Kultursymposium Weimar In the Home Stretch

The team has to do final preparations
The team has to do final preparations | Photo: Loredana LaRocca

It’s another two weeks before the sharing and exchanging starts in Weimar from a great variety of perspectives. From 1 to 3 June, activists and academics such as Jeremy Rifkin, Tomáš Sedlácek and Eva Illouz will get together to reflect on “The Sharing Game.” The five members of the project team shared their personal highlights with us.


Andreas Ströhl Andreas Ströhl | Photo: Loredana LaRocca Andreas Ströhl, project manager of the Kultursymposium Weimar, is working with ardour on the final details and eagerly awaits the opening:

My personal tip for visitors to the Kultursymposium is to attend the opening in the Weimarhalle on 1 June, where the Czech economist Tomáš Sedláček will explain why the economy needs culture as a “meta-economy” that lends it meaning. And Martin Schick’s performance Halfbreadttechnique on 3 June that will tempt cast members and the audience into astonishing types of sharing.

 
Eva Lämmerhirt Eva Lämmerhirt | Photo: Loredana LaRocca Eva Lämmerhirt, administrator, is making sure that all of the participants have a roof over their heads.
 
Visitors can look forward to artistic formats, discussions and exciting participants from around the world. The festival structure offers lots of simultaneous events, all of which are worthwhile. Personally, I am very excited about the Italian political scientist Antonio Negri, who represents the neo-Marxist trend of Operaism, as well as the performance Usland.
 
 
Nikolai Blaumer Nikolai Blaumer | Photo: Loredana LaRocca Nikolai Blaumer, consultant, is coordinating the 70 events and generously shares his programme tip with us:
 
Visitors can look forward to an informal, stimulating atmosphere. For three days, young academics and activists will be given the opportunity to converse with artists and intellectuals from around the world. I am especially looking forward to an event with the New York philosopher Philip Kitcher, the primate researcher Christopher Boesch and the behavioural biologist Sabine Tebbich. They will explore what it means to share selflessly and how the skill began.


Marie Golenia Marie Golenia | Photo: Loredana LaRocca Marie Golenia, intern, is producing the programme booklet to ensure everyone can stay on top of things:
 
My event tip is “The Long Night of Sharing and Exchange” on the final evening of the symposium. After being discussed so much over the previous days, the subject will be made tangible with a kind of “mini festival.”
 
 



Elisabeth Tobisch, trainee, is already holding the fort in Weimar and coordinating artist contributions:
 
I am especially looking forward to the “Long Night of Sharing and Exchange,” which will close the symposium by bringing together many, mostly artistic contributions.

Kultursymposium Weimar Auf der Zielgeraden

Das Team bei den letzten Vorbereitungen
Das Team bei den letzten Vorbereitungen | Foto: Loredana LaRocca

Zwei Wochen noch, bis in Weimar getauscht und geteilt wird – und zwar aus den unterschiedlichsten Blickwinkeln. Vom 1. bis zum 3. Juni treffen Aktivisten und Wissenschaftler wie Jeremy Rifkin, Tomáš Sedlácek und Eva Illouz aufeinander, um das Thema „Teilen und Tauschen“ zu reflektieren. Das fünfköpfige Projektteam verrät seine persönlichen Höhepunkte.


Andreas Ströhl Andreas Ströhl | Foto: Loredana LaRocca Andreas Ströhl, Projektleiter des Kultursymposiums Weimar, arbeitet an den letzten Planungpunkten und fiebert der Eröffnung entgegen:

Die Eröffnung in der Weimarhalle am 1. Juni, bei der der tschechische Ökonom Tomáš Sedláček erklären wird, weshalb die Ökonomie die Kultur als sinnstiftende „Metaökonomie“ benötigt, ist mein persönlicher Tipp für Besucher des Kultursymposiums. Und Martin Schicks Performance Halfbreadtechnique am 3. Juni, in der Mitwirkende und Publikum zu erstaunlichen Arten des Teilens verführt werden.


Eva Lämmerhirt Eva Lämmerhirt | Foto: Loredana LaRocca Eva Lämmerhirt, Sachbearbeiterin, kümmert sich gerade darum, dass alle Teilnehmer ein Dach über dem Kopf haben:

Die Besucher können sich auf künstlerische Formate, Diskussionen und spannende Teilnehmer aus der ganzen Welt freuen. Durch die Festivalstruktur gibt es viele gleichzeitige Veranstaltungen, die alle lohnenswert sind. Ich persönlich bin sehr gespannt auf den italienischen Politikwissenschaftler Antonio Negri, der die neomarxistische Strömung des Operaismus vertritt, aber auch auf die Performance Usland.


  Nikolai Blaumer Nikolai Blaumer | Foto: Loredana LaRocca Nikolai Blaumer, Referent, koordiniert die 70 Veranstaltungen und teilt selbstlos seinen Programmtipp:

Die Besucher können sich auf eine ungezwungene, anregende Atmosphäre freuen. Junge Wissenschaftler und Aktivisten werden an drei Tagen die Gelegenheit haben, mit Künstlern und Intellektuellen aus aller Welt ins Gespräch zu kommen. Ich freue mich ganz besonders auf eine Veranstaltung mit dem New Yorker Wissenschaftsphilosophen Philip Kitcher, dem Primatenforscher Christopher Boesch und der Verhaltensbiologin Sabine Tebbich. Sie fragen danach, was es heißt, selbstlos zu teilen und wie diese Fähigkeit in die Welt kam.


Marie Golenia Marie Golenia | Foto: Loredana LaRocca Marie Golenia, Praktikantin, sorgt mit dem Programmheft dafür, dass jeder den Überblick behält:

Mein Veranstaltungstipp: „Die Lange Nacht des Teilens und Tauschens“ am letzten Abend des Symposiums. In einer Art „Mini-Festival“ wird das Thema, über das in den Tagen zuvor so viel geredet und diskutiert wurde, erlebbar gemacht.





Elisabeth Tobisch, Volontärin, hält bereits in Weimar die Stellung und koordiniert künstlerische Beiträge:

Besonders freue ich mich auf die „Lange Nacht des Teilens und Tauschens“, die als Abschluss des Symposiums zahlreiche, vor allem künstlerische Beiträge zusammenführen wird.