Theatre Festival in Luanda Performances with Wood and Sand

Children’s theatre production Woodways: Encounter with the raw material wood.
Children’s theatre production Woodways: Encounter with the raw material wood. | Photo: Hyndhira Mateta

Woodways and Sandscapes: Theatre ensembles with children and adolescents from Kenya, Cameroon, Zimbabwe and Nigeria were guests of the FESTECA theatre festival in Luanda. Their plays addressed how people encounter the raw materials of wood and sand. Both of the productions are wordless.

Luanda, the capital of the oil nation of Angola, has made headlines in recent years mainly as being the “most expensive city in the world.” The oil boom has, however, passed by the majority of Luanda’s approximately eight million inhabitants without a trace. They continue to live in mostly poor suburbs, yet despite adversity, they have not lost their creativity.

Cultural events in the city centre are too expensive for the residents of these neighbourhoods and hardly accessible due to the heavy traffic. There are therefore many self-organized cultural initiatives that focus on music as well as on other forms of expression.
 

  • Built on sand: The children’s theatre production Sandscapes. Photo: Hyndhira Mateta Photo: Hyndhira Mateta
    Built on sand: The children’s theatre production Sandscapes.
  • Young people from Kenya, Cameroon, Zimbabwe and Nigeria act in Woodways. Photo: Hyndhira Mateta Photo: Hyndhira Mateta
    Young people from Kenya, Cameroon, Zimbabwe and Nigeria act in Woodways.
  • Wordless communication. Photo: Hyndhira Mateta Photo: Hyndhira Mateta
    Wordless communication.
  • The audience plays along in Woodways. Photo: Hyndhira Mateta Photo: Hyndhira Mateta
    The audience plays along in Woodways.
  • The Ensemble: Burnley Yaya Fokumiah, Alumbe Hellen Namal, Kento Jumah with director Sophia Mempuh Kwachuh. Photo: Hyndhira Mateta Photo: Hyndhira Mateta
    The Ensemble: Burnley Yaya Fokumiah, Alumbe Hellen Namal, Kento Jumah with director Sophia Mempuh Kwachuh.
  • The Sandscapes ensemble: Joshua Alabi, Joy Akrah, Tanya Charingira, Lloyd Nyikadzino. Photo: Hyndhira Mateta Photo: Hyndhira Mateta
    The Sandscapes ensemble: Joshua Alabi, Joy Akrah, Tanya Charingira, Lloyd Nyikadzino.
  • Sandscapes: Bringing the material to life. Photo: Hyndhira Mateta Photo: Hyndhira Mateta
    Sandscapes: Bringing the material to life.
  • Sandscapes invites the audience on stage to dance and sing. Photo: Hyndhira Mateta Photo: Hyndhira Mateta
    Sandscapes invites the audience on stage to dance and sing.

One of the most dedicated projects of this kind is the FESTECA theatre festival, which has been held every July since 2006 in Cazenga, the largest suburb of Luanda with over one million inhabitants. The FESTECA organisers are largely self-sufficient: hardly any grants are available from officials and donations from NGOs or charitable institutions are received only rarely.

Nevertheless, the FESTECA activists have managed to set up their own cultural centre with an event venue, the ANIMART, which has become a meeting point in Cazenga not just for theatre enthusiasts, but also for fans of music and fashion.

Wood and sand brought to life

Since 2016, the Goethe-Institut Angola has been collaborating with FESTECA and has contributed to the festival with guest performances, workshops and lectures. In July 2017, two children's theatre productions, Woodways and Sandscapes, which were created in cooperation with the Goethe-Institut South Africa, Helios Theater Hamm and the South African Magnet Theatre, were invited to the festival.

Woodways is about people’s encounters with the raw material of wood in its various forms – branches, roots, seeds – and its transformation into fuel and building material. It playfully explores the archaic experience of the use of wood.

Sandscapes is literally built upon sand, which covers the entire stage. Initially static, in the hands of the actors the material becomes a sensory substance in which they draw shapes and symbols. In the end, the sand trickles through their fingers, rattles on plastic sheeting and umbrellas, is hurled from a pail through the air and drifts between their legs.

Both plays function without spoken words; even more important since the members of both participating ensembles come from Cameroon, Kenya, Nigeria and Zimbabwe and therefore cannot communicate in Portuguese, the language spoken in Angola. They instead communicate with the audience using gestures and facial expressions along with song and dance into which the audience is integrated and later encouraged to join in on stage.

Theaterfestival in Luanda Performances mit Holz und Sand

Kindertheaterproduktion „Woodways“: Begegnung mit dem Rohstoff Holz
Kindertheaterproduktion „Woodways“: Begegnung mit dem Rohstoff Holz | Foto: Hyndhira Mateta

„Woodways“ und „Sandscapes“: Theaterensembles mit Kindern und Jugendlichen aus Kenia, Kamerun, Simbabwe und Nigeria waren zu Gast beim Theaterfestival FESTECA in Luanda. In ihren Stücken thematisierten sie die Begegnung des Menschen mit den Rohstoffen Holz und Sand. Beide Produktionen kommen ohne Worte aus.

Luanda, die Hauptstadt des Erdöl-Landes Angola, ist in den letzten Jahren vor allem als „teuerste Stadt der Welt“ in die Schlagzeilen geraten. An der Mehrzahl der etwa 8 Millionen Einwohnerinnen und Einwohner Luandas ist der Erdölsegen jedoch spurlos vorbeigegangen. Sie leben nach wie vor in zumeist ärmlichen Vorstädten, doch allen Widrigkeiten zum Trotz haben sie sich ihre Kreativität nicht nehmen lassen.

Kulturveranstaltungen im Stadtzentrum zu besuchen, ist für die Bewohnerinnen und Bewohner dieser Viertel unerschwinglich und aufgrund der Verkehrsverhältnisse nicht praktikabel. So gibt es hier zahlreiche selbstorganisierte Kulturinitiativen, die sich vor allem der Musik, aber auch anderen Ausdrucksformen widmen.
 

  • Auf Sand gebaut: Die Kindertheaterproduktion „Sandscapes“, Foto: Hyndhira Mateta Foto: Hyndhira Mateta
    Auf Sand gebaut: Die Kindertheaterproduktion „Sandscapes“
  • In „Woodways“ spielen Jugendliche aus Kenia, Kamerun, Simbabwe und Nigeria mit, Foto: Hyndhira Mateta Foto: Hyndhira Mateta
    In „Woodways“ spielen Jugendliche aus Kenia, Kamerun, Simbabwe und Nigeria mit
  • Kommunikation ohne Worte, Foto: Hyndhira Mateta Foto: Hyndhira Mateta
    Kommunikation ohne Worte
  • Das Publikum gestaltet das Stück „Woodways“ mit, Foto: Hyndhira Mateta Foto: Hyndhira Mateta
    Das Publikum gestaltet das Stück „Woodways“ mit
  • Das Ensemble: Burnley Yaya Fokumiah, Alumbe Hellen Namal, Kento Jumah mit Regisseurin Sophia Mempuh Kwachuh, Foto: Hyndhira Mateta Foto: Hyndhira Mateta
    Das Ensemble: Burnley Yaya Fokumiah, Alumbe Hellen Namal, Kento Jumah mit Regisseurin Sophia Mempuh Kwachuh
  • Das Ensemble von „Sandscapes“: Joshua Alabi, Joy Akrah, Tanya Charingira, Lloyd Nyikadzino, Foto: Hyndhira Mateta Foto: Hyndhira Mateta
    Das Ensemble von „Sandscapes“: Joshua Alabi, Joy Akrah, Tanya Charingira, Lloyd Nyikadzino
  • „Sandscapes“: Material zum Leben erwecken, Foto: Hyndhira Mateta Foto: Hyndhira Mateta
    „Sandscapes“: Material zum Leben erwecken
  • „Sandscapes“ lädt das Publikum zum Tanzen und Singen auf der Bühne ein, Foto: Hyndhira Mateta Foto: Hyndhira Mateta
    „Sandscapes“ lädt das Publikum zum Tanzen und Singen auf der Bühne ein

Eines der engagiertesten Projekte dieser Art ist das Theaterfestival FESTECA, das seit 2006 jedes Jahr im Juli im Cazenga stattfindet, der größten Vorstadt Luandas mit über einer Million Einwohnerinnen und Einwohnern. Die Organisatoren des FESTECA sind weitgehend auf sich selbst gestellt: Zuschüsse von offizieller Seite gibt es kaum, hin und wieder trifft die eine oder andere Spende von NGOs oder wohltätigen Institutionen ein.

Gleichwohl haben es die FESTECA-Aktivisten geschafft, ein eigenes Kulturzentrum mit Veranstaltungssaal einzurichten, das ANIMART, das im Cazenga zu einem Anlaufpunkt nicht nur für Theaterbegeisterte, sondern auch für Musik- und Modefans geworden ist.

Holz und Sand zum Leben erweckt

Seit 2016 arbeitet das Goethe-Institut Angola mit dem FESTECA zusammen und trägt mit Gastspielen, Workshops und Vorträgen zum Festival bei. Im Juli 2017 wurden zwei Kindertheaterproduktionen, „Woodways“ und „Sandscapes“, eingeladen, die in Zusammenarbeit mit dem Goethe-Institut Südafrika, dem Helios Theater Hamm und dem Magnet Theatre South Africa entstanden sind.

In „Woodways“ geht es um die Begegnung des Menschen mit dem Rohstoff Holz in seinen unterschiedlichen Beschaffenheiten – als Zweige, Wurzeln, Samen – und um seine Verwandlung in Brennstoff und Baumaterial. Die archaische Erfahrung mit der Nutzung des Holzes wird spielerisch verarbeitet und variiert.

„Sandscapes“ ist im wahrsten Sinne auf Sand gebaut, der die gesamte Bühne bedeckt. Das anfangs so statische Material wird in den Händen der Darstellerinnen und Darsteller zu einem sinnlichen Stoff, in den sie Formen und Zeichen malen. Anschließend rieselt der Sand durch die Finger, prasselt auf Plastikplanen und Regenschirme, wird aus dem Eimer durch die Luft geschleudert und weht zwischen den Beinen hindurch.

Beide Stücke funktionieren ohne Sprechtext, was umso wichtiger ist, als die Mitglieder der beiden beteiligten Ensembles aus Kamerun, Kenia, Nigeria und Simbabwe stammen und sich daher in Angola nicht auf Portugiesisch verständigen können. Die Kommunikation mit dem Publikum wird stattdessen durch Gestik und Mimik hergestellt und in Gesang und Tanz umgesetzt, in die das Publikum schließlich integriert und zum Mitmachen auf der Bühne ermutigt wird.