Tarabya Cultural Academy The Sound of the Wind on the Bosporus

Mark Andre collects the sound of the wind on the Bosporus.
Mark Andre collects the sound of the wind on the Bosporus. | Photo: Christian Klier

Tarabya Cultural Academy in Istanbul promotes exchange between German and Turkish artists under the curatorial direction of the Goethe-Institut. It is run by the German Embassy Ankara and is also part of the cultural work of the Turkish Embassy. The residency programme addresses cultural professionals from all fields and aims to offer them inspiration and a platform for encounters. The grant holders can live and work for up to ten months in the historic mansion on the European shore of the Bosporus. The composer of modern classical music Mark Andre is also a grantee at Tarabya. In our interview, the German-French Berlin resident told us what his collaboration with local musicians means to him, how he detects sound shadows at Hagia Sophia and why the wind on the Bosporus carries very special tones.

Mr Andre, what did you look forward to the most when you learned you’d received the invitation to Tarabya Cultural Academy?
 
Mark Andre Mark Andre | © Karin Schander I was once at the Goethe-Institut in Istanbul for five weeks in 2007 for a project called Into Istanbul with the Ensemble Modern and the Siemens Arts Program. Tarabya Academy did not exist yet. Following the project, though, I realized that Istanbul is an incredibly special city in which I would like to work more intensively. The composer Wolfgang Rihm suggested me for the scholarship to the Cultural Academy. He was one of the judges who decide the scholarship recipients.
 
You have been in Istanbul since July 2015. How have your work and the sounds of the city converged since then?
 
One of the projects I worked on here is called S3. It will be premiered on 24 January in Berlin. It is a piece for piano and electronics with sounds that I recorded at the Hagia Sophia and Sirceci railway station. All of the sound situations come from locations that I consider in-between spaces. This city embodies transitions between continents, between cultures and religions. The “S” in the title also stands for Schwelle (threshold).
 
For another project, a composition for vocal soloists, I worked with wind recordings from Tarabya. There is so much wind there, and it embodies very different types of sounds. I combine the recordings with an element from the gospels to give them a metaphysical level. John 3:8: “The wind goes where its pleasure takes it, and the sound of it comes to your ears, but you are unable to say where it comes from and where it goes: so it is with everyone whose birth is from the Spirit.” In the piece I want to create an association between sounds of the wind in Tarabya with the presence of the Holy Spirit. The reference to the Trinity provides the title of the piece, 3.
 
You have lived in Paris, Stuttgart and Berlin. What impresses you the most about Istanbul?
 
Metaphysical themes play an important role for the compositions of Mark Andre. Metaphysical themes play an important role for the compositions of Mark Andre. | Photo: Manu Theobald In this city, which I find incredibly noisy, people deal with time, sound and noises quite differently than in Berlin. For instance, the muezzins who call for prayer five times a day: I hear the scales, the micro-intervals, and it seems very strange. But for the local people it is as familiar as major or minor to us. I think it is remarkable to reflect and to understand the other perspective.

Did the city change your work?
 
My music is very quiet and fragile. Here, I go even more inward. Not in the sense of withdrawing or protecting myself, though. I am actually opening my ears even more, I want to hear everything. And that opens spaces inside me. The traces of sound that I am detecting develop even more intensely, perhaps, because people have to listen carefully. Although it usually is so loud.
 
Tarabya Cultural Academy Tarabya Cultural Academy | Photo: Sedat Mehder But what especially influences my work in Istanbul is the city as a huge transitional space between religions. Until the mid-15th century, it was, for example, an important city for Christianity. You can still see the traces of that lost age. I trace the sound shadows in the streets, on the squares.
 
I am interested in how the city sounds, how the people sound and what traces they leave behind. The Hagia Sophia, for example, sounds very strongly. So many people have been there with all their hopes, and their shadows remain. I want to capture these moods and sound situations.
 
Have you been able to collaborate with Turkish musicians?
 

Yes and I enjoy it the most! I am working with the Hezarfen Ensemble. Many of the musicians belong to the opera orchestra or teach at universities. We already began rehearsals and our collaboration is an incredible enrichment for me. They are all excellent musicians, but my music is very new to them.
 
Here, modern music is seen largely as a crossover between hip-hop, pop and electronic music, but there is no scene as such for modern classical music. Therefore, for the musicians this collaboration is also a process of getting to know unknown sounds and types of sounds. I try to speak with all of the members of the ensemble before we rehearse, sometime in English, sometimes with the help of interpreters. And I feel a great sensitivity for the music I make among them.
 
Katrin Baumer asked the questions.

Kulturakademie Tarabya Der Klang des Windes am Bosporus

Wenn Mark Andre am Bosporus steht, sammelt er die Klänge des Windes.
Wenn Mark Andre am Bosporus steht, sammelt er die Klänge des Windes. | Foto: Christian Klier

Die Kulturakademie Tarabya in Istanbul fördert unter der kuratorischen Leitung des Goethe-Instituts den Austausch zwischen deutschen und türkischen Künstlern. Sie wird von der Deutschen Botschaft Ankara betrieben und ist Teil der Kulturarbeit der Botschaft in der Türkei. Das Residenzprogramm richtet sich an Kulturschaffende aller Sparten und möchte ihnen Inspiration und Plattform für Begegnungen sein. Bis zu zehn Monate können die Stipendiaten in der geschichtsträchtigen Villa am europäischen Ufer des Bosporus leben und arbeiten. Auch der Komponist für Neue Musik, Mark Andre, ist Stipendiat in Tarabya. Im Interview erzählt der deutsch-französische Wahlberliner, was die Zusammenarbeit mit lokalen Musikern für ihn bedeutet, wie er Klangschatten an der Hagia Sophia aufspürt und warum der Wind am Bosporus ganz besondere Töne in sich trägt.
 

Herr Andre, worauf haben Sie sich am meisten gefreut, als Sie von der  Einladung an die Kulturakademie Tarabya erfahren haben?
 
Mark Andre Mark Andre | © Karin Schander Ich war 2007 schon einmal für fünf Wochen am Goethe-Institut in Istanbul, damals für das Projekt „Into Istanbul“ mit dem Ensemble Modern und dem Siemens Arts Program. Die Akademie Tarabya existierte da noch nicht. Nach dem Projekt habe ich aber gemerkt, dass Istanbul eine unglaublich besondere Stadt ist, in der ich gerne intensiver arbeiten möchte. Für das Stipendium an der Kulturakademie hat mich der Komponist Wolfgang Rihm vorgeschlagen. Er war einer der Juroren, die die Stipendiaten bestimmen.
 
Sie sind seit Juli 2015 in Istanbul. Wie nahe sind sich Ihre Arbeit und die Klänge der Stadt in dieser Zeit gekommen?
 
Eines meiner Projekte, an dem ich hier gearbeitet habe, heißt „S3“. Es wird am 24. Januar in Berlin uraufgeführt. Es ist ein Stück für Klavier und Elektronik mit Klängen, die ich an der Hagia Sophia und am Bahnhof „Sirceci“ aufgenommen habe. Alle Klangsituationen stammen von Orten, die für mich als Zwischenräume gelten. Die Stadt verkörpert Übergänge zwischen Kontinenten, zwischen Kulturen und Religionen. Deshalb steht das „S“ im Titel auch für Schwelle.

Für ein weiteres Projekt, eine Komposition für Vocalsolisten, habe ich mit Windaufnahmen aus Tarabya gearbeitet. Es gibt so viel Wind da, und er verkörpert ganz verschiedene Klangtypen. Die Aufnahmen verbinde ich mit einem Element des Johannes Evangeliums 3, 8 – „Der Wind bläst, wo er will, und du hörst sein Sausen wohl; aber du weißt nicht, woher er kommt und wohin er fährt. Also ist ein jeglicher, der aus dem Geist geboren ist.“ – und gebe ihnen so eine metaphysische Ebene. Ich möchte im Stück eine Vereinigung der Klangtypen des Windes in Tarabya mit der Präsenz der heiligen Geistes schaffen. Der Bezug zur Dreifaltigkeit prägt den Titel des Stücks: „3“.
 
Sie haben in Paris, Stuttgart und Berlin gelebt – was beeindruckt Sie in Istanbul besonders?
 
Oft spielen metaphysische Themen in Mark Andres Werk eine Rolle. Oft spielen metaphysische Themen in Mark Andres Werk eine Rolle. | Foto: Manu Theobald
In dieser für mich unglaublich lauten Stadt gehen die Menschen mit Zeit, Klang und Geräuschen ganz anders um als in Berlin. Allein die Muezzin, die fünfmal am Tag zum Gebet aufrufen – ich höre die Skalen, die Mikrointervalle, und es wirkt sehr fremd. Für die Leute vor Ort ist das aber so vertraut wie für uns Dur oder Moll. Die andere Perspektive zu reflektieren und zu verstehen, finde ich großartig.
 
Hat die Stadt Ihre Arbeit verändert?
 
Meine Musik ist sehr leise und zerbrechlich. Hier gehe ich noch weiter nach innen. Gar nicht, um mich zurückzuziehen oder zu schützen. Ich öffne meine Ohren eigentlich noch weiter, ich möchte ja alles hören. Und das öffnet dann Räume in meinem Inneren. Die Klangsspuren, die ich aufspüre, entwickeln sich vielleicht noch intensiver, weil die Leute genau hinhören müssen. Obwohl es sonst so laut ist.
 
Die Kulturakademie Tarabya Die Kulturakademie Tarabya | Foto: Sedat Mehder Was meine Arbeit in Istanbul aber besonders prägt, ist die Stadt als riesiger Übergangsraum zwischen Religionen. Bis zur Mitte des 15. Jahrhunderts war sie zum Beispiel eine wichtige Stadt für das Christentum. Man sieht noch die Spuren der verschwundenen Zeit. Ich spüre die Klangschatten in den Straßen, an den Plätzen.
 
Mich interessiert, wie die Stadt klingt, wie die Menschen klingen, und welche Spuren sie hinterlassen. Die Hagia Sophia zum Beispiel klingt sehr stark. Hier waren schon so viele Menschen, mit all ihren Hoffnungen, und ihre Schatten sind noch da. Diese Stimmungen und Klangsituationen möchte ich einfangen.
 
Gibt es schon eine Zusammenarbeit mit türkischen Musikern?
 
Ja, und das freut mich besonders! Ich arbeite mit dem Hezarfen Ensemble zusammen. Viele der Musiker gehören zum Orchester der Oper oder unterrichten an Universitäten. Wir haben bereits angefangen zu proben und die Zusammenarbeit ist für mich unglaublich bereichernd. Alle sind sehr gute Musiker, trotzdem ist meine Musik aber sehr neu für sie.
 
Neue Musik wird hier größtenteils als Cross Over aus Hip-Hop, Pop und Elektronischer Musik verstanden, aber eine richtige Szene für Neue Musik gibt es nicht. Die Zusammenarbeit ist für die Musiker also auch ein Kennenlernen und Herantasten an unbekannte Klänge und Klangtypen. Ich versuche, mit allen Mitgliedern aus dem Ensemble zu sprechen, bevor wir proben, teilweise auf Englisch, manchmal mithilfe von Übersetzern. Und ich spüre eine große Sensibilität für die Musik, die ich mache.
 
Die Fragen stellte Katrin Baumer.