Foreign Cultural and Educational Policy Forum Moving people

PASCH pupils with Andreas Görgen, director of the Culture and Communication unit of the Foreign Office, and Foreign Minister Frank-Walter Steinmeier at the Foreign Cultural and Educational Policy Forum
PASCH pupils with Andreas Görgen, director of the Culture and Communication unit of the Foreign Office, and Foreign Minister Frank-Walter Steinmeier at the Foreign Cultural and Educational Policy Forum | Photo: Bernhard Ludewig

For three days, the forum “Menschen bewegen” 2016 demonstrated in Berlin what partners like the Goethe-Institut achieve with their worldwide alliances, from educational initiatives to urban development projects.

Bhavika Sharma is 17 years old, comes from Delhi and would like to study mechanical engineering in Aachen. She speaks excellent German and also has a favourite German word that elicits plenty of laughs at the Weltsaal of the Foreign Office in Berlin: Ellenbogengesellschaft or “elbow society.” Why did she choose to study German? “I like challenges,” she responds. She is also not at a loss for an answer when asked what she thinks of the present refugee debate. “Accepting refugees can unite nations,” says the young Indian woman emphatically.

World-class schools

Giving it a try: cultural projects by the Goethe-Institut were also presented. Here, the theatrical group “Die Stelzer” (Stilt-Walkers) shows off their skills. Giving it a try: cultural projects by the Goethe-Institut were also presented. Here, the theatrical group “Die Stelzer” (Stilt-Walkers) shows off their skills. | Photo: Bernhard Ludewig Nations can also be united by cultural dialogue with language as the key. The event Welt-Klasse! Schule. Bildung. Zukunft at the Foreign Office interprets this sentiment in a lively way. At the launch of the forum Menschen bewegen 2016, which creates a three-day platform in Berlin for Foreign Cultural and Educational Policy, it focuses on the PASCH partner schools initiative. For eight years, the initiative has networked approximately 1,800 schools around the world where German is learned and taught. About 350 pupils, teachers and school directors from 30 countries convened at the Foreign Office to represent this successful project. In addition, video greetings were sent in German from PASCH schools from places as far away as Peru, Kazakhstan, Ukraine and Colombia.

Many of the PASCH pupils at the meeting want to come to Germany to study. Young Alexandru Badea from Romania would like to combine “law, human rights and journalism,” for example, and Theodora Tiha Loos from Serbia is fascinated by aerospace technology and would like to do research on “solar-powered aeroplanes.”

Language instead of conflict

“Language is immersion in our culture,” emphasizes state minister Maria Böhmer during the panel on Bildung schafft Zukunft (education creates the future) with representatives from government and education. “It awakens curiosity for our country!” Johannes Ebert, the secretary-general of the Goethe-Institut, additionally points out the cross-border impact of the PASCH project. He cites the ecological school initiative Umwelt macht Schule as an example that was recently presented Berlin and which involved pupils from countries such as Kazakhstan, Georgia, Russia and Ukraine.

Secretary-General Johannes Ebert at the Akademie der Künste Secretary-General Johannes Ebert at the Akademie der Künste | Photo: Martin Christopher Welker “Countries that aren’t necessarily friendly,” according to Ebert, “but the focus was on the topic and the language, not on conflict.” Accordingly, he advocated, “don’t stop with PASCH,” but to continue to act as disseminators. German is ultimately being taught at 95,000 schools worldwide hence the networks can still grow.

City occupation or ownership

President Klaus-Dieter Lehmann with President Klaus-Dieter Lehmann with "virtual reality" glasses at the event 360-Grad Theater at the Berliner Festspiele. | Photo: Bernhard Ludewig Foreign Cultural and Educational Policy – often called the “third pillar” of foreign policy – is not limited to language. Educational and cultural partnerships have an impact in a wide variety of social spheres, in particular those negotiating central questions about co-existence, for example, to whom the city belongs. Since 2013, the Goethe-Institut project We-Traders: Swapping Crisis for City, which was presented at the Akademie der Künste during the Long Night of Ideas, has grappled with these issues. Such projects that “involve civil society,” as Ebert stresses, are increasingly important for the cultural work of the Goethe-Institut.

Since 2013 We-Traders, whose artistic directors are the Vienna architecture lecturer Angelika Fitz and the Berlin designer Rose Epple, have explored and networked initiatives from cities such as Lisbon, Madrid and Berlin that are taking ownership of their cities in a wide variety of ways while investigating the fabric between value, profit and the common good. These range from neighbourhood campaigns that make an abandoned piece of land useable to the occupation of public squares such as the Plaza del Sol in Madrid and Taksim Square in Istanbul.

Rivers in Germany and India

We-Traders - Swapping Crisis for City We-Traders - Swapping Crisis for City | Photo: Martin Christopher Welker Angelika Fitz, Rose Epple and Elke Rauth, the director of the “urbanize!” festival in Vienna, have now also published a free, downloadable e-book that was presented for the first time at the Akademie der Künste. We-Traders have long created worldwide alliances. For example, the artist and curator Ravi Agarwal from New Delhi spoke on the Yamuna – Elbe project, which builds a bridge between two rivers that have lost their ecological balance for different reasons and unites artists, environmental activists, landscape planners and scientists together to discuss their futures. “Is the riverside a public space?” Agarwal asks in his talk and points out an enlightening contrast, saying, “In Hamburg the most expensive houses are on the riverbank, in Delhi the poorest.”

Dispute is part of it

The breadth of the subject matter of Foreign Cultural and Educational Policy is demonstrated again on the final day of the Menschen bewegen forum under the motto “Live Culture and Foreign Policy.” Here, the football project by the Goethe-Institut Beirut for Syrian and Lebanese kids is presented next to the lecture by the Saudi artist Abdulnasser Gharam who is fighting for liberties in his home country. Some PASCH pupils are also reporting on their experience in workshops, like Huang Tianyi from China, who joined other twelfth graders to imitate a UN General Assembly. When asked whether there were disputes, Tianyi smiles and replies, “Of course there were. That’s a part of it.”

By Patrick Wildermann



Overview of Goethe-Institut activities as the Foreign Cultural and Educational Policy Forum Menschen bewegen:

13 April.: The panel discussion Bildung schafft Zukunft with Dr Maria Böhmer, minister of state at the Foreign Office; Ulla Schmidt; member and vice president of the Bundestag; Joachim Lauer, director of the Central Agency for German Schools Abroad (ZfA); Johannes Ebert, secretary-general of the Goethe-Institut; Dr Dorothea Rüland, secretary-general des German Academic Exchange Service (DAAD) and Thomas Mayer, representative of the Free State of Bavaria in the Bund-Länder Committee for School Education Abroad, Standing Conference of the Ministers of Education and Cultural Affairs, in the Weltsaal of the Foreign Office

14 April: Workshops for pupils from the PASCH partner school initiative (“Poetry Set to Music” with Kommando Elektrolyrik, the debating contest Jugend debattiert international, a comic workshop “Around the World in Eighty Days” and others)

14 April: Long Night of Ideas

Swapping Crisis for City. New Platforms for International Cultural Dialogue Panel with Johannes Odenthal, programming officer of the Akademie der Künste, Berlin; Johannes Ebert, secretary-general of the Goethe-Institut and Angelika Fitz, designated director of the Architekturzentrum Wien (Akademie der Künste)

360 Grad Theater With Thomas Oberender, director of the Berliner Festspiele; Klaus-Dieter Lehmann, president of the Goethe-Institut and Jan Philip Steimel, artistic director of machina eX (Berliner Festspiele)

Digitale (Spiele) Welten (Deutsches Technikmuseum)

Die Kraft der Kultur – music matters (Tresor) Panel with Dimitri Hegemann, Tresor; Ania Pipilenko, Players of Change; Christoph Borkowsky, Piranha Arts and Johannes Hossfeld, Goethe-Institut

PASCH film night (Cinema Paris)

15 April: Info stand and workshops at the Foreign Cultural and Educational Policy Forum (Station Berlin)

AKBP-Forum Menschen bewegen

PASCH-Schülerinnen mit Andreas Görgen, dem Leiter der Abteilung Kultur und Kommunikation im Auswärtigen Amt und Außenminister Frank-Walter Steinmeier bei der Abschlussveranstaltung von „Menschen bewegen 2016“
PASCH-Schülerinnen mit Andreas Görgen, dem Leiter der Abteilung Kultur und Kommunikation im Auswärtigen Amt und Außenminister Frank-Walter Steinmeier bei der Abschlussveranstaltung von „Menschen bewegen 2016“ | Foto: Bernhard Ludewig

Das Forum der Auswärtigen Kultur- und Bildungspolitik (AKBP) „Menschen bewegen 2016“ hat in Berlin drei Tage lang gezeigt, was Partner wie das Goethe-Institut mit ihren weltweiten Allianzen bewirken – von der Bildungs-Initiative bis zum Stadtentwicklungs-Projekt.
 

Bhavika Sharma ist 17 Jahre alt, stammt aus Delhi und würde gern Maschinenbau in Aachen studieren. Sie spricht ausgezeichnet Deutsch und hat auch ein Lieblingswort, das im Weltsaal des Auswärtigen Amtes in Berlin für viel Gelächter sorgt: „Ellenbogengesellschaft“. Warum sie sich für Deutsch als Fach entschieden hat? „Ich mag Herausforderungen“, entgegnet sie. Entsprechend ist sie auch nicht um eine Antwort verlegen, als sie nach ihrer Meinung zur gegenwärtigen Flüchtlings-Debatte gefragt wird. „Die Aufnahme von Flüchtlingen kann Länder verbinden“, sagt die junge Inderin entschieden.

Welt-Klasse-Schulen

Ausprobieren: Auch kulturelle Projekte des Goethe-Instituts wurden vorgestellt. Hier zeigt die Theatergruppe „Die Stelzer“ ihr Können. Ausprobieren: Auch kulturelle Projekte des Goethe-Instituts wurden vorgestellt. Hier zeigt die Theatergruppe „Die Stelzer“ ihr Können. | Foto: Bernhard Ludewig Von der verbindenden Kraft der Sprache gibt die Veranstaltung „Welt-Klasse! Schule. Bildung. Zukunft“ im Auswärtigen Amt eine lebhafte Vorstellung. Zum Auftakt des Forums „Menschen bewegen 2016“, das in Berlin drei Tage lang eine Plattform für die Auswärtige Kultur- und Bildungspolitik (AKBP) schafft, steht hier die Partnerschul-Initiative PASCH im Fokus. Die vernetzt seit mittlerweile acht Jahren rund 1.800 Schulen weltweit, an denen Deutsch gelernt und gelehrt wird. Rund 350 Schüler, Lehrer und Schulleiter aus 30 Ländern sind im Auswärtigen Amt zusammengekommen, um diesem Erfolgsprojekt ein Gesicht zu geben. Dazu werden deutsche Videogrußbotschaften von PASCH-Schulen zwischen Peru und Kasachstan, der Ukraine und Kolumbien gesendet.

Viele der versammelten PASCH-Schülerinnen und Schüler wünschen sich, zum Studieren nach Deutschland zu gehen. Wie der junge Rumäne Alexandru Badea, der gern „Jura, Menschenrechte und Journalismus“ verbinden würde. Oder die Serbin Theodora Tiha Loos, die sich für Luft- und Raumfahrttechnik begeistert und gern an solargetriebenen Flugzeugen forschen möchte.

Sprache statt Konflikt

„Sprache ist Eintauchen in unsere Kultur“, betont Staatsministerin Maria Böhmer während der Podiumsdiskussion Bildung schafft Zukunft mit Vertretern aus Politik und Bildungswesen. „Sie weckt Neugier auf unser Land!“ Johannes Ebert, Generalsekretär des Goethe-Instituts, verweist zudem auf die grenzüberschreitende Wirkung des PASCH-Projekts. Als Beispiel nennt er die Initiative Umwelt macht Schule, die unlängst in Berlin vorgestellt wurde. Daran waren Schülerinnen und Schüler unter anderem aus Kasachstan, Georgien, Russland oder der Ukraine beteiligt. „Aus Ländern also, die nicht unbedingt befreundet sind“, so Ebert. „Die Schüler haben sich gut verstanden. Das Thema und die Sprache standen im Mittelpunkt. Nicht der Konflikt“.

Generalsekretär Johannes Ebert in der Akademie der Künste Generalsekretär Johannes Ebert in der Akademie der Künste | Foto: Martin Christopher Welker Entsprechend fordert er dazu auf, „mit PASCH nicht stehenzubleiben“, sondern weiter multiplikatorisch zu wirken. Weltweit gibt es schließlich 95.000 Schulen, an denen Deutsch gelehrt wird. Die Netzwerke sind ausbaufähig.

Stadt besetzen oder besitzen

Präsident Klaus-Dieter Lehmann mit Virtual Reality-Brille bei der Veranstaltung 360-Grad Theater in den Berliner Festspielen. Präsident Klaus Dieter Lehmann mit Virtual Reality-Brille bei der Veranstaltung 360-Grad Theater in den Berliner Festspielen. | Foto: Bernhard Ludewig Freilich beschränkt sich die AKBP – gern auch als „dritte Säule“ der Außenpolitik bezeichnet – nicht auf das Feld der Sprache. Bildungs- und Kulturpartnerschaften wirken in den verschiedensten Bereichen der Gesellschaft. Vor allem dort, wo zentrale Fragen des Zusammenlebens verhandelt werden, etwa: Wem gehört die Stadt? Mit dieser Problematik befasst sich seit 2013 das Projekt We-Traders: Tausche Krise gegen Stadt des Goethe-Instituts, das in der Akademie der Künste in der „Langen Nacht der Ideen“ vorgestellt wurde. In der Kulturarbeit des Goethe-Instituts, betont Generalsekretär Ebert, werden zunehmend Projekte wichtig, „die die Zivilgesellschaft einbeziehen“.

WE-Traders – künstlerisch geleitet von der Wiener Architekturdozentin Angelika Fitz und der Berliner Designerin Rose Epple – untersucht und vernetzt seit 2013 Initiativen aus Städten wie Lissabon, Madrid oder Berlin, die auf ganz unterschiedliche Art Besitz von ihrer Stadt ergreifen. Und dabei das Gefüge zwischen Wert, Profit und Gemeinwohl neu ausloten. Das reicht von der Nachbarschafts-Aktion, die ein Stück Brachland nutzbar macht, bis zur Okkupation öffentlicher Plätze, wie auf der Plaza del Sol in Madrid oder dem Taksim-Platz in Istanbul geschehen.

Deutsch-chinesische Flüsse

We-Traders - Tausche Krise gegen Stadt We-Traders - Tausche Krise gegen Stadt | Foto: Martin Christopher Welker Dazu haben Angelika Fitz, Rose Epple und Elke Rauth, die Leiterin des Festivals „urbanize!“ in Wien, nun auch ein E-Book zum kostenlosen Download herausgegeben, das in der Akademie der Künste erstmals vorgestellt wurde. Längst hat We-Traders weltweit Allianzen gestiftet. Der Künstler und Kurator Ravi Agarwal aus Neu-Delhi referiert etwa über das Projekt Yamuna – Elbe. Dieses schlägt die Brücke zwischen zwei Flüssen, die aus unterschiedlichen Gründen ökologisch ins Ungleichgewicht geraten sind und bringt Künstler, Umweltaktivisten, Landschaftsplaner sowie Wissenschaftler in den Austausch über deren Zukunft. „Ist das Flussufer ein öffentlicher Raum?“, fragt Agarwal in seinem Vortrag. Und macht einen erhellenden Kontrast auf: „In Hamburg liegen die teuersten Häuser am Ufer. In Delhi die ärmsten“.

Streit gehört dazu

Wie weit die Themenspanne der AKBP reicht, führt der Abschlusstag des Forums „Menschen bewegen“ in der Station Berlin am Gleisdreieck unter dem Motto Kultur und Außenpolitik live noch einmal vor Augen. Da steht das Fußballprojekt für syrische und libanesische Kinder vom Goethe-Institut Beirut neben dem Vortrag des saudischen Künstlers Abdulnasser Gharam, der in seiner Heimat für Freiräume kämpft. Auch einige PASCH-Schüler berichten von ihren Erfahrungen in Workshops. Wie der chinesische Schüler Huang Tianyi, der mit anderen Zwölftklässlern eine UN-Vollversammlung nachgestellt hat. Ob es auch Streit dabei gab? „Natürlich“, lächelt Tianyi. „Das gehört dazu“.

Von Patrick Wildermann



Übersicht der Aktivitäten des Goethe-Instituts auf dem AKBP-Forum „Menschen bewegen“:

14. April: Workshops für Schüler und Schülerinnen der Partnerschulinitiative PASCH („Vertonte Lyrik" mit Kommando Elektrolyrik, Jugend debattiert international, Comic-Workshop „In achtzig Tagen um die Welt" und andere)

14. April: „Lange Nacht der Ideen“

„Tausche Krise gegen Stadt. Neue Plattformen des internationalen Kulturaustauschs“ Gesprächsrunde mit Johannes Odenthal, Programmbeauftragter der Akademie der Künste, Berlin; Johannes Ebert, Generalsekretär des Goethe-Instituts, Ravi Agarwal (Künstler und Kurator, Neu Delhi) Marilyn Douala Bell (Direktorin Doual’Art, Kamerun) Rose Epple (Designerin Berlin) Angelika Fitz (designierte Direktorin Architekturzentrum Wien) Elke Rauth (Leiterin des internationalen Festivals für urbane Erkundungen urbanize!, Wien) Wilfried Wang (Architekt, Publizist, Berlin)

„360 Grad Theater“ mit Thomas Oberender, Intendant der Berliner Festspiele; Klaus-Dieter Lehmann, Präsident des Goethe-Instituts und Jan Philip Steimel, Künstlerischer Leiter von machina eX (Berliner Festspiele)

„Digitale (Spiele) Welten“ (Deutsches Technikmuseum)
Moderiert von Uke Bosse (Videospieljournalist, Game Design Dozent, Mitglied der Jury des Deutschen Computerspielpreises) diskutieren Friedrich Kirschner (Professor für Digitale Medien im Puppenspiel an der Hochschule für Schauspielkunst „Ernst Busch“) und Christiane Schwinge (Festivalleitung PLAY – Creative Gaming Festival), Mareike Ottrand (Gründerin von Studio Fizbin, Professorin für Interaktive Illustration und Games an der Hochschule für Angewandte Wissenschaften Hamburg), Gunnar Krupp (Rocket Beans TV) und Anna Schweiger-Hassert (Koordinatorin des Projekts „Spieltrieb“ beim Goethe-Institut) über die kulturellen Facetten von Computerspielen.

„Die Kraft der Kultur – music matters“ (Tresor) Paneldiskussion mit Dimitri Hegemann, Tresor; Ania Pipilenko, Projekt Players of Change; Christoph Borkowsky, Piranha Arts und Johannes Hossfeld, Goethe-Institut

PASCH-Filmabend (Cinema Paris)

15. April: Infostand und Workshops auf dem AKBP-Forum (Station Berlin)