Football Camp in Lebanon Everyone is equal in sport

At the Soccercamp Lebanon, young footballers learn fairness and team spirit.
At the Soccercamp Lebanon, young footballers learn fairness and team spirit. | © Mwafak Maklad

Learning about what can be achieved through dedication, fun and tolerance: The Goethe-Institut Beirut and the Federal Foreign Office are relying on the mediating power of football and inviting refugee Syrian and Palestinian children as well as local Lebanese girls and boys to the Soccer Camp Lebanon. Matthias Frickel and Henning Hesse visited the training camps.

At first sight, the Soccer Camp Lebanon is a football camp like any other. Youngsters between 6 and 16 years of age meet for a week on football pitches in Beirut, Tripoli or in the Beqaa Valley, train together and sing songs. We accompanied the youthful kickers for ten days.

On the way to the game. On the way to the game. | © Mwafak Maklad On the first day, we already notice that something is different here. The eyes of the younger participants in particular shine with happiness when they are given their new football shoes, trousers and jerseys with the Goethe-Institut emblem on them. Excited to enter a big green football pitch for the first time in their lives and set out running, they cannot seem to wait to find the right socks, put on and lace their shoes.

On the initiative of the Goethe-Institut Lebanon and in cooperation with the David Nakhid Football Academy, the 150 children and teenagers will train every day for six weeks. They are Syrian and Iraqi refugees, Palestinians who live here as refugees in the third generation, and Lebanese.

On the football field. On the football field. | © Mwafak Maklad The place where worlds meet

The Soccer Camp in Lebanon is a place where worlds meet. The Syrian girls from the Beqaa Valley usually play football with the neighbourhood boys on a stubble field behind the self-made refugee huts. Now they are playing in Parc Beirut, where otherwise only Lebanese boys are trained whose parents can make the membership fee for a club.

Looking more closely at the stories of these children and youths, one begins to understand why such a football camp is so valuable. Lebanon is one of the focal points of the current refugee movements. Every fourth inhabitant of the small Mediterranean country is a refugee. Syrian and Iraqis as well as Palestinians who left their homeland decades ago live together among the Lebanese in a very restricted area.



Dreams for the future

On location, we are always surprised at what the children and teenagers reveal to us when we get closer to them. Football means something different for each of them: an escape from the difficulties of everyday life or the hope for a better future.

“Football is my only chance,” says Youssef, whose grandfather had to leave Palestine in 1948. The 16-year-old is aware that as a Palestinian in Lebanon, he can never officially be a doctor, lawyer or taxi driver.

Football is a chance for young Palestinians. Football is a chance for young Palestinians. | © Mwafak Maklad Rim, a 15-year-old, has lived in a refugee hut in the Beqaa Valley since her family left Syria four years ago. “When I play football, I forget about what we’ve seen on the run,” she says. Two years ago she was allowed to go to a Lebanese school and is getting a little closer to her dream of one day returning to Syria to become a doctor.

The 15-year-old Lebanese Rola tells us how she came to a sport field and saw a group of girls playing football there and asked if she could play, too. The fact that she is now the only Lebanese girl to train with a team of Palestinian girls is normality for her, but more than unusual for her environment. Only one Syrian girl attends Rola’s school, while the school of Youssef’s younger brother in Shatila is attended exclusively by

A refreshment after the game. A refreshment after the game. | © Mwafak Maklad Football is only a game, but in the Soccer Camp Lebanon, this game offers hope – hope that something might change in the strictly divided society in Lebanon. Will Youssef ever become a professional footballer in spite of the fact that at home in the Shatila Palestinian Refugee Camp there is not enough money for him to train regularly? Will Rim from Homs actually become a doctor in Syria? And what does the Lebanese Rola think of when she kicks with young people in Beirut, whose lives, unlike her own, are characterized by flight and expulsion?

We do not know whether the hopes of the young athletes will be fulfilled. But after ten days in Lebanon, we know whose dreams need to be made possible.

Fun is very important for the participants. Fun is very important for the participants. | © Mwafak Maklad

Matthias Frickel runs the Deutsche Welle TV show Kick Off! - The Thinking Fan’s Football Show. He has received the German-Polish Journalist Award and the Guirlande d’Honneur for his documentary at the FICTS sport film festival in Milan. Together with his colleague Henning Hesse, who recently won the television prize of the Association of Sport Journalists for Your Final, he has now produced a documentary about the Soccer Camp.The 50-minute documentary was created in cooperation with the Goethe-Institut. On 26 December 2016, the film will be presented in English, German, Arabic and Spanish on the website of Deutsche Welle

Fußball-Camp im Libanon Im Sport sind alle gleich

Beim Soccer Camp Lebanon lernen kleine Fußballerinnen und Fußballer Fairness und Teamgeist.
Beim Soccer Camp Lebanon lernen kleine Fußballerinnen und Fußballer Fairness und Teamgeist. | © Mwafak Maklad

Lernen, was durch Einsatzbereitschaft, Spaß und Toleranz geschaffen werden kann: Das Goethe-Institut Libanon und das Auswärtige Amt setzen auf die vermittelnde Kraft des Fußballs und laden syrische und palästinensische Flüchtlingskinder sowie einheimische Mädchen und Jungen zum Soccercamp Libanon ein. Matthias Frickel und Henning Hesse haben die Trainingslager besucht.

Auf den ersten Blick ist das Soccercamp Libanon ein Fußball-Camp wie jedes andere. Kinder und Jugendliche zwischen 6 und 16 Jahren kommen für jeweils eine Woche in Beirut, Tripoli oder in der Bekaa-Ebene auf Fußballplätzen zusammen, trainieren gemeinsam und singen Lieder. Zehn Tage begleiten wir die jugendlichen Kicker.

Unterwegs zum Turnier. Unterwegs zum Turnier. | © Mwafak Maklad Schon am ersten Tag merken wir, dass hier etwas anders ist: Vor allem die jüngeren Teilnehmerinnen und Teilnehmer nehmen die neuen Fußballschuhe, Hosen und Trikots mit dem Emblem des Goethe-Instituts mit leuchtenden Augen in Empfang. Vor Aufregung, gleich zum ersten Mal in ihrem Leben ein großes grünes Fußballfeld zu betreten und einfach losrennen zu können, dauert es unendlich lange, bis die richtigen Strümpfe gefunden, die Kickschuhe angezogen und die Schleifen gebunden sind.

Auf Initiative des Goethe-Instituts Libanon und in Zusammenarbeit mit der David Nakhid Football Academy trainieren sechs Wochen lang jeden Tag an die 150 Kinder und Jugendliche gemeinsam: syrische und irakische Flüchtlinge, Palästinenser, die hier in dritter Generation als Flüchtlinge leben, und Libanesen.

Konzentration auf dem Spielfeld. Konzentration auf dem Spielfeld. | © Mwafak Maklad Wo Welten aufeinander treffen

Beim Soccercamp im Libanon treffen Welten aufeinander: Die syrischen Mädchen aus der Bekaa-Ebene kicken normalerweise mit den Jungen der Nachbarschaft auf einem Stoppelfeld hinter selbstgezimmerten Flüchtlingshütten. Jetzt spielen sie in Parc Beirut auf Plätzen, auf denen sonst nur libanesische Jungen trainieren, deren Eltern sich den Mitgliedsbeitrag für einen Verein leisten können.

Befasst man sich intensiver mit den Geschichten dieser Kinder und Jugendlichen, beginnt man zu verstehen, warum ein solches Fußballcamp so wertvoll ist. Der Libanon ist einer der Brennpunkte der aktuellen Flüchtlingsbewegungen. Jeder vierte Einwohner des kleinen Mittelmeerstaates ist ein Flüchtling. Unter den Libanesen leben auf engstem Raum Syrer und Iraker sowie Palästinenser, die ihre Heimat schon vor Jahrzehnten verlassen mussten, zusammen.



Zukunftsträume

Vor Ort wird man immer wieder überrascht, was einem die Kinder und Jugendlichen offenbaren, wenn man ihnen näher kommt. Für jeden von ihnen bedeutet der Fußball etwas anderes: ein Ausbruch aus dem schwierigen Alltag oder die Hoffnung auf ein besseres Leben.

„Meine einzige Chance ist der Fußball”, sagt Youssef, dessen Großvater 1948 Palästina verlassen musste. Dem 16-Jährigen ist bewusst, dass er als Palästinenser im Libanon nie offiziell Arzt, Rechtsanwalt oder Taxifahrer werden kann.

Fußballspielen ist eine Chance für junge Palästinenser. Fußballspielen ist eine Chance für junge Palästinenser. | © Mwafak Maklad Die 15-jährige Rim lebt in einer Flüchtlingshütte in der Bekaa-Ebene, seit ihre Familie vor vier Jahren Syrien verlassen musste. „Wenn ich Fußball spiele, vergesse ich alles, was wir auf der Flucht erlebt haben”, sagt sie. Seit zwei Jahren kann sie jetzt auf eine libanesische Schule gehen und kommt so ihrem Traum ein bisschen näher, eines Tages nach Syrien zurückzukehren und Ärztin zu werden.

Die 15-jährige Libanesin Rola erzählt uns, wie sie eines Tages an einem Sportfeld vorbei kam und dort eine Gruppe von Mädchen Fußballspielen sah und fragte, ob sie mitspielen könne. Dass sie jetzt als einzige Libanesin in einem Team von Palästinenserinnen trainiert, ist für sie Normalität, für ihr Umfeld aber mehr als unge-wöhnlich. Auf Rolas Schule geht eine einzige Syrerin, während die Schule von Youssefs jüngerem Bruder in Shatila ausschließlich Palästinenser besuchen.

Eine Erfrischung nach dem Spiel. Eine Erfrischung nach dem Spiel. | © Mwafak Maklad Fußball ist nur ein Spiel, doch im Soccercamp Libanon gibt dieses Spiel Hoffnung – Hoffnung, dass sich etwas an der streng geteilten Gesellschaft im Libanon ändern könnte: Wird Youssef jemals Fußballprofi werden, obwohl zuhause im palästinensischen Flüchtlingscamp Shatila das Geld und der Platz fehlen, um regelmäßig zu trainieren? Wird Rim aus dem syrischen Homs tatsächlich in Syrien Ärztin werden? Und was denkt die Libanesin Rola, wenn sie in Beirut mit Jugendlichen kickt, deren bisheriges Leben – anders als ihr eigenes – von Flucht und Vertreibung geprägt ist?

Wir wissen nicht, ob die Hoffnungen der jungen Sportlerinnen und Sportler in Erfüllung gehen. Doch nach zehn Tagen im Libanon wissen wir, welche Träume es zu ermöglichen gilt.

Auch der Spaß kommt beim Spielen nicht zu kurz. Auch der Spaß kommt beim Spielen nicht zu kurz. | © Mwafak Maklad


Matthias Frickel leitet bei der Deutschen Welle die TV Sendung „Kick off! – the thinking fan’s football show”. Für seine Dokumentationen erhielt er bereits den Deutsch-Polnischen Journalistenpreis und die Guirlande d’Honneur beim Sportfilmfestival FICTS in Mailand.

Gemeinsam mit seinem Kollegen Henning Hesse, der zuletzt für „Your Final” den Fernsehpreis des Verbandes der Sportjournalisten gewann, hat er nun eine Dokumentation über das „Soccercamp” gedreht. Entstanden ist die 50-minütige Doku in Kooperation mit dem Goethe-Institut. Am 26.12.2016 wird der Film auf Englisch, Deutsch, Arabisch und Spanisch auf der Website der Deutschen Welle präsentiert.