German Spring in Tallinn 2017 The cuckoo clock in a digital society

The final concert of LAUTSTARK
The final concert of LAUTSTARK | Photo: Goethe-Institut Tallinn

Germany and Estonia are closely connected by a mutual history and culture, as well as their long and amicable political and economic relations. In the German Spring, events centred on art, culture, business, science and the German language will present a diversified programme being realized together by the Goethe-Institut Tallinn, the German Embassy in Tallinn and many other partners.

From 25 April until 25 May 2017, Baden-Württemberg will be the partner state focused on by the German Spring in Tallinn. Eva Marquardt, director of the Goethe-Institut Tallinn, emphasized, “Baden-Württemberg is the home of the cuckoo clock and of Mercedes Benz. The large state in Germany’s southwest is distinguished by great innovative power and is the seat of outstanding cultural institutions. We are very happy to have gained such a strong partner as Baden Württemberg for the German Spring.”

OPENING WITH JAZZ AND ART

The German Spring will open with a concert by jazz pianist Kristjan Randalu. For the International Jazzkaar Festival, Randalu and his five-piece ensemble Limes Occidentalis dedicate themselves musically to the current events of the world; in particular the refugee movement to and around Europe.
From the exhibition GLOBAL CONTROL & CENSORSHIP From the exhibition GLOBAL CONTROL & CENSORSHIP | Photo: ZKM Center for Art and Media Karlsruhe/Anatole Serexhe Only a few days later, the art exhibition Global Control & Censorship will deal with the digitalization of all spheres of life and ask questions about the control and censorship of all our data. At Tallinn’s Kunstihoone the results of its collaboration with the renowned Karlsruhe Zentrum für Kunst und Medientechnologie (ZKM) will be compiled and presented.
While digital forms of communication have been regarded as the hope of new democratic participation, they have recently been abused as door openers for perfect surveillance. “Knowledge is power. But those who master the flow of information possess even more power. This is particularly true in the digital culture in which all information in the global network can be monitored and manipulated in an uncontrollable way,” says curator Bernhard Serexhe. Further information will be provided in this context in an online theme room on the website of the Goethe-Institut Tallinn. Guided tours, workshops and a film and podium event will accompany the exhibition.

Event for a young audience and for movie fans

In addition to music and art, the German Spring in Tallinn also offers school projects and readings. The Youth Debates Internationally contest will take up current political and social topics. The Lautstark music project is for Estonia’s youngest leaners of German. Also, together with the VAT Theatre, play readings are being held especially for children and teenagers.
Jugend debattiert in April 2017 Jugend debattiert in April 2017 | Photo: Goethe-Institut Tallinn Films will also be a fixed element of the programme. The film series DEUTSCHES KINO – FOKUS BADEN-WÜRTTEMBERG will show six productions from the partner federal state of Baden-Württemberg including the remake of the fairy tale The Cold Heart by Johannes Naber and the quiet, poetic film The Council of Birds by Timm Kröger, which was made at the Filmakademie Baden-Württemberg.
The Screenings in 2010 The Screenings in 2010 | Photo: Andres Treial


THEATRE AT THE END

Finally, two theatrical productions will conclude the German Spring in Tallinn. In late May, Chris Kondek and Christiane Kühl will join up with Estonian artist in the new, multimedia production Distinguishing Marks, which critically explores Estonia’s e-government data world.
Stolpersteine Stolpersteine | Photo: Rob Moonen In addition, the Badische Staatstheater Karlsruhe will have a guest performance of the production Stolpersteine in Tallinn, which was awarded last year with an invitation to the Berlin Theatertreffen. The “Lesson about value-free workings of government bureaucracy” (quote from the jury statement) was reconstructed by director Hans-Werner Kroesinger and dramaturge Regine Dura from original documents of the Staatstheater Karlsruhe. The documentary theatre artists reveal in detail how anti-Semitic discrimination and the firing of leftist and liberal theatre artists was enabled after Hitler came to power.

Deutscher Frühling in Tallinn 2017 Die Kuckucksuhr in der digitalen Gesellschaft

Das Abschlusskonzert von LAUTSTARK
Das Abschlusskonzert von LAUTSTARK | Foto: Goethe-Institut Tallinn

Deutschland und Estland sind durch die gemeinsame Geschichte und Kultur, die langen und freundschaftlichen politischen und wirtschaftlichen Beziehungen eng miteinander verbunden. Im Deutschen Frühling wird mit Veranstaltungen zu Kunst, Kultur, Wirtschaft, Wissenschaft und zur deutschen Sprache ein vielfältiges Programm präsentiert, das gemeinsam vom Goethe-Institut Tallinn, der deutschen Botschaft in Tallinn und vielen weiteren Partnern realisiert wird.

Zwischen dem 25. April und dem 25. Mai 2017 steht Baden-Württemberg als Partnerland im Fokus des Deutschen Frühlings in Tallinn. Eva Marquardt, Leiterin des Goethe-Instituts Tallinn, betont: „Baden-Württemberg ist Heimat der Kuckucksuhren und von Mercedes. Das große Flächenland im Südwesten Deutschlands zeichnet sich durch hohe Innovationskraft aus und ist Sitz hervorragender Kultureinrichtungen. Wir sind sehr froh, dass wir mit Baden Württemberg einen solch starken Partner für den Deutschen Frühling gewinnen konnten.“

ERÖFFNUNG MIT JAZZ UND KUNST

Eröffnet wird der Deutsche Frühling mit einem Konzert des Jazzpianisten Kristjan Randalu. Im Rahmen des internationalen Jazzkaar Festivals widmen sich Randalu und sein fünfköpfiges Ensemble „Limes Occidentalis“ musikalisch den aktuellen Geschehnissen der Welt; vor allem der Flüchtlingsbewegung nach und um Europa.
Aus der Ausstellung GLOBAL CONTROL & CENSORSHIP Aus der Ausstellung GLOBAL CONTROL & CENSORSHIP | Foto: ZKM Center for Art and Media Karlsruhe/Anatole Serexhe Mit der Ausstellung „Global Control & Censorship“ wird nur wenige Tage später eine Kunstausstellung gezeigt, die sich mit der Digitalisierung aller Lebensbereiche beschäftigt und Fragen über die Kontrolle und Zensur unser aller Informationen stellt. Im Tallinner Kunstihoone werden die Ergebnisse der Zusammenarbeit mit dem renommierten Zentrum für Kunst und Medientechnologie in Karlsruhe (ZKM) zusammengetragen und präsentiert:
Während digitale Kommunikationsformen bislang als Hoffnungsträger einer neuen demokratischen Teilhabe galten, sind sie zuletzt als Türöffner einer perfekten Überwachung missbraucht worden. „Wissen ist Macht. Noch mehr Macht hat jedoch, wer den Fluss der Informationen beherrscht. Dies gilt vor allem in der digitalen Kultur, in der alle Informationen im weltweiten Netz unkontrollierbar überwacht und manipuliert werden können,“ so der Kurator Bernhard Serexhe. In einem „Online-Themenraum“ auf der Website des Goethe-Instituts Tallinn werden in diesem Kontext weitere Informationen zur Verfügung gestellt. Führungen, Workshops sowie eine Film- und Podiumsveranstaltung begleiten die Ausstellung.

Veranstaltungen für junges Publikum und Filmfans

Neben Musik und Kunst bietet der Deutsche Frühling in Tallinn auch Schülerprojekte und Lesungen. Mit dem Wettbewerb „Jugend debattiert international“ werden aktuelle politische und gesellschaftliche Themen aufgenommen. Das Musikprojekt „Lautstark“ richtet sich an die jüngsten Deutschlerner Estlands. Gemeinsam mit dem VAT-Theater wird außerdem eine szenische Lesungen speziell für Kinder und Jugendliche veranstaltet.
Jugend debattiert im April 2017 Jugend debattiert im April 2017 | Foto: Goethe-Institut Tallinn Auch Filme sind ein fester Bestandteil im Programm. In der Filmreihe „DEUTSCHES KINO – FOKUS BADEN-WÜRTTEMBERG“ werden sechs Produktionen aus dem Partnerbundesland Baden-Württemberg gezeigt; darunter die Neuverfilmung des Märchens „Das kalte Herz“ von Johannes Naber und der stille, poetische Film „Zerrumpelt Herz“ von Timm Kröger, der an der Filmakademie Baden-Württemberg entstand.
Die Filmreihe 2010 Die Filmreihe 2010 | Foto: Andres Treial

THEATER ZUM SCHLUSS

Zwei Theaterproduktionen bilden schließlich den Schlusspunkt des Deutschen Frühlings in Tallinn: Chris Kondek und Christiane Kühl zeigen Ende Mai gemeinsam mit estnischen Künstlern ihre neue, multimedial geprägte Inszenierung „Distinguishing Marks“ („Erkennungsmerkmale“), die sich kritisch mit Estlands Datenwelt des E-Governments auseinandersetzt.
Stolpersteine Stolpersteine | Foto: Rob Moonen Zudem gastiert das Badische Staatstheater Karlsruhe mit der Inszenierung „Stolpersteine“ in Tallinn, die im letzten Jahr mit der Einladung zum „Berliner Theatertreffen“ ausgezeichnet wurde. Das „Lehrstück über das wertfreie Funktionieren staatlicher Bürokratie“ (Zitat aus der Jurybegründung) wurde von Regisseur Hans-Werner Kroesinger und Dramaturgin Regine Dura aus Originaldokumenten des Staatstheaters Karlsruhe rekonstruiert. Die Dokumentartheaterkünstler zeigen, wie antisemitische Diskriminierung und die Entlassung linker und liberaler Theaterkünstlerinnen und -künstler nach der Machtübernahme Hitlers im Detail möglich war.