German Medallists EVERYONE’S A WINNER

Alle Preisträger der IDO 2016
© Bernhard Ludewig

The fifth Internationale Deutscholympiade (International German Olympics) has come to an end. All 125 participants who were invited by the Goethe-Institut to test their German skills for two weeks convened again at the Foreign Office for the award ceremony. But they all felt like winners.

“Around the world, 13 million pupils are learning German,” Johannes Ebert, secretary-general of Goethe-Institut, emphasized in his speech to the 14 to 19 year olds from Europe, Asia and New Zealand. “And you’re the best of them!” He thus underscored once more that simply being able to take part in the International German Olympics, which has been held every two years in Germany since 2008, is a reward in itself. Every country may send only two pupils who are chosen in national preliminaries.

“Understanding,” Ebert said at the large world hall of the Foreign Office in Berlin, “is the centrepiece of the International German Olympics. It’s about collaborating in international teams to achieve a mutual goal.” The competition is borne by the Olympian ideal, which is also the motto of the German Olympics: “Being there!”

Fairness leads to the prize

Dr. Alina Dorota Jarzabek awarded the Fairness Prize to Amadou Diop Diagne from Senegal, 18 years. Dr. Alina Dorota Jarzabek awarded the Fairness Prize to Amadou Diop Diagne from Senegal, 18 years. | © Bernhard Ludewig The first prize to be awarded was, appropriately, for fairness. Alina Dorota Jarzabek, the vice president of the International Association of Teachers of German, handed it to 18-year-old Amadou Diop Diagne from Senegal to sounds of great rejoicing. In the eyes of the jury, Diagne had rendered outstanding services to the Olympic team spirit through his commitment and great helpfulness and his always seeking to integrate others. “I made a lot of friends; that’s the most important thing to me,” he said, visibly moved, while accepting the prize.

T The IDO-winners (A2) Pannika Soontorn Wata, Alya Afifah Bakhtiar and Ngoc My Nguyen with the band members of the band Tonbandgerät, Sophia Poppensieker and Ole Specht The IDO-winners (A2) Pannika Soontorn Wata, Alya Afifah Bakhtiar and Ngoc My Nguyen with the band members of the band Tonbandgerät, Sophia Poppensieker and Ole Specht | © Bernhard Ludewig he winners of the three language levels A2, B1 and B2, which the German Olympics were based on this year, were just as thrilled. The first place winners were Ngoc My Nguyen (17) from Vietnam (A2), Maria Melnik (16) from the Russian Federation (B1) and Antonio Andric (18) from Croatia (B2). In addition to receiving a certificate and a medal, the prize includes an internship with a German publisher. “The most important people are our teachers who convey the love of the German language to us,” winner Melnik said in her short acceptance speech, emphasizing the role played by the educators from around the world who had travelled to the German Olympics with their pupils.

Friendship without borders

“Languages open doors to new friendships across borders,” stressed the Commissioner for Foreign Cultural Policy, Michael Reiffenstuel. The International German Olympics was not about conveying an image of Germany. Instead, he went on, “Young people should form their own impressions.”

As the first discipline, the participants created a wall newspaper to convey their personal view of Berlin. They included photographic explorations of the city, surveys on “What do you think of foreigners?” and a playful investigation in Kreuzberg about the term Multikulti. The Olympians certainly got to know Berlin very well. “Some of the young people viewed contemporary art for the first time at the Hamburger Bahnhof, others played football in Marzahn,” Heike Uhlig, the head of the language department at the Goethe-Institut, reported.

A future in Germany

The IDO-winners Anna Avagyan, Sofija Popovska and Maria Melnik (B1) with Prof. Dr. Ulrich Ammon The IDO-winners Anna Avagyan, Sofija Popovska and Maria Melnik (B1) with Prof. Dr. Ulrich Ammon | © Bernhard Ludewig “Berlin is very colourful, everyone’s got their own style, that’s what I like the most,” said 16-year-old Sofija Popovska from Macedonia at the awards ceremony, who finished second in the B1 language level ahead of 14-year-old Anna Avagjan from Armenia. “Unfortunately, I ate Currywurst twice,” reported 18-year-old Tara Beatrice Kilcoyn from the UK, who made third place in the B2 level, with a laugh about her time in Berlin. “It wasn’t exactly the best experience of my life.”

For most of the participants, the International German Olympics will certainly not be their last trip to Germany. Many of the Olympians are already determined to one day take up studies in Germany.

After the German Olympics is before the German Olympics

The IDO-winner Antonio Andric, Sarah Kournikova and Tara Beatrice Kilcoyne (B2) with the poet Nora Gomringer The IDO-winner Antonio Andric, Sarah Kournikova and Tara Beatrice Kilcoyne (B2) with the poet Nora Gomringer | © Bernhard Ludewig “We hope that German will continue to play a role in your future,” said Secretary-General Johannes Ebert in his send-off. The head of this year’s International German Olympics, Andrea Schaefer, meanwhile, drew a thoroughly positive conclusion, saying, “We achieved and expanded our goals of intensifying the interest in learning German and promoting communication between learners of German and German teachers from every continent. We are looking forward to the next International German Olympics in Freiburg in 2018.”


By Patrick Wildermann

IDO-Preisträger Jeder ist ein Sieger

Alle Preisträger der IDO 2016
Alle Preisträger der IDO 2016 | © Bernhard Ludewig

Die fünfte Internationale Deutscholympiade (IDO) ist mit der Ehrung der Siegerinnen und Sieger zu Ende gegangen. Im Auswärtigen Amt kamen die 125 Teilnehmenden, die zwei Wochen lang auf Einladung des Goethe-Instituts ihre Sprachkenntnisse gemessen hatten, noch einmal zusammen. Als Gewinner durften sich alle fühlen.

„13 Millionen Schülerinnen und Schüler weltweit lernen Deutsch“, betonte Johannes Ebert, Generalsekretär des Goethe-Instituts, in seiner Rede vor den 14- bis 19-Jährigen Jugendlichen aus Europa, Asien, oder Neuseeland. „Und Sie sind die Besten!“ Damit unterstrich er noch einmal, dass bereits die Teilnahme an der IDO, die seit 2008 alle zwei Jahre in Deutschland ausgetragen wird, eine Auszeichnung bedeutet. Schließlich darf jedes Land nur zwei Schülerinnen oder Schüler entsenden, die in nationalen Vorausscheiden ermittelt werden.

„Bei der IDO“, so Ebert im großen Weltsaal des Auswärtigen Amtes in Berlin, „steht die Verständigung im Mittelpunkt. Es geht um die Zusammenarbeit in internationalen Teams, um das Erreichen eines gemeinsamen Ziels.“ Getragen wird der Wettbewerb vom olympischen Gedanken, der zugleich auch das Motto der IDO ist: „Dabei sein!“

Mit Fairness zum Preis

Dr. Alina Dorata Jarzabek überreicht den Fairness-Preis an Amadou Diop Diagne, 18 Jahre, aus dem Senegal. Dr. Alina Dorata Jarzabek überreicht den Fairness-Preis an Amadou Diop Diagne, 18 Jahre, aus dem Senegal. | © Bernhard Ludewig Entsprechend wurde als erste Auszeichnung des Tages der Fairness-Preis verliehen. Alina Dorota Jarzabek – Vizepräsidentin des Internationalen Deutschlehrer-Verbandes (IDV) – durfte ihn unter großem Jubel an den 18-jährigen Amadou Diop Diagne aus dem Senegal überreichen. Diagne hatte sich in den Augen der Jury durch besonderes Engagement sowie große Hilfsbereitschaft um den Teamgeist der IDO verdient gemacht und sich stets bemüht, andere zu integrieren. „Ich habe viele Freunde kennengelernt, das ist das Wichtigste für mich“, bedankte er sich sichtlich bewegt.

Die IDO-Gewinnerinnen (A2) Pannika Soontornwata, Alya Afifah Baktiar und Ngoc My Nguyen mit den Mitgliedern der Band Tonbandgerät, Sophia Poppensieker und Ole Specht Die IDO-Gewinnerinnen (A2) Pannika Soontornwata, Alya Afifah Baktiar und Ngoc My Nguyen mit den Mitgliedern der Band Tonbandgerät, Sophia Poppensieker und Ole Specht | © Bernhard Ludewig Nicht weniger freuten sich freilich die Gewinnerinnen und Gewinner der drei Sprachniveaus A2, B1 und B2, in denen die IDO seit diesem Jahr austragen wird. Als Erstplatzierte wurden die 17-jährige Ngoc My Nguyen aus Vietnam (A2), die 16-jährige Mariia Melnik aus der Russischen Föderation (B1) sowie der 18-jährige Antonio Andric aus Kroatien (B2) geehrt. Neben Urkunde und Medaille ist mit dem Sieg ein Praktikum in einem deutschen Verlag verbunden. „Das Wichtigste sind die Lehrer, die einem die Liebe zur deutschen Sprache vermitteln“, unterstrich Siegerin Melnik in ihrer kurzen Danksagung die Rolle der Pädagogen aus aller Welt, die mit den Schülerinnen und Schülern zur IDO gereist waren.

Freundschaften ohne Grenzen

„Sprache öffnet den Weg für neue Freundschaften über Grenzen hinweg“, betonte auch der Beauftragte für Auswärtige Kulturpolitik, Michael Reiffenstuel. Bei der IDO ginge es eben nicht darum, ein Bild von Deutschland zu vermitteln: „Die Jugendlichen sollen ihre eigenen Eindrücke gewinnen.“

Als erste Disziplin hatten die Teilnehmerinnen und Teilnehmer passend dazu eine Wandzeitung erstellt, die ihre persönliche Sicht auf Berlin transportieren sollte. Dabei sind fotografische Erkundungen der Stadt, Umfragen zum Thema „Was denken Sie über Ausländer?“, oder eine spielerische Recherche in Kreuzberg zum Begriff „Multikulti“ entstanden. Berlin haben sich die Olympioniken jedenfalls intensiv erschlossen. „Einige der Jugendlichen haben im Hamburger Bahnhof zum ersten Mal zeitgenössische Kunst gesehen, andere haben Fußball in Marzahn gespielt“, wusste Heike Uhlig zu berichten, die Leiterin der Abteilung Sprache am Goethe-Institut.

Zukunft in Deutschland

Die IDO-Gewinnerinnen Anna Avagjan, Sofija Popovska und Mariia Melnik (B1) mit Prof. Dr. Ulrich Ammon Die IDO-Gewinnerinnen Anna Avagjan, Sofija Popovska und Mariia Melnik (B1) mit Prof. Dr. Ulrich Ammon | © Bernhard Ludewig „Berlin ist sehr bunt, alle haben ihren eigenen Stil, das gefällt mir am meisten“, schwärmte bei der Siegerehrung die 16-jährige Sofija Popovska aus Mazedonien, die den zweiten Platz im Sprachniveau B1 belegt hat – vor der gerade erst 14-jährigen Anna Avagjan aus Armenien.

„Ich habe zwei Mal Currywurst gegessen, unglücklicherweise“, berichtete hingegen die 18-jährige Britin Tara Beatrice Kilcoyn, Drittplatzierte im Niveau B2, mit einem Lachen über ihre Berlin-Erlebnisse: „Es war nicht gerade die beste Erfahrung meines Lebens.“

Für die meisten der Teilnehmenden soll die IDO jedenfalls nicht die letzte Deutschlandreise gewesen sein. Viele der übrigen Olympioniken sind bereits entschlossen, später ein Studium in Deutschland aufzunehmen.

Nach der IDO ist vor der IDO

Die IDO-Gewinner Antonio Andric, Sarah Ourednickova und Tara Beatrice Kilcoyne (B2) mit der Lyrikerin Nora Gomringer Die IDO-Gewinner Antonio Andric, Sarah Ourednickova und Tara Beatrice Kilcoyne (B2) mit der Lyrikerin Nora Gomringer | © Bernhard Ludewig „Wir hoffen, dass Deutsch auch in Ihrem zukünftigen Leben eine Rolle spielt“, gab Generalsekretär Johannes Ebert den Jugendlichen mit auf den Weg. Die Leiterin der diesjährigen IDO, Andrea Schäfer, zieht derweil eine rundweg positive Bilanz: „Die Ziele, das Interesse am Deutschlernen zu vertiefen und die Kommunikation zwischen Deutschlernenden und Deutschlehrenden aller Kontinente zu fördern, wurden erreicht und weiter ausgebaut. Wir freuen uns auf die nächste Internationale Deutscholympiade 2018 in Freiburg.“


Von Patrick Wildermann