Bangalore Artist Residency The Code of the Many-Armed Goddess Kali

artist Tobias Daemgen, current bangaloREsident@Jaaga, electrifies the artistry of the Natya & STEM Dance Kampni with his own opto-acoustic aesthetic.
artist Tobias Daemgen, current bangaloREsident@Jaaga, electrifies the artistry of the Natya & STEM Dance Kampni with his own opto-acoustic aesthetic. | Photo: Sarah Klare

Observations on everyday life during the international cultural exchange of the Goethe-Institut artist residency in Bangalore.

By Ingo Arend

Saskia Groneberg Saskia Groneberg | © Saskia Groneberg The key doesn’t fit. In a terrified moment shortly before midnight, Saskia Groneberg looks desperate, “Are we at the wrong house?” We are standing in a dimly lit cul-de-sac in the Bangalore district of Richmond Town. Jungle-like vegetation surrounds us and the temperature feels like 40 degrees. The door to the flat is jammed. Saskia’s host is not there. The prospect of having to begin her scholarship on the street does not really thrill the Munich artist. Finally, the taxi driver gives the door a good yank and it opens.

A door opener – the moment of relief describes very well what constitutes the Goethe-Institut residency programme in India’s third-largest city. The apartment in which the 31-year-old will live for the next two months belongs to Naresh Narasimhan.

The well-known architect is one of Bangalore’s most important urban planners. If there is anyone who knows something about Lalbagh, the city’s botanical gardens, which is what attracted Groneberg here, it is the passionate cineaste and art friend who designed the VW works in Pune and owns a huge collection of city maps.

A network of 25 hosts

Every year, the Goethe-Institut invites twelve sets of two artists to the capital of Karnataka in southern India. The hosting principle ensures that they do not stay in ivory towers like so many other residencies, but are among the people and within the scene.

The participants of the residency program in Bangalore The participants of the residency program in Bangalore “We don’t do latchkey residencies where the people are given the key to an apartment and then leave two months later without anyone having noticed they were here,” says institute director Christoph Bertrams, who developed the programme in 2011.

The agile 60-year-old and former head of the Goethe-Institut in Cuba and the Goethe Forum in Berlin has woven a web of 25 hosts. He has contacts, from urban scholars to dancers, on hand for every resident. Saskia will therefore not need to waste any time with networking.

With Naresh’s help and that of his architectural office Venkataramanan Associates she can begin immediately to take a critical look at the legend of Bangalore as a “garden city.” During her first stroll through the slightly neglected Lalbagh Park, which Sultan Haider Ali established in 1760, she remarks, “There are a remarkable number of Muslim women here.”

Studio house at the Shanti-Road Studio house at the Shanti-Road | Photo: Ingo Arend That evening, Suresk Jayaram explains that women of that religion, who make up only 14 percent of the Bangalore population, “feel safe” there. Jayaram is an artist and curator who co-founded the city’s Visual Arts Collective. He has set up a small buffet in the studio house on Shanti Road to welcome the new resident. He proudly points out that in this “cosmopolitan community,” artists from India exhibit works alongside those from the nemesis nation of Pakistan.

Bangalore, situated a good 1,700 kilometres south of Delhi on the Deccan Plateau, is perhaps not the hotspot of Goethe artist residencies, but from an artist’s perspective, the city has its advantages. Here, no one needs to grapple with a city of legend as they would in Mumbai or Kolkata.

In the past 15 years, the former provincial city has swollen into a megalopolis that shoots down every contradiction of industrialization and globalization. It owes its rapid growth to India’s Silicon Valley, aerospace engineering, computer technologies and the IT boom.

An influx of creatives and workers for the precarious labour market brought the city without any natural location advantages – neither mountain, river nor trade route – close to collapse. Bangalore has the highest density of motorbikes and the highest suicide rate in India. Its small underground railway system was only built five years ago.

This inhospitable moloch of waste, poverty and ailing infrastructure is certainly the ideal field for creative people of all genres. “There is no positive mobility here,” says Bettina Lockemann, a documentary photographer and a doctor in art history from Cologne, as we laboriously move along the track next to 100 Feet Road.

Beggars, hawkers and cows block the pavement, old women in brightly coloured saris pile stinking rubbish by the trees with their bare hands, a woman balances firewood on her head and every moment one of the brassy, yellow-green rickshaws, without which no one here can get through the chaotic traffic, brushes against the pedestrians.

The search for interculturality

“It’ll probably be something with video,” Bettina Lockemann vaguely describes her project as we scrape out an open coconut at a fruiterer’s. But, she’ll discuss that with her new colleagues at IIHS, the Indian Institute for Human Settlement.

The artists The artists | © bösediva Robin Detje and Elisa Duca from the Berlin theatrical duo bösediva are not yet sure what their performative installation will look like with which they aim to adapt one of their productions for India. But, with its rotting rubbish and teachings of reincarnation, they expect they will be able to find references in India for the transformation of wood into meat and sugar into luck.

In an evening conversation on the balcony of the studio house the duo paraphrases the wait for that crucial point of probably every residency – the moment when the cultures cross-fertilize – saying, “If one could decipher the code of the goddess Kali without exploiting it with a western view, it could be exciting.”

The many-armed goddess symbolizes renewal and destruction. On the next-door lot of rubble, children are playing around a burning pyre of rubbish.

Botanical Garden Lalbagh Botanical Garden Lalbagh | Photo: Ingo Arend The programme in Bangalore is no status symbol like a stay at the Villa Massimo in Rome; it involves neither money, nor prestige, but demonstrates the unspectacular but exciting everyday search for interculturality that goes beyond the Sunday speeches of foreign ministers and cultural attachés.

The next artist residency in Bangalore will begin in November 2016.

Ingo Arend is an arts editor for the taz who focuses on art and history, art and politics as well as the cultural history of Turkey.

The article was published first on taz.de (22.04.2016). © All rights reserved. taz Verlags u. Vertriebs GmbH , Berlin.

Künstlerresidenz Bangalore Der Code der vielarmigen Göttin Kali

Der Künstler Tobias Daemgen, derzeitiger bangaloREsident@Jaaga und die Natya & STEM Dance Kampni
Der Künstler Tobias Daemgen, derzeitiger bangaloREsident@Jaaga und die Natya & STEM Dance Kampni | Foto: Sarah Klare

Backofenhitze, Beschleunigung, Zeichentransfer: Beobachtungen zum Alltag des internationalen Kulturaustauschs während der Künstlerresidenz des Goethe-Instituts in Bangalore.

Von Ingo Arend

Saskia Groneberg Saskia Groneberg | © Saskia Groneberg Der Schlüssel passt nicht. Schrecksekunde kurz vor Mitternacht. Einen Moment schaut Saskia Groneberg verzweifelt: „Sind wir etwa im falschen Haus?“ Wir stehen in einer schummrig beleuchteten Sackgasse im Bangalorer Stadtteil Richmond Town: Dschungelhafte Vegetation ringsherum, gefühlte Temperatur: 40 Grad. Die Wohnungstür klemmt. Saskias „Host“ ist nicht da. Die Aussicht, ihr Stipendium auf der Straße antreten zu müssen, begeistert die Münchener Künstlerin nicht wirklich. Schließlich, der Taxi-Fahrer zieht kräftig, klappt es.

Türöffner – der erleichternde Moment beschreibt ganz gut, was das Residenz-Programm des Goethe-Instituts in Indiens drittgrößter Stadt ausmacht. Denn das Apartment, in dem die 31-Jährige die nächsten zwei Monate wohnen wird, gehört Naresh Narasimhan.

Der bekannte Architekt ist einer der wichtigsten Stadtplaner in Bangalore. Und wenn jemand etwas über Lalbagh, den Botanischen Garten der Stadt, weiß, der Groneberg hierher gelockt hat, dann der leidenschaftliche Cineast und Kunstfreund, der das VW-Werk in Pune geplant hat und eine riesige Sammlung von Stadtplänen besitzt.

Ein Netz aus 25 Gastgebern

Zwei Mal zwölf Künstler lädt das Goethe-Institut jedes Jahr in die Hauptstadt des südindischen Bundestaats Karnataka ein. Und das „Host-Prinzip“ garantiert, dass sie nicht, wie bei so vielen Residencies, im Elfenbeinturm bleiben, sondern unter die Leute, in die Szene kommen.

Die Teilnehmer des Residenzprogramms in Bangalore Die Teilnehmer des Residenzprogramms in Bangalore | Foto: Sarah Klare „Wir machen hier keine Schlüsselresidenzen, wo die Leute einen Apartmentschlüssel in die Hand gedrückt bekommen und ein paar Monate später hauen sie ab, ohne dass jemand etwas von ihnen mitbekommen hat“, sagt Instituts-Chef Christoph Bertrams, der das Programm 2011 entwickelt hat.

Ein Netz von 25 „Hosts“ hat der agile 60-jährige, der in Kuba das Goethe-Institut und in Berlin das Goethe-Forum leitete, in Bangalore gewoben. Vom Stadtforscher bis zur Tänzerin hat er für jeden „Resident“ einen Ansprechpartner parat. Saskia wird also keine Zeit mit Networking verschwenden müssen.

Mit Nareshs Hilfe und der seines Architektenbüros Venkataramanan Associates kann sie direkt damit loslegen, den Mythos von Bangalore als „Gartenstadt“ kritisch zu durchleuchten. „Auffällig viele Musliminnen hier“, bemerkt sie beim ersten Spaziergang in dem leicht verwahrlosten Lalbagh-Park, den Sultan Haider Ali 1760 in der Stadt anlegen ließ.

Am Abend erklärt ihr Suresk Jayaram, dass sich die Frauen der Religionsgemeinschaft, zu der sich gerade mal 14 Prozent der Bangalorer zählen, dort „sicher fühlen“. Der Künstler und Kurator hat das Visual Art Collectiv der Stadt mitbegründet.

Atelierhaus an der Shanti-Road Atelierhaus an der Shanti-Road | Foto: Ingo Arend Zur Begrüßung der neuen Stipendiaten hat er im verwinkelten Atelierhaus an der Shanti-Road ein kleines Buffet aufgebaut. Stolz verweist er darauf, dass in dieser „cosmopolitain community“ Künstler aus Indien gemeinsam mit solchen aus dem tödlich verfeindeten Pakistan ausstellen.

Bangalore, gut 1.700 Kilometer südlich von Delhi auf dem Dekkan-Plateau gelegen, ist vielleicht nicht der Hotspot der Goethe-Künstlerresidenzen. Aus Künstlersicht hat die Stadt aber Vorteile. Hier muss sich niemand an einem Mythos abarbeiten, wie in Mumbai oder Kolkata.

In den letzten 15 Jahren ist die einstige Provinzstadt zu einer Megalopole angeschwollen, in der alle Widersprüche von Industrialisierung und Globalisierung zusammenschießen. Ihr Wucherwachstum verdankt das „Silicon Valley Indiens“ der Raumfahrt-, der Computertechnologie und dem IT-Boom.

Der Zustrom kreativer, prekärer Arbeitskräfte hat die Stadt ohne natürliche Standortvorteile – einen Berg, Fluss oder eine Handelsroute – an den Rand des Kollapses geführt. Bangalore hat die höchste Motorraddichte und die höchste Suizidrate in Indien. Erst seit fünf Jahren existiert eine kleine Metro.

Dieser unwirtliche Moloch aus Müll, Armut und maroder Infrastruktur ist freilich das ideale Feld für Kreative jeden Genres: „Hier gibt es keine positive Mobilität“ befindet Bettina Lockemann, Dokumentarfotografin und promovierte Kunstwissenschaftlerin aus Köln, als wir uns mühsam den Weg entlang der 100-Feet-Road bahnen.

Bettler, Straßenhändler und Kühe versperren den Bürgersteig, Greisinnen in grellbunten Saris türmen mit bloßen Händen stinkenden Müll an die Bäume, eine Frau balanciert Brennholz auf dem Kopf, jeden Moment streift den Fußgänger eine der blechernen, gelb-grünen Rikschas, ohne die hier niemand durch das Verkehrschaos kommt.

Die Suche nach Interkulturalität

„Irgendetwas mit Video wird es wohl werden“ erahnt Bettina Lockemann ihr Projekt vage, als wir bei einem Obsthändler eine aufgeschlagene Kokosnuss ausschaben. Aber das wird sie noch mit ihren neuen Kollegen im IIHS, dem Indian Institute for Human Settlement, diskutieren.

Das Künstlerduo bösediva Das Künstlerduo bösediva | © bösediva Wie genau ihre „performative Installation“ aussehen wird, mit der sie eine ihrer Inszenierungen indisch adaptieren wollen, wissen auch Robin Detje und Elisa Duca vom Berliner Theaterduo „bösediva“ noch nicht. Aber für die Verwandlung von Holz zu Fleisch und Zucker zu Glück dürften sie im Indien des wesenden Mülls und der Reikarnationslehren vermutlich Referenzen finden.

„Wenn man den Code der Göttin Kali dafür entschlüsseln könnte, ohne ihn mit westlichem Blick auszubeuten, könnte es spannend werden“ umschreibt das Duo beim abendlichen Gespräch auf dem Balkon des Atelierhauses das Warten auf den Knackpunkt vermutlich jeder Residenz – den Moment einer wechselseitigen Befruchtung der Kulturen.

Die vielarmige Göttin symbolisiert Erneuerung und Zerstörung. Auf dem Trümmergrundstück nebenan spielen Kinder um einen brennenden Scheiterhaufen, auf dem Abfall verbrannt wird.

Botanischer Garten Lalbagh Botanischer Garten Lalbagh | Foto: Ingo Arend Das Programm in Bangalore ist kein Statussymbol wie ein Aufenthalt in der Villa Massimo in Rom, es bedeutet weder Geld noch Prestige, sondern demonstriert den unspektakulären, aber spannenden Alltag der Suche nach Interkulturalität – jenseits der Sonntagsreden von Außenministern und Kulturattachées.

Die nächste Künstlerresidenz in Bangalore startet im November 2016.

Ingo Arend ist Kunstredakteur der taz mit den Schwerpunkten Kunst und Geschichte, Kunst und Politik sowie der Kulturgeschichte der Türkei.


Der Artikel erschien zuerst in der TAZ (22.04.2016). © Alle Rechte vorbehalten. taz Verlags u. Vertriebs GmbH. Berlin