São Paulo Model of Urban Development

Among the guests who travelled to São Paulo to sign for the new project space was the president of the Goethe-Institut, Klaus-Dieter Lehmann (on the right).
Among the guests who travelled to São Paulo to sign for the new project space was the president of the Goethe-Institut, Klaus-Dieter Lehmann (on the right). | Photo: Goethe-Institut e.V.

“Ruins rarely leave us cold. They tell stories, sometimes very sad ones and sometimes very mysterious, fascinating ones,” said Klaus-Dieter Lehmann, the president of the Goethe-Institut, at the opening of the new project space Goethe na Vila on 8 December. The opening was held in the dilapidated building complex Vila Itororó in the central district of Bela Vista in São Paulo, where the new project space is located.

Lehmann said that the Goethe-Institut wants to become part of the local arts scene here and create a “space for encounters.” Artists will be given the opportunity to apply to use the space for one to two months and for project grants.

The Goethe na Vila ruin is situated in a dilapidated building complex called Vila Itororó in Bela Vista. It is a neighbourhood that is already very in demand among investors in the centre of the city between the Avenida Paulista and São Paulo’s Japanese quarter, Liberdade. Vila Itororó, originally the mansion of a Portuguese industrialist, fell into disrepair in the second half of the 20th century and hundreds of homeless people sought refuge here. Recently, the city purchased the complex and resettled the former residents for whom new living spaces will be created.

Dialogue with the neighbourhood and with the former residents is a key element of the project. A new approach was taken to enable reconstruction in cooperation with partners such as the Goethe-Institut, people in the neighbourhood or sponsors. The cultural centre will not be put in place by planners, but designed by the inhabitants, thereby making the arts an intentional part of social life and making the public space community property.

Ideas rising from ruins: The direct vicinity of the new project space Goethe na Vila is an exciting urban development area. Ideas rising from ruins: The direct vicinity of the new project space Goethe na Vila is an exciting urban development area. | Photo: Goethe-Institut e.V.

The project space with its “deliberately unfinished infrastructure” will become an “open laboratory” offering the ideal environment for encouraging “initiatives related to the city, space, neighbourhood and culture.” Lehmann went on the say that the plan is for “a participatory, gentle approach in further development that takes social, cultural as well as economic aspects in dialogue with the neighbourhood into consideration.” In addition to other stakeholders, the Goethe-Institut will therefore become a key ally in the conversion of the area.

According to Lehmann, the Goethe-Institut is making the urban space and its many problems, such as gentrification, an important object of artistic debate in this place. “It is, however, not about romanticizing a ruin as part of history, but about the future.”

Besides Lehmann, cultural professionals present at the opening of the new cultural space included the cultural affairs commissioner of the city of São Paulo, Nabil Bonduki, as well as persons widely known in Goethe circles such as theatre board member Florian Malzacher, curator Hannah Hurtzig and the Berlin artist Christoph Keller.

As of 2016, Goethe na Vila will be available to Brazilian and international art initiatives, which can apply for the space after January 1. The monthly projects will be chosen by a jury, thus giving Goethe na Vila its final shape over the course of 2016 and in constant dialogue with the location and its neighbours. The director of the Goethe-Institut São Paulo, Dr Katharina von Ruckteschell-Katte, said of the opportunities opening up in the special place, “Goethe na Vila will not simply be a project space; it will have the potential to serve as a model for participatory urban development as well as a platform for international discourse.”

-stm/fg-

São Paulo Ein Modell für urbane Entwicklung

Zur Unterzeichnung des neuen Projektraums ist auch der Präsident des Goethe-Instituts, Klaus-Dieter Lehmann (rechts) nach São Paulo gereist.
Zur Unterzeichnung des neuen Projektraums ist auch der Präsident des Goethe-Instituts, Klaus-Dieter Lehmann (rechts) nach São Paulo gereist. | Foto: Goethe-Institut e.V.

„Ruinen lassen einen nur selten unberührt. Sie erzählen Geschichten; manchmal sehr traurige und manchmal sehr geheimnisvoll-faszinierende“, mit diesen Worten eröffnete der Präsident des Goethe-Instituts, Klaus-Dieter Lehmann, am 8. Dezember den neuen Projektraum „Goethe na Vila“. Die Eröffnung fand in dem verfallenen Gebäudekomplex Vila Itororó im zentralen Stadtviertel Bela Vista von São Paulo statt, in dem der neue Projektraum liegt.

Man wolle an diesem Ort zu einem Akteur in der lokalen Kulturszene werden, so Lehmann und „Raum für Begegnung“ schaffen. Künstlern werde die Möglichkeit gegeben, sich um eine ein- bis zweimonatige Nutzung sowie um Projektgelder zu bewerben.

Die Ruine „Goethe na Vila“ liegt in dem verfallenen Gebäudekomplex „Vila Itororó“ im Stadtviertel Bela Vista, einer von Investoren inzwischen sehr gefragten Gegend im Zentrum der Stadt zwischen der Prachtstraße Avenida Paulista und dem „Japan Town“ Liberdade. Die „Vila Itororó“, ursprünglich der „Palast“ eines portugiesischen Industriellen, verfiel im Laufe der zweiten Hälfte des 20. Jahrhunderts; hunderte von obdachlosen Menschen bezogen hier Quartier. Mittlerweile hat die Stadt das Gelände gekauft und die ehemaligen Bewohner umgesiedelt. Geplant ist, erneut Raum für sie zu schaffen.

Impulse aus Ruinen: Das unmittelbare Umfeld des neuen Projektraums „Goethe na Vila“ ist spannendes Stadtentwicklungsgebiet. Impulse aus Ruinen: Das unmittelbare Umfeld des neuen Projektraums „Goethe na Vila“ ist spannendes Stadtentwicklungsgebiet. | Foto: Goethe-Institut e.V.
Der Austausch mit der Nachbarschaft, mit den ehemaligen Bewohnern ist ein zentrales Element des Projekts. Neu ist der Ansatz, den Umbau in Kooperation mit Partnern – wie dem Goethe-Institut, der Nachbarschaft oder Sponsoren zu ermöglichen. Das Kulturzentrum wird nicht von Planern fertig hingestellt, sondern von der Bevölkerung selbst gestaltet. Kultur wird zu einem gewollten Bestandteil des gesellschaftlichen Lebens und der öffentliche Raum zum Gemeinbesitz.
 
Der Projektraum mit der „bewusst unfertigen Infrastruktur“ werde damit zum „offenen Labor“, das das ideale Umfeld biete, um „Initiativen zu Stadt, Raum, Nachbarschaft und Kultur anzuregen.“ Geplant sei, so Lehmann, „eine partizipative, behutsame Vorgehensweise der Weiterentwicklung, welche soziale, kulturelle aber auch ökonomische Aspekte im Austausch mit der Nachbarschaft berücksichtigt.“ Das Goethe-Institut wird bei dem Umbau des Areals neben weiteren Akteuren damit zu einem zentralen Kooperationspartner.
 
Das Goethe-Institut, so Präsident Lehmann, mache an diesem Ort den urbanen Raum und seine vielfältigen Probleme wie beispielsweise Gentrifizierung zum wichtigen Gegenstand künstlerischer Auseinandersetzung: „Dabei geht es aber nicht um Ruinenromantik, die in die Vergangenheit weist, sondern um die Zukunft.“

Das Gebäude soll zur Plattform für kulturellen Austausch werden. Das Gebäude soll zur Plattform für kulturellen Austausch werden. | Foto: Klaus-Dieter Lehmann
 Neben Lehmann waren Kulturschaffende wie der Kulturdezernent der Stadt São Paulo, Nabil Banduki, aber auch goetheweit bekannte Personen wie Theater-Beiratsmitglied Florian Malzacher, die Kuratorin Hannah Hurtzig und der Berliner Künstler Christoph Keller bei der Eröffnung des neuen Kulturraums zugegen.

Ab 2016 soll „Goethe na Vila“ in- und ausländischen künstlerischen Initiativen zur Verfügung stehen, die sich ab Jahreswechsel dafür bewerben können. Die monatlichen Projekte werden von einer Jury ausgewählt und so wird „Goethe na Vila“ im Laufe des Jahres 2016 und in beständiger Rückkopplung mit Ort und Nachbarschaft zu seiner endgültigen Gestalt finden. Die Direktorin des Goethe-Institut São Paulo, Dr. Katharina von Ruckteschell-Katte, sagte über die sich eröffnenden Möglichkeiten an diesem besonderen Ort: „Goethe na Vila wird nicht einfach nur ein Projektraum sein. Er wird das Potenzial haben, Modell für partizipatorische urbane Entwicklung zu werden und zugleich eine Plattform für den internationalen Diskurs.“
 
-stm-