Moves from Germany in Dublin A Different Kind of German Lesson

Break-letics with Peter Sowinski: the mix of acrobatics, dance and music requires intensive physical rigour
Break-letics with Peter Sowinski: the mix of acrobatics, dance and music requires intensive physical rigour | Photo: Dublin Dance Festival

The hip-hop masters from the German dance collective Renegade mix it up at the Dublin Dance Festival with Moves from Germany and introduce 36 Irish teenagers to the art of breakdancing. By Deirdre Mulrooney

They’re called Renegade, they come from the Ruhr region and travel to Dublin with the promise: “We will make your muscles burn.” That’s exactly what three dozen Irish school-kids want from them, because it’s not everyday that they get a chance to take part in a workshop by the hip-hop masters Peter Sowinski, Pia Grohmann, Janis Heidmann and Youngung Sebastian Kim. Selected from over 80 hopeful applicants, 18 pupils each are chosen by a lottery system from St. Louis girls’ school and their neighbouring boys’ school, St. Mary’s in Dublin.

The members of the dance collective from Herne divide these lively boys and girls who collaborate annually on musicals (next year it’ll be Calamity Jane) into three groups. The working language is German because the workshop is part of Moves from Germany, the German strand in the 2015 edition of the Dublin Dance Festival, organized by the Goethe-Institut.

The open-air festival takes place on a sunny May weekend in Ireland’s capital city and presents an impressive potpourri of contemporary dance. First the young all male quartet Company B charm the crowds with Inclusion of Exclusion, a choreography created by the boys themselves. Conveying the gamut of emotions that might be going on in a 15 year old boy, they unleash synchronised jumps, intense solos, rugby-scrum head-locks, tug of war hand-balancing, coming together, drifting apart, and joyous free-wheeling star-jumps. Next the intense 15-minute choreographic short story by La Macana overflows the confines of the stage as Caterina Varela finally slides off, snail-like onto the concrete, with her partner balancing on her back, to the beat of Einstürzende Neubauten.

Janis Heidmann with “Uptown Funk” Janis Heidmann with “Uptown Funk” | Photo: Dublin Dance Festival Amid grunts, groans, and a fair bit of nervous giggling, in the gym of St. Mary's the Renegade workshop teens attempt press-ups, sit-ups and what look like yoga poses. The tough core exercises comprise more variations of push-ups than the young dancers ever imagined. The first session is “break-letics” with Peter Sowinski and Sebastian Kim. Here, the students discover that breaking and hip-hop – a mix of acrobatics, dance and music – requires intensive physical rigour.

“We incorporate yoga, martial arts, and all kinds of forms,” explains Kim. Hip-hop originated in New York, influenced by Kung Fu films, tap dancing, salsa, rocking, popping, locking, yoga, martial arts, urban dance, and is now infiltrating mainstream contemporary dance. The Pina Bausch dancers Regina Advento and Nayoung Kim have also collaborated with Renegade.

In the next session, with a mirror to check that their moves, rhythm, and coordination are in synch, Janis teaches the determined teenagers the choreography for Bruno Mars’s music video “Uptown Funk”: “Die Beine raus; Knie nach vorne; Hüfte nach vorne; ride the horse; slide; give them a kiss; step, turn, step, turn, wave…”. Learning German was never so much fun.

Pia leads the third and most rewarding session, getting the group down low on the wooden floor to learn the A-B-Cs of basic “foot threading,” “body wave” and the impressive looking “baby freeze.” The longed-for break-dancer transformation is not going to happen overnight, but baby freeze is an achievable beginner’s semi-inverted pose that halts all body motion, as if on ice, head on the floor, legs kicking up. The girls in particular are rather good at this choreographic sequence.

At the end of the festival the b-boys and girls are rewarded by the grand finale, when the much-anticipated hip-hop jam lands as their teachers from Renegade perform – sometimes solo, sometimes with All-Ireland Hip-Hop Champion Tobi Omoteso. With graffiti-inspired, quirky crab style jumps and headstands, they show that they can also make their own muscles burn.

„Moves from Germany“ in Dublin Die etwas andere Deutschstunde

Break-letics mit Peter Sowinski: Der Mix aus Akrobatik, Tanz und Musik erfordert äußerste körperliche Präzision
Break-letics mit Peter Sowinski: Der Mix aus Akrobatik, Tanz und Musik erfordert äußerste körperliche Präzision | Foto: Dublin Dance Festival

Mit Moves from Germany mischen die Hip-Hop-Meister der deutschen Tanzkompanie Renegade das Dublin Dance Festival auf – und führen 36 junge Iren in die hohe Kunst des Breakdance ein. Von Deirdre Mulrooney

Sie heißen Renegade, kommen aus dem Ruhrgebiet und haben bei ihrer Ankunft in Dublin ein Versprechen im Gepäck: „Wir sorgen dafür, dass euch die Muskeln brennen.“ Und genau das ist es, was drei Dutzend irische Schüler von ihnen wollen. Denn die Chance, an einem Workshop der Hip-Hop-Lehrmeister Peter Sowinski, Pia Grohmann, Janis Heidmann und Youngung Sebastian Kim teilzunehmen, hat nicht jeder. Die 18 Schülerinnen der St. Louis High School und 18 Schüler der benachbarten St. Mary’s Boys’ School wurden per Los ausgewählt. Mitmachen wollten mehr als doppelt so viele.

Die Teenager, die jedes Jahr eine Musical-Produktion auf die Beine stellen (im nächsten Jahr Calamity Jane) werden von den Mitgliedern der Tanzkompanie aus Herne gleich in drei Gruppen aufgeteilt. Arbeitssprache ist Deutsch, denn der Workshop ist Teil von Moves from Germany, dem deutschen Beitrag zur diesjährigen Ausgabe des Dublin Dance Festival, organisiert vom Goethe-Institut.

Das Open-Air-Festival findet an einem sonnigen Mai-Wochenende in der irischen Hauptstadt statt und präsentiert ein eindrucksvolles Potpourri unterschiedlicher Höhepunkte des Gegenwartstanzes: So reißt etwa die Company B, ein Quartett aus jungen Männern, das Publikum mit dem selbst erarbeiteten Stück Inclusion of Exclusion mit. Mit synchronen Sprüngen, gefühlsintensiven Solos, rustikalen Rugby-Headlocks, Hand-balancing und furiosen Starjumps entfesseln die Tänzer das gesamte Spektrum der Emotionen, die in einem 15-Jährigen toben können. Und die ikonische, 15-minütige Tanzperformance von La Macana sprengt in bestem Grunge Style buchstäblich Grenzen, als Caterina Varela über den Bühnenrand hinabgleitet und schneckengleich über den Asphalt kriecht, während ihr Partner zu Klängen der Einstürzenden Neubauten auf ihrem Rücken balanciert.

Janis Heidmann mit „Uptown Funk“ Janis Heidmann mit „Uptown Funk“ | Foto: Dublin Dance Festival Unterdessen ächzen, stöhnen und kichern die Teilnehmer des Renegade-Workshops nervös, während sie sich in der Turnhalle von St. Mary's an diversen Press-ups, Sit-ups und Yoga-ähnlichen Figuren versuchen. Die knallharten Grundübungen beinhalten mehr Liegestütz-Varianten, als sich die jungen Tänzer wohl je zugetraut hätten. Die erste Unterrichtseinheit heißt break-letics. Die Lehrer Peter Sowinski und Youngung Sebastian Kim zeigen den Schülern, dass der Mix aus Akrobatik, Tanz und Musik vor allem äußerste körperliche Präzision erfordern.

„Wir verwenden Elemente aus Yoga, Kampfsport und allen möglichen Disziplinen“, erklärt Kim. Hip-Hop habe sich in New York herausgebildet, Einflüsse aus Kung-Fu-Filmen, Stepptanz, Salsa, Rocking, Popping, Locking, Yoga, Kampfsport und Urban Dance integriert und längst den Mainstream des zeitgenössischen Tanzes unterwandert. So hätten etwa auch die Pina-Bausch-Tänzerinnen Regina Advento und Nayoung Kim schon mit Renegade zusammengearbeitet.

In der zweiten Einheit führt Janis Heidmann die Schüler vor den Spiegel. Sie sollen nun darauf achten, dass ihre Bewegungen in Ausführung und Rhythmus synchron sind. Hierzu hat sich Heidmann die Choreografie zu Bruno Mars’ Musikvideo Uptown Funk vorgenommen: „Ride the horse – slide – give them a kiss – step – turn – step – turn – wave ... Die Beine raus – Knie nach vorne – Hüfte nach vorne ...“. Deutschunterricht, der bewegt.

Im dritten Teil schließlich sollen sich die Schüler auf den Holzboden legen, um das Einmaleins von Foot threading, Body wave und den optisch eindrucksvollen Baby freeze zu lernen. Die Verwandlung in einen Breakdancer geht nicht über Nacht vonstatten, da ist der Baby freeze sehr dankbar, denn er ist vergleichsweise einfach zu erlernen: Der Körper wird in der Bewegung eingefroren, während der Kopf Bodenkontakt hat und die Beine in verschiedenen Variationen in die Luft gehoben werden. Vor allem die Mädchen erweisen sich als ziemlich geschickt.

Zum Abschluss des Festivals kommen dann auch die angehenden Breakdancer voll auf ihre Kosten. Denn im finalen Hip-Hop-Jam treten auch ihre Lehrer von Renegade auf – teils allein, teils mit Irlands Hip-Hop-Champion Tobi Omoteso. Mit von der Graffiti-Kultur inspirierten Bewegungen, skurrilen Sprüngen im „Crab Style“ und Kopfständen zeigen sie, dass sie nicht nur die Muskeln anderer Leute zum Brennen bringen können.