Cairo Book Fair Fairground, trading venue and cultural showcase

The 2015 Cairo Book Fair
The 2015 Cairo Book Fair | © picture alliance / dpa

For over twenty years, the Goethe-Institut has been a part of the the Cairo International Book Fair, offering a survey of German literature, new translations into Arabic and German-Egyptian cultural work.

By Amira El Ahl

The International Book Fair in Cairo is not only the world’s oldest book fair, but also one of the largest. In 2015, it was attended by 850 publishers and booksellers from 28 countries who presented about 70 million books. Every day, approximately 120,000 people came to the fairground in Nasr City, 200,000 on top days. The fair not only attracts a professional audience, but also many students and other book lovers. Since the fair is traditionally held during the school holidays it is also a popular destination for families. Admission costs a less than ten cents and is affordable to almost everyone. With its green spaces and food stands, the spacious fairground is a little like a folk festival.

The German joint stand has been set up in the same place, hall 19, for the past twenty years, which has been possible due to the support of the Auswärtiges Amt. In addition to the Börsenverein’s Ausstellungs- und Messe GmbH, the stand also accommodates the Goethe-Institut, the embassy’s Deutschlandzentrum and Egyptian booksellers offering German works for the local market.

Gabriele Becker, director of the Goethe-Institut Cairo, opens the German joint stand at the Cairo Book Fair. Gabriele Becker, director of the Goethe-Institut Cairo, opens the German joint stand at the Cairo Book Fair. | Photo: Amira El Ahl Visitors to the fair can discover a broad range of German literature including children’s books, fiction and nonfiction. “We focus on presenting interesting titles that have been translated in recent years,” explains Sabine Reddel, the Goethe-Institut’s head of information services and translation programmes for the North Africa-Middle East region. “That’s why we also make an effort to present new translations from German into Arabic at the stand.”

During the cultural programme, the translator Samir Grees presented his Günter Grass und die arabische Welt. Author Jonas Lüscher and his translator Ola Adel read from his novel Barbarian Spring, which was issued in Arabic by Al Arabi Publishing. The German literature portal Litrix.de was also presented. The portal presents new German releases in fiction, nonfiction, books for children and young people and promotes translations, focussing on one language over a number of years, on Arabic between 2015 and 2017.

The professional programme for publishers focused largely on e-books. On the book fair’s opening day, the Goethe-Institut invited Steffen Meier, head of product innovation and marketing at Readbox Publishing, to speak on why publishers should invest in e-books. In addition Meier, Luis Collado (Google Play, Spain) and Alaa Zaher (Kotobi, Egypt) discussed challenges for e-books on the (Arabic) book market.

The Goethe-Institut also takes advantage of the book fair to promote its language work. “We present our cultural programme and our language courses at the stand. The language courses are the most in-demand,” says Reddel. To offer an impression of what a German course is like, the Goethe-Institut also offers introductory courses on site. The institute cannot complain about a lack of language students. The German language is quite popular in Egypt, with approximately 85,000 children taking German at school and almost 12,800 students of German registered at universities. In Cairo alone, the Goethe-Institut has 6,500 language learners. “We can’t keep up with the demand,” Reddel boasts, which is why the institute has now opened a branch at the Higher Institute of Languages at Egypt’s Culture & Science City.

Buchmesse Kairo Volksfest, Handelsplatz und kulturelles Schaufenster

Die Buchmesse Kairo 2015
Die Buchmesse Kairo 2015 | © picture alliance / dpa

Seit über 20 Jahren ist das Goethe-Institut eine feste Größe auf der Internationalen Buchmesse in Kairo und gibt einen Überblick über deutsche Literatur, aktuelle Übersetzungen ins Arabische und die deutsch-ägyptische Kulturarbeit.
 

Von Amira El Ahl

Die internationale Buchmesse in Kairo ist nicht nur die älteste Buchmesse der Welt, sie ist auch eine der größten. 2015 kamen 850 Verlage und Buchhändler aus 28 Ländern und stellten um die 70 Millionen Bücher aus. Etwa 120.000 Menschen besuchten täglich das Messegelände in Nasr City, an Spitzentagen waren es 200.000. Die Messe zieht nicht nur Fachpublikum an, sondern auch viele Studenten und andere Bücherfreunde. Da die Messe traditionell während der Schulferien stattfindet, ist sie auch für Familien ein beliebtes Ausflugsziel. Nur knapp zehn Cent kostet der Eintritt und ist für fast alle erschwinglich. Mit seinen Grünflächen und Essenständen hat das weiträumige Messegelände ein wenig das Flair eines Volksfestes.

In Halle 19 befindet sich der vom Auswärtigen Amt geförderte Gemeinschaftsstand – und das bereits seit 20 Jahren. Neben der Ausstellungs- und Messe GmbH des Börsenvereins sind am Stand das Goethe-Institut, das Deutschlandzentrum der Botschaft und ägyptische Buchhandlungen vertreten, die deutsche Werke für den lokalen Markt anbieten.

Gabriele Becker, Institutsleiterin des Goethe-Instituts Kairo, eröffnet den deutschen Gemeinschaftsstand auf der Buchmesse Kairo. Gabriele Becker, Institutsleiterin des Goethe-Instituts Kairo, eröffnet den deutschen Gemeinschaftsstand auf der Buchmesse Kairo. | Foto: Amira El Ahl Die Besucher der Messe können hier eine bunte Auswahl an deutscher Literatur entdecken – darunter Kinderbücher, Belletristik und Sachbücher. „Unser Fokus ist es, darzustellen, was an interessanten Titeln in den letzten Jahren übersetzt wurde“, erklärt Sabine Reddel, Leiterin Information und Bibliothek in der Region Nordafrika-Nahost des Goethe-Instituts. „Wir bemühen uns deshalb, auch aktuelle Übersetzungen aus dem Deutschen ins Arabische am Stand zu präsentieren.“

Im Kulturprogramm stellte der Übersetzer Samir Grees sein Buch Günter Grass und die arabische Welt vor. Der Autor Jonas Lüscher las gemeinsam mit seiner Übersetzerin Ola Adel aus seinem Roman Frühling der Barbaren, der in der arabischen Übersetzung bei Al Arabi Publishing erschienen ist. Außerdem wurde das deutsche Literaturportal Litrix.de vorgestellt. Das Portal stellt deutschsprachige Neuerscheinungen aus den Sparten Belletristik, Sachbuch, Kinder- und Jugendbuch vor und fördert Übersetzungen, die sich jeweils über mehrere Jahre auf eine Schwerpunktsprache konzentrieren, zwischen 2015 und 2017 auf das Arabische.

Beim Fachprogramm für Verleger lag der Fokus der Buchmesse eindeutig auf eBooks. Steffen Meier, Leiter Produktinnovation und Marketing bei readbox Publishing hielt am Eröffnungstag der Buchmesse auf Einladung des Goethe-Instituts einen Vortrag zum Thema „Warum sollten Verleger in eBooks investieren?“ Außerdem diskutierten Steffen Meier, Luis Collado (Spanien, Google Play) und Alaa Zaher (Ägypten, Kotobi) über die „Herausforderungen für eBooks im (arabischen) Buchmarkt“.

Darüber hinaus nutzt das Goethe-Institut die Buchmesse, um über seine Arbeit im sprachlichen Bereich zu informieren: „Wir stellen am Stand unser Kulturprogramm und unsere Sprachkurse vor. Dabei werden die Sprachkurse am meisten nachgefragt“, so Reddel. Um einen Eindruck davon zu vermitteln, wie so ein Sprachkurs überhaupt aussieht, bietet das Goethe-Institut unter anderem Schnupperkurse vor Ort an. Über einen Mangel an Sprachschülern kann sich das Institut nicht beklagen – die deutsche Sprache ist in Ägypten überaus beliebt. Zurzeit lernen etwa 85.000 Kinder Deutsch an Schulen, an den Universitäten sind an die 12.800 Studenten in den Fächern Deutsch/Germanistik eingeschrieben. Alleine am Goethe-Institut in Kairo gibt es 6.500 Sprachschüler. „Die Nachfrage ist größer als das, was wir bedienen können“, erzählt Reddel. Deshalb hat das Institut nun auch eine Filiale im Hohen Institut für Fremdsprachen und Übersetzung Culture & Science.