“Fabrik” touring with the Biennial Pavilion The Journeying Pavilion

„Factory of the Sun“ by Hito Steyerl
„Factory of the Sun“ by Hito Steyerl | Photo: Hito Steyerl

If they can’t come to us... “Fabrik” is sending the artistic positions of the German Pavilion at the 2015 Vienna Biennial on a world tour. Together with Goethe-Institut the wandering exhibition will show works by five international artists on the themes of work, migration and revolt. The first stop will be made at the Sursock Museum in Beirut.
 

“Fabrik” (Factory) was the name of the German Pavilion at the 2015 Vienna Biennial. It was curated for the first time by a photographic art expert, Florian Ebner, who reflects with the selected works on the themes of work, migration and revolt. The exhibition space transforms itself into a virtual factory of our networked world, a defunct Egyptian factory and a factory for political narratives.


video installations, a documentary essay and a performance installation

The aim is to think about the “material and political nature of pictures in the digital age and a globalized world,” Ebner said while presenting the participating artists. The conceptual artist Olaf Nicolai, the filmmaker Hito Steyerl, the photographer Tobias Zielony and the artist duo Jasmina Metwaly and Philip Rizk from Cairo created video installations, a documentary essay and a performance installation for the exhibition.

questions about social participation

 All of the works now being presented at Sursock Museum in Beirut are united by the concept of circulation; circulation of images, people, money and goods.

Hito Steyerl Hito Steyerl "Factory of the Sun" | Photo: Hito Steyerl They also ask questions about social participation. What freedom does each of us have in a world where the Internet leads us to believe it is a wonderful form of participation? What are forms of protest and reporting? What form will our future images possess? There will be very different answers to these questions in the various stops of the travelling exhibition. The launch in Beirut will be followed by stopovers in Mumbai and Tbilisi.

Biennale Pavillon auf Weltreise Geht ein Pavillon auf Reisen

„Factory of the Sun“ von Hito Steyerl
„Factory of the Sun“ von Hito Steyerl | Foto: Hito Steyerl

Wenn der Berg nicht zum Propheten kommt … „Fabrik“ schickt die künstlerischen Positionen des Deutschen Pavillons der Kunstbiennale 2015 von Venedig auf Weltreise. Gemeinsam mit dem Goethe-Institut zeigt die Wanderausstellung Werke von fünf internationalen Künstlerinnen und Künstlern zu den Themen Arbeit, Migration und Revolte. Ihre erste Station ist das Sursock Museum in Beirut.
 

„Fabrik“ wurde der deutsche Pavillon auf der Kunstbiennale in Venedig 2015 genannt. Kuratiert wurde er erstmals von einem Fotokunst-Experten, Florian Ebner, der mit den ausgewählten künstlerischen Positionen die Themen Arbeit, Migration und Revolte reflektiert. Der Ausstellungsraum verwandelt sich dabei in die virtuelle Fabrik unserer vernetzten Welt, in eine verlassene, ägyptische Fabrik, eine Fabrik für politische Narrative.

Videoinstallation, dokumentarischer Essay und performative Installation 

Es gehe darum, über die „materielle und politische Natur der Bilder im digitalen Zeitalter und einer globalisierten Welt“ nachzudenken, sagte Ebner, als er die beteiligten Künstler vorstellte. Der Konzeptkünstler Olaf Nicolai, die Filmemacherin Hito Steyerl, der Fotograf Tobias Zielony und das Künstlerpaar Jasmina Metwaly und Philip Rizk aus Kairo haben dafür Videoinstallationen, einen dokumentarischen Essay und eine performative Installation geschaffen.

Fragen nach der gesellschaftlichen Teilhabe

 Alle Werke, die nun im Sursock Museum in Beirut präsentiert werden, verbindet das Motiv des Zirkulierens, das Zirkulieren von Bildern, Menschen, Geld und Waren.

Hito Steyerl Hito Steyerl "Factory of the Sun" | Foto: Hito Steyerl Darüber hinaus stellen sie Fragen nach der gesellschaftlichen Teilhabe: Welche Spielräume hat jeder einzelne von uns in einer Welt, in der das Internet eine schöne Form von Teilhabe vorgaukelt? Was sind Formen des Protests und der Berichterstattung? Welche Form haben unsere zukünftigen Bilder? Auf diese Fragen wird es an den verschiedenen Orten der Wanderausstellung ganz unterschiedliche Antworten geben. Auf den Auftakt in Beirut folgen Stationen in Mumbai und Tiflis.