Obituary Thank you, Hans-Dietrich Genscher

Klaus-Dieter Lehmann and Hans-Dietrich Genscher
Klaus-Dieter Lehmann and Hans-Dietrich Genscher | © Goethe-Institut e.V.

We mourn the death of Hans-Dietrich Genscher. He was not only a great advocate of the Goethe-Institut; he was our friend. A tribute by Klaus-Dieter Lehmann

The Goethe-Institut owes a great deal to Hans-Dietrich Genscher. As Germany’s foreign minister between 1974 and 1992, he decisively shaped a foreign policy that established culture as its third pillar alongside politics and industry.

“Germany is not only a leading industrial nation, we are a cultural nation. That alone prohibits an economization of Germany’s image in the world. Foreign cultural policy is more than a decorative accessory of our foreign policy, and it is certainly not an aesthetic form of foreign trade promotion.” This guiding principle of Mr Genscher strengthened the Goethe-Institut in its independence, its ability to enter into discourse and its collaborative work. With him, it was possible for us to incorporate our national social debates of the 1970s and 1980s into our programme work abroad and to credibly convey the process of democracy in Germany. It was an exciting time of cultural departures that corresponded to a fundamental emancipatory attitude even in its contradictions.

Hans-Dietrich Genscher at the opening of the Goethe-Institut Prag in 1990 Hans-Dietrich Genscher at the opening of the Goethe-Institut Prag in 1990 | © Goethe-Institut e.V. After the fall of the wall in 1989, Mr Genscher enabled us to establish new institutes in that previously closed part of the world. Shortly beforehand, on 1 November 1988, after lengthy negotiations with China he was able to set up a Goethe-Institut that remained the sole foreign cultural institute there for sixteen years. It developed splendidly and, in October 2015, expanded to an additional venue in the 798 Art Zone. It is a place after his wishes, which I characterized at its opening by saying, “I hope for a dialogue of practical action here, a dialogue of openness. For us, freedom of expression is a precious asset.” That would have pleased Mr Genscher. The notion of dialogue was central to Genscher and it is central to the Goethe-Institut. He considered it the best guarantee against new hostilities and marginalization and it was therefore indispensable to him. He knew that dialogue alone is no panacea – that would also necessitate suitable political frameworks such as rule of law and human rights – but certainly the only way to move ahead.

For him, culture was not a personal playground for artists and intellectuals, but the foundation societies need to be open and innovative. All of this strengthened his belief that the Goethe-Institut should be given lasting, steady working opportunities in order to be able to afford long-standing, credible dialogue. Hans-Dietrich Genscher was not only an advocate of the Goethe-Institut; he was our friend. He remained interested in our work to the end and was pleased to learn that we will be establishing a Goethe-Institut in Windhoek this year, in a country whose constitution he actively helped to shape on its independence in 1990.

After his passing we will continue to adhere to his conviction that culture should not be a competition between systems, but should further cultural dialogue on equal footing and the appreciation of diversity.

Klaus-Dieter Lehmann, President of the Goethe-Institut

Nachruf Danke, Hans-Dietrich Genscher

Klaus-Dieter Lehmann und Hans-Dietrich Genscher
Klaus-Dieter Lehmann und Hans-Dietrich Genscher | © Goethe-Institut e.V.

Wir trauern um Hans-Dietrich Genscher. Er war nicht nur ein großer Förderer des Goethe-Instituts, sondern ein Freund. Ein Nachruf von Klaus-Dieter Lehmann

Das Goethe-Institut hat Hans-Dietrich Genscher viel zu verdanken. Als Außenminister von 1974 bis 1992 prägte er entscheidend das Bild einer Außenpolitik, die die  Kultur als dritte Säule neben Politik und Wirtschaft etablierte.

„Deutschland ist nicht nur eine führende Wirtschaftsnation, wir sind eine Kulturnation. Das allein verbietet eine Ökonomisierung des Deutschlandbildes in der Welt. Deshalb ist Auswärtige Kulturpolitik mehr als schmückendes Beiwerk unserer Außenpolitik, und schon gar nicht ist sie eine ästhetische Form der Außenhandelsförderung.“ Dieses Credo Genschers stärkte das Goethe-Institut in seiner Unabhängigkeit, Diskursfähigkeit und in seinem partnerschaftlichen Arbeiten. Mit ihm war es möglich, unsere  gesellschaftlichen Debatten der 1970er- und 1980er-Jahre  in die Programmarbeit im Ausland einzubeziehen und den Prozess des demokratischen Deutschlands glaubhaft zu vermitteln. Es war die aufregende Zeit eines kulturellen Aufbruchs, dem eine emanzipatorische Grundhaltung entsprach – auch in seinen Widersprüchen.

Hans-Dietrich Genscher bei der Eröffnung des Goethe-Instituts in Prag 1990 Hans-Dietrich Genscher bei der Eröffnung des Goethe-Instituts in Prag 1990 | © Goethe-Institut e.V. Nach dem Mauerfall 1989 ermöglichte uns Genscher die Neugründungen in diesem bislang verschlossenen Teil der Welt. Kurz vorher, am 1. November 1988, hatte er nach langen Verhandlungen mit China ein Goethe-Institut einrichten können, das 16 Jahre das einzige ausländische Kulturinstitut blieb. Es hat sich prächtig entwickelt und im Oktober 2015 einen weiteren Veranstaltungsort im Künstlerviertel 798 hinzugewonnen. Es ist ein Ort ganz in seinem Sinn, den ich bei der Eröffnung so charakterisierte: „Ich wünsche mir hier einen Dialog des praktischen Handelns, einen Dialog der Offenheit. Meinungsfreiheit ist für uns ein hohes Gut.“ Das hätte Genscher gefreut. Der Dialogbegriff war für Genscher zentral und er ist für das Goethe-Institut zentral. Er sah darin die beste Garantie gegen neue Feindbilder und Ausgrenzungen und war deshalb für ihn unverzichtbar. Er wusste, er ist kein Allheilmittel, dazu gehören auch geeignete politische Rahmenbedingungen wie Rechtsstaatlichkeit und Menschenrechte, aber ohne ihn geht es sicher nicht.

Kultur war für ihn nicht der private Spielplatz für Künstler und Intellektuelle sondern die Grundlage von Gesellschaften, um offen zu sein und Neues zu denken. Dies alles bestärkte ihn in der Auffassung, den Goethe-Instituten langjährige stabile Arbeitsmöglichkeiten zu geben, um einen glaubwürdigen Dialog nachhaltig leisten zu können. Hans-Dietrich Genscher war nicht nur Förderer des Goethe-Instituts, er war ein Freund. Bis zuletzt blieb er an der Arbeit interessiert und es freute ihn zu hören, dass wir 2016 ein Goethe-Institut in Windhuk gründen, in einem Land, für dessen Verfassung er bei seiner Unabhängigkeit 1990 aktiv gestaltend mitgewirkt hat.

Wir werden auch nach seinem Tod seiner Überzeugung folgen, dass sich Kultur nicht zum Wettbewerb der Systeme eignet sondern zum gleichwertigen kulturellen Austausch und zur Wertschätzung der Vielfalt.

Klaus-Dieter Lehmann, Präsident des Goethe-Instituts