New App Arriving in Germany

Ankommen is an app made to help refugees starting out in Germany.
Ankommen is an app made to help refugees starting out in Germany. | Photo: Kay Nietfeld © picture alliance / dpa

Newly arrived refugees in Germany are faced by many challenges including cultural and linguistic hurdles. A new app called “Ankommen” (Arrival) was created to help them successfully navigate their first weeks in Germany.

In cooperation with the Federal Office for Migration and Refugees (BAMF), the Federal Employment Agency (BA) and Bayerischer Rundfunk (BR), the Goethe-Institut has developed an offering unique in Germany that can help newcomers take those difficult first steps.
 
The app has three menus. There is a module for learning the German language developed primarily by the Goethe-Institut to help with everyday communicating. “Asylum, Apprenticeship, Job” describes the asylum procedure and also offers information about kindergarten, school and studies. “Living in Germany” familiarizes new arrivals with practical and value-oriented aspects of life in the new country.

Screenshot of the App “Ankommen” Screenshot of the App “Ankommen” | Goethe-Institut e.V. After a single, free download, the app can also be used offline and on older smartphones. It is available for the Android operating system and for iOS in Arabic, English, Farsi, French and German.
 
The language-learning module is for absolute beginners, giving them the ability to systematically build a basic vocabulary about topics such as food, shopping, living, working, as well as health and medical care. The app offers users the possibility to interactively train their reading, writing, listening and speaking skills.
 
Johannes Ebert, secretary-general of the Goethe-Institut, said of Ankommen, “Language is the key to participation in society. With this app and the Goethe-Institut language courses we make a significant contribution towards easing those critical first few weeks after arriving in Germany.” Ebert stressed that in the first weeks “a course is set that lastingly determines the lives of refugees.”
 
Screenshot of the App “Ankommen” Screenshot of the App “Ankommen” | Goethe-Institut e.V. “The special thing about this app is that the knowledge and information it provides is closely linked to typical, everyday situations. The app, however, cannot take the place of an integration course,” said Klaus Krischok, head of information at the Goethe-Institut, although it can help to overcome the initial period of “speechlessness” in Germany.
 
Frank-Jürgen Weise, the head of the BAMF and the BA stressed that time is an “important factor in vocational and in social integration. There are still waiting periods, but they can be used and minimized. Our deliberately low-threshold offer makes an important contribution to quickly becoming familiar with all the necessary information for a new start in Germany.”
 
The Goethe-Institut reinforces its solid commitment to refugees in Germany with the Ankommen app. Since 2015, the Goethe-Institut has been training volunteer language coaches in Germany and offering classroom-based German courses for refugees. More free language learning opportunities are available at goethe.de/willkommen. In December 2015, the Goethe-Institut presented Cinemanya, a suitcase of films for children and teens with Arabic subtitles.
 
Version 1.0 of the Ankommen app was designed between November and December 2015 and its functions and content will be further expanded in 2016. Updates can simply be downloaded.

Neue App Ankommen in Deutschland

Die App „Ankommen“ soll Flüchtlingen den Start in Deutschland erleichtern.
Die App „Ankommen“ soll Flüchtlingen den Start in Deutschland erleichtern. | Foto: Kay Nietfeld © picture alliance / dpa

Flüchtlinge, die neu nach Deutschland kommen, stehen vor vielen Herausforderungen – auch in kultureller und sprachlicher Hinsicht: Die neue App „Ankommen“ soll helfen, die ersten Wochen in Deutschland erfolgreich zu meistern.

In Zusammenarbeit mit dem Bundesamt für Migration und Flüchtlinge (BAMF), der Bundesagentur für Arbeit (BA) und dem Bayerischen Rundfunk (BR) hat das Goethe-Institut ein deutschlandweit bisher einmaliges Angebot entwickelt, das sich als Wegbegleiter für die besonders schwierigen ersten Schritte der Geflüchteten in Deutschland versteht.

Ein Deutsch-Selbstlernangebot, für das vor allem das Goethe-Institut verantwortlich zeichnet, hilft bei der Kommunikation im Alltag; das Informationsangebot „Asyl, Ausbildung und Arbeit“ schildert den Weg durch das Asylverfahren und informiert unter anderem über Kindergarten, Schule und Studium. „Leben in Deutschland“ macht die Ankömmlinge mit praktischen und werteorientierten Aspekten des Lebens im neuen Land vertraut.

Screenshot der App „Ankommen“ Screenshot der App „Ankommen“ | Goethe-Institut e.V. Nach einmaligem, kostenlosem Download kann die App auch offline und auf älteren Smartphones genutzt werden. Sie ist für die Betriebssysteme Android und  iOS in den deutschen App-Stores verfügbar und steht auf Arabisch, Englisch, Farsi, Französisch und Deutsch zur Verfügung.
 
Das Sprachlernangebot wendet sich dabei an „Nullanfänger“ und bietet die Möglichkeit, systematisch einen Grundwortschatz rund um Themen wie Essen, Einkaufen, Wohnen, Arbeiten, aber auch Gesundheit oder medizinische Versorgung aufzubauen. Den Nutzern bietet die App die Möglichkeit, interaktiv ihr Lesen, Schreiben, Hören und Sprechen zu trainieren.
 
Johannes Ebert, Generalsekretär des Goethe-Instituts, sagt über Ankommen: „Sprache ist der Schlüssel zur gesellschaftlichen Teilhabe. Wir leisten mit dieser App und dem Sprachkurs des Goethe-Instituts einen wesentlichen Beitrag für die kritischen ersten Wochen nach der Ankunft in Deutschland.“ In den ersten Wochen, so Ebert, würden „Weichen gestellt, die das Leben der Flüchtlinge dauerhaft bestimmen“.
 
Screenshot der App „Ankommen“ Screenshot der App „Ankommen“ | Goethe-Institut e.V. „Das Besondere an dieser App ist die enge Verknüpfung von typischen Alltagssituationen, dem Lern- und dem Informationsangebot. Die App ersetzt allerdings keinen Integrationskurs“, so Klaus Krischok, Abteilungsleiter Information des Goethe-Instituts, sie könne jedoch helfen, die erste Zeit der „Sprachlosigkeit“ in Deutschland zu verkürzen.
 
Frank-Jürgen Weise, Leiter des BAMF und der BA betonte, dass Zeit ein „wichtiger Faktor bei beruflicher wie bei gesellschaftlicher Integration“ sei. „Noch existieren Wartezeiten, die aber auch genutzt und minimiert werden können. Unser bewusst niedrigschwelliges Angebot leistet einen wichtigen Beitrag, sich schnell mit allen für den Neustart in Deutschland nötigen Informationen vertraut zu machen.“
 
Mit der App Ankommen verstärkt das Goethe-Institut sein Engagement für Flüchtlinge in Deutschland. Bereits seit 2015 bildet es deutschlandweit ehrenamtliche Lernbegleiter aus und Präsenzkurse für Flüchtlinge an. Über goethe.de/willkommen stehen weitere kostenlose Sprachlernangebote zur Verfügung. Im Dezember 2015 stellte das Goethe-Institut mit Cinemanya einen Koffer mit arabisch untertitelten Filmen für Kinder und Jugendliche vor.
 
Die Version 1.0 der App Ankommen wurde zwischen November und Dezember 2015 entwickelt und wird 2016 funktional und inhaltlich weiter ausgebaut. Updates können dann einfach heruntergeladen werden.