater erzählt mit ihrem Stück Privatsphäre von einem lesbischen Paar, das plant, eine Filmpremiere zu besuchen. Doch Paige, eine der beiden, sperrt sich ins Bad ein: Sie möchte ihre Beziehung nicht der Öffentlichkeit preisgeben. Ihre Lebensgefährtin Dee versucht, sie dazu zu bewegen, herauszukommen. Ihr Wortgefecht beleuchtet potenzielle Probleme im Datenschutz für gleichgeschlechtliche Paare.

Paco Bezerra erhielt den Auftrag zu seinem Stück @hotmigrants von SPAIN arts & culture, dem Kulturbüro der Spanischen Botschaft in Washington. Eine Mutter und ihre Tochter streiten über Schularbeiten und ein beliebtes neues Instagram-Konto, das Fotos von attraktiven Flüchtlingen zeigt. Ihre Debatte nimmt eine ungewöhnliche Wendung, als Mutter und Tochter preisgeben, dass sie beide mehr wissen, als sie anfangs vorgegeben haben.

Alle 15 Videos finden Sie hier.

Am Goethe-Institut in Washington diskutierten Russell Miller, Herausgeber des Buches Privacy and Power: A Transatlantic Dialogue in the Shadow of the NSA-Affair und Kevin Place, Koordinator von P3M5 über europäisch-amerikanische Sichtweisen auf nationalstaatliche Überwachung: