Announcement awardees Goethe Medal Migration of Cultures, Cultures of Migration

The award ceremony at Schloss Weimar, 2015
The award ceremony at Schloss Weimar, 2015 | Foto: Maik Schuck

Every year in August, the Goethe Medal honours three figures who have performed outstanding service to intercultural dialogue with Germany. Now this year’s awardees have been announced: the Nigerian photographer Akinbode Akinbiyi, the Ukrainian writer Yurii Andrukhovych and the Georgian museum director David Lordkipanidze. All of them make special contributions to the theme “Migration of Cultures – Cultures of Migration.”



Akinbode Akinbiyi
 
Akinbode Akinbiyi Akinbode Akinbiyi | © Emeka Okereke Photographer Akin Akinbiyi, who has lived in Berlin since the early 1990s, is considered one of the most important artistic mediators between Germany and sub-Saharan Africa. The main focus of his work is on rapidly growing and changing African megacities. With his photographs, he brings viewers closer to urban life in Africa and the migratory movements there – also at documenta 14, which will be held in Athens and Kassel next year.
 
Akinbode Akinbiyi was born in Oxford in 1946, grew up in Lagos and in England and studied literature and English in Nigeria, England and Germany. In the mid-1970s he began to photograph as an autodidact and, after stays in Heidelberg and Munich, finally moved to Berlin where he has lived ever since.
 
His focuses are reportage, architectural and cultural photography. He is also an intercultural mediator in his curating work and is additionally an important mentor of young photographers from Africa.
 
Yurii Andrukhovych
 
Yurii Andruchowytsch Yurii Andruchowytsch | © Anna Voitenko Yurii Andrukhovych translates German writers such as Rainer Maria Rilke and Robert Walser into Ukrainian thus giving the readership there new access to the German classics.
 
Born in 1960 in Western Ukraine, the writer studied journalism in Lviv and literature in Moscow. He is one of the intellectual voices of Ukraine and is part of the critical, creative scene that reflects and advances civil society processes after the Maidan revolution.
 
With his writing, he familiarized German readers with the literary territory of his home country. Migration and transitional movements through Europe are central themes of his own literary work.
 
David Lordkipanidze

 
David Lordkipanidze David Lordkipanidze | © Shakh Aivazov Associated Press David Lordkipanidze, director of the Georgian National Museum, is networked with academics and museum strategists worldwide. He initiated international collaborations with German cultural and educational institutions such as the Prussian Cultural Heritage Foundation. They were accompanied by an active exchange of scientists and museum experts.
 
The archaeologist was born in Tbilisi in 1963 and studied geology and geography at the State University there and at the Russian Academy of Sciences in Moscow. His scientific focuses are Paleolithic research and paleoanthropology, with a focus on early human evolution, the reconstruction of early hominids, their natural environment and researching their material remains.
 
For more than 20 years David Lordkipanidze has led the excavations of Dmanisi in Georgia. He became famous mainly by the finds there of 1.8 million-year-old skeletal remains of early hominids. This discovery and its scientific evaluation revolutionized existing knowledge about early human development and migration.
 
Klaus-Dieter Lehmann, president of the Goethe-Institut, will present the awards at Weimer’s Stadtschloss on 28 August. The award ceremony is organized in close partnership with Klassik Stiftung Weimar and the City of Weimar.

Bekanntgabe Preisträger der Goethe-Medaille Migration der Kulturen, Kulturen der Migration

Die drei Preisträger der Goethe-Medaille 2016
Die drei Preisträger der Goethe-Medaille 2016 | Fotos: Emeka Okereke, Anna Voitenko, Shakh Aivazov Associated Press

Jedes Jahr im August werden mit der Goethe-Medaille drei Persönlichkeiten geehrt, die sich um den interkulturellen Austausch mit Deutschland verdient gemacht haben. Nun sind die diesjährigen Preisträger bekanntgegeben: Der nigerianische Fotograf Akinbode Akinbiyi, der ukrainische Schriftsteller Juri Andruchowytsch und der georgische Museumsdirektor David Lordkipanidze. Sie alle leisten einen besonderen Beitrag zum Thema „Migration der Kulturen – Kulturen der Migration“.



Akinbode Akinbiyi
 
Akinbode Akinbiyi Akinbode Akinbiyi | © Emeka Okereke Der seit Anfang der 1990er-Jahre in Berlin lebende Fotograf Akinbode Akinbiyi gilt als einer der wichtigsten künstlerischen Mittler zwischen Deutschland und Subsahara-Afrika. Das Hauptaugenmerk seiner Arbeiten liegt vor allem auf den rapide wachsenden und sich verändernden afrikanischen Megastädten. Mit seinen Aufnahmen bringt er das urbane Leben in Afrika und die dortigen Migrationsbewegungen näher – unter anderem auf der documenta 14, die 2017 in Athen und Kassel stattfindet.
 
Akinbode Akinbiyi wurde 1946 in Oxford geboren, wuchs in Lagos und England auf und studierte in Nigeria, England und Deutschland Literaturwissenschaft und Anglistik. Mitte der 1970er-Jahre begann er als Autodidakt zu fotografieren und zog nach Aufenthalten in Heidelberg und München schließlich nach Berlin.
 
Seine Schwerpunkte sind Reportage-, Architektur- und Kulturfotografie. Als interkultureller Mittler agiert er jedoch auch in seiner Tätigkeit als Kurator, zudem ist er Mentor für Nachwuchsfotografinnen und -fotografen aus dem afrikanischen Raum.
 
Juri Andruchowytsch
 
Juri Andruchowytsch Juri Andruchowytsch | © Anna Voitenko Juri Andruchowytsch übersetzt deutsche Dichter wie Rainer Maria Rilke oder Robert Walser ins Ukrainische und verschafft den dortigen Lesern so einen neuen Zugang zu den deutschen Klassikern.
 
Der 1960 in der Westukraine geborene Schriftsteller studierte in Lemberg Journalistik und in Moskau Literatur. Er ist eine der intellektuellen Stimmen der Ukraine und Teil der kritischen, kreativen Szene, die die zivilgesellschaftlichen Prozesse nach der Revolution auf dem Maidan reflektiert und vorantreibt.
 
Mit seiner schriftstellerischen Arbeit machte er das literarische Territorium seines Heimatlandes einem deutschen Publikum bekannt. Zentrale Themen in seinen eigenen literarischen Werken sind Wanderungs- und Migrationsbewegungen durch Europa.
 
David Lordkipanidze
 
David Lordkipanidze David Lordkipanidze | © Shakh Aivazov Associated Press Der Direktor des Georgischen Nationalmuseums David Lordkipanidze ist auf wissenschaftlicher und museumsstrategischer Ebene weltweit vernetzt. Er initiierte internationale Kooperationen mit deutschen Kultur- und Bildungseinrichtungen, wie der Stiftung Preußischer Kulturbesitz. Diese brachten einen regen Austausch von Wissenschaftlern und Museumsexpertinnen mit sich.
 
Geboren wurde der Archäologe 1963 in Tiflis und studierte Geologie und Geographie an der dortigen Staatlichen Universität und an der Russischen Akademie der Wissenschaften in Moskau. Seine wissenschaftlichen Schwerpunkte sind die Altsteinzeitforschung und die Paläanthropologie mit dem Fokus auf der frühen Menschwerdung, die Rekonstruktion früher Hominiden, ihrer natürlichen Umwelt und die Erforschung ihrer materiellen Hinterlassenschaften.
 
Seit mehr als 20 Jahren leitet David Lordkipanidze die Ausgrabungen von Dmanisi in Georgien. Berühmt geworden ist er vor allem durch die dortigen Funde 1,8 Millionen Jahre alter Skelettreste früher Hominiden – diese Entdeckung und ihre wissenschaftliche Auswertung revolutionierten das bisherige Wissen über die frühe menschliche Entwicklung und Expansion.
 
Klaus-Dieter Lehmann, Präsident des Goethe-Instituts, übergibt die Auszeichnung am 28. August im Weimarer Stadtschloss. Die Verleihung wird in enger Partnerschaft mit der Klassik Stiftung Weimar und der Stadt Weimar veranstaltet.