Myanmar “Education has the top priority”

Exhibitions, readings, concerts - the cultural program of the Goethe Institute in Yangon generates great interest.
Exhibitions, readings, concerts - the cultural program of the Goethe Institute in Yangon generates great interest. | Photo: Goethe-Institut Myanmar

The Goethe-Institut Myanmar was shut down for fifty years until its reopening was celebrated two years ago. Founded in 1959, the institute was forced to stop working after only three years following the coup by General Ne Wins. The political reforms that began in 2011 opened the pathway for its reestablishment. We spoke with institute director Franz Xaver Augustin about the dialogue with Myanmar artists, the role played by the media and the consequences of the election victory by the opposition party NLD.

Mr Augustin, when you look back on it, what moments influenced your time in Myanmar the most?

Franz Xaver Augustin Franz Xaver Augustin | Photo: May Co Naing The lack of a signature on the lease for the future building of the institute lost us some sleep. Until now, our office and the classrooms are still housed temporarily at the Institut Français. But we are all now looking forward to the 100-year-old villa near the Great Pagoda where we will work in the future. Even without renovations it is a splendid place for all sorts of programmes, from the now legendary Berlin club nights to numerous exhibitions, mainly by artists from Myanmar and Southeast Asia.

Htein Lin’s Storyteller was probably the most significant exhibition. Like so many other political activists, the artist was incarcerated for many years. His works are a monument to all prisoners and processed their experience in the dungeons of the regime. He began many of his works while still in captivity. Htein Lin painted on the cloth of prison uniforms, with paints that some merciful guards allowed in. As tools he used his fingers, small branches, needles, lighters, glass shards. The Storyteller was one of the most important art events in Yangon in recent years. Thousands of visitors came, were touched by the impressive work and spoke with one another about what happened over evening-long discussions.

The Storyteller The Storyteller | © Goethe-Institut e.V./Myanmar
A very political exhibition … Were there any problems organizing it?

I worked for many years in Vietnam and Indonesia. By comparison, in Myanmar I’ve experienced surprising freedom for the work of the Goethe-Institut. I never had the impression that we are being critically observed or even censored. Art must be political in a country that is changing so radically. Both issues of the future and the past demand attention and need to be expressed.

There is no doubt that the old forces in the military are still pulling strings in the background. But the media are largely free and amazingly diverse. The bigger problem today is that there are not enough experienced journalists who know how to take advantage of the new freedoms.

Is this freedom linked to the 2015 elections?

The Goethe-Villa in Myanmar The Goethe-Villa in Myanmar | © Goethe-Institut e.V./Myanmar The real new beginning was actually the year 2011. The reforms introduced then came from above and from the inside: The release of most political prisoners, the new political and economic freedoms and the opening to world politics. The people responded to the sudden economic dynamism with confidence and optimism and the first genuinely free elections of 2015 were perceived as a consistent continuation of the course taken since 2011.

People are investing, building, renovating. In any case, the new government is faced with a mountain of challenges; the greatest is likely to be putting an end to the fighting in the minority regions, also a new tax system to facilitate the urgently needed public investments in the health system and in education, which has been neglected for decades.

Under these circumstances, what role does the Goethe-Institut in Yangon need to play?

The city’s cultural infrastructure is quite poor. To organize concerts or festivals you have rent expensive auditoriums. It is therefore so crucial that we will soon have our own house with meeting facilities, sophisticated technology and equipment.

Naturally, education in the broadest sense has the top priority in our work. Information and assistance for young people with regard to studies or non-academic training in Germany are very essential. We anticipate that the German offer will very quickly meet with great interest.

Alongside the exchange between visual artists from Myanmar and Europe I mentioned earlier, this focus on media educational programmes is certainly the most worthwhile.

Can you tell us about them?

The training of young musicians is one of the priorities of the Goethe Institute Myanmar. The training of young musicians is one of the priorities of the Goethe Institute Myanmar. | © Goethe-Institut e.V./Myanmar From the very beginning, we supported training for documentary filmmakers and musicians in all genres. The major accent is on making knowledge accessible. The production of the TV children’s knowledge magazine “I got it” in Burmese has proved very effective. Experts from the German broadcasters ZDF and WDR advised the largest local broadcaster and helped the young editors develop the content.

Our latest project, a multimedia magazine for young people aged 15 and over called YOPE (for YOung PEople), is also on this track. It revolves around culture, lifestyle and politics. The first episode’s trial run on Facebook immediately reached almost half a million people.

What was the subject matter?

There was a report and survey of young women on harassment in public transport. Such questions are not discussed in public anywhere else. That is why the topic is so vital for young people.

Earlier, you mentioned the lack of education, the inexperience among journalists – how can such a large multimedia project be tackled under these circumstances?

I admire the international team’s energy and patience. Everything – from the script to shooting to editing and moderation – is developed from scratch, step by step with the young Myanmar journalists and discussed repeatedly. The first shows are finished. The first episode was broadcasted on television and online on 1 July.

YOPE YOPE | © Goethe Institut e.V./Myanmar In-depth coaching by the trainers will certainly be necessary for the future broadcasts as well because the initially weekly program will gradually be increased to daily frequency. Much now depends on the success of the first episodes of YOPE and the sponsors’ approval. Even if the level of training of young journalists is rather modest at the moment, I haven’t seen such a serious willingness to learn and openness to new ideas among young people anywhere else in Southeast Asia as I have here.

Are the young people in Myanmar interested in German culture? What do they know about Germany?

They have practically no knowledge of Germany; besides the classic clichés about our country, which unfortunately also involve the chap with the Chaplin moustache, we cannot expect much. But what I said before applies here as well: When well presented, information about Germany and Europe meet with great interest: film, music, dance – whatever we offer, a full house is certain as well as attentive media that are not spoilt with plenty of cultural events.


Katrin Baumer asked the questions

Myanmar „Bildung hat oberste Priorität“

Ausstellungen, Lesungen, Konzerte - das Kulturprogramm des Goethe-Instituts in Yangon stößt auf großes Interesse.
Ausstellungen, Lesungen, Konzerte - das Kulturprogramm des Goethe-Instituts in Yangon stößt auf großes Interesse. | Foto: Goethe-Institut Myanmar

50 Jahre lang war das Goethe-Institut Myanmar geschlossen, vor zwei Jahren wurde die Wiedereröffnung gefeiert. Das 1959 gegründete Institut musste nach dem Putsch General Ne Wins nach nur drei Jahren seine Arbeit einstellen. Die politischen Reformen seit 2011 machten den Weg zur Neugründung frei. Institutsleiter Franz Xaver Augustin über den Austausch mit burmesischen Künstlern, die Rolle der Medien und die Folgen des Wahlsiegs der Oppositionspartei NLD.

Herr Augustin, wenn Sie zurückblicken – welche Momente haben Ihre Zeit in Myanmar am meisten geprägt?

Franz Xaver Augustin Franz Xaver Augustin | Foto: May Co Naing Lange hat uns die fehlende Unterschrift unter dem Mietvertrag für das künftige Gebäude des Instituts manch schlecht geschlafene Nacht bereitet. Bisher sind unser Büro und die Unterrichtsräume noch provisorisch im Institut Français untergebracht. Doch alles schaut schon jetzt auf die 100 Jahre alte Villa nahe der großen Pagode, wo wir in Zukunft arbeiten werden. Auch im unrenovierten Zustand ist dies ein famoser Ort für Programme aller Art, von mittlerweile legendären „Berliner Clubnächten“ bis zu zahlreichen Ausstellungen, hauptsächlich von Künstlern aus Myanmar und Südostasien.

Die wohl bedeutendste Ausstellung war Htein Lins Storyteller. Der Künstler war – wie so viele andere politische Aktivisten – über Jahre eingesperrt. Mit seinen Werken setzt er allen Mitgefangenen ein Denkmal und verarbeitet deren Erfahrungen in den Kerkern des Regimes. Viele Arbeiten entstanden bereits in der Gefangenschaft. Htein Lin malte auf Stoff von Häftlingskleidung, mit Farben, die gnädige Wärter passieren ließen. Als Werkzeug benutzte er seine Finger, kleine Äste, Injektionsnadeln, Feuerzeuge, Glasscherben. The Storyteller dürfte eines der bedeutendsten Kunstereignisse im Yangon der letzten Jahre gewesen sein. Tausende von Besuchern kamen, waren berührt von den eindrücklichen Arbeiten und tauschten sich in abendelangen Diskussionen über das Gesehene aus.

The Storyteller The Storyteller | © Goethe-Institut e.V./Myanmar
Eine sehr politische Ausstellung also … Gab es keine Probleme bei der Organisation?

Ich war lange in Vietnam und Indonesien tätig. Im Vergleich zu dort erlebe ich in Myanmar eine überraschende Freizügigkeit, was die Arbeit des Goethe-Instituts angeht. Ich hatte nie den Eindruck, dass wir kritisch beobachtet oder gar zensiert werden. Kunst in einem Land, das sich so radikal verändert, muss politisch sein. Sowohl die Fragen der Zukunft als auch die der Vergangenheit drängen sich auf und wollen zum Ausdruck gebracht werden.

Dass im Hintergrund immer noch die alten Kräfte im Militär viele Fäden in der Hand halten, steht außer Zweifel. Doch sind die Medien weitgehend frei und erstaunlich vielfältig. Das größere Problem ist heute, dass es gar nicht genügend erfahrene Journalisten und Journalistinnen gibt, die die neuen Freiräume zu nutzen wissen.

Hängen diese Freiräume mit den Wahlen von 2015 zusammen?

Die Goethe-Villa in Myanmar Die Goethe-Villa in Myanmar | © Goethe-Institut e.V./Myanmar Der eigentliche Neubeginn fand tatsächlich schon 2011 statt. Die damals eingeleiteten Reformen kamen von oben und von innen: Die Freilassung der meisten politischen Gefangenen, die neuen politischen und wirtschaftlichen Freiheiten und die Öffnung in die Weltpolitik. Die Menschen reagierten auf die plötzliche wirtschaftliche Dynamik mit Zuversicht und Optimismus, und die tatsächlich erstmals freien Wahlen von 2015 wurden als konsequente Fortsetzung des seit 2011 eingeschlagenen Kurses wahrgenommen.

Es wird investiert, gebaut, renoviert. In jedem Fall sieht sich die neue Regierung vor einem gewaltigen Berg an Herausforderungen: Die größte davon dürfte die Beendigung der Kämpfe in den Minderheitengebieten sein, außerdem ein neues Steuersystem um die so dringend nötigen öffentlichen Investitionen in das Gesundheitswesen und die über Jahrzehnte vernachlässigte Bildung möglich zu machen.

Welche Rolle kommt in dieser Situation dem Goethe-Institut in Yangon zu?

Die kulturelle Infrastruktur der Stadt ist recht dürftig. Um Konzerte oder Filmfestivals zu veranstalten, muss man teure Säle mieten. Gerade vor diesem Hintergrund ist es so wichtig, dass wir bald unser eigenes Haus mit Veranstaltungsraum haben, dazu hochwertige Technik und Ausstattung.

Dass Bildung im weitesten Sinn oberste Priorität in unserer Arbeit zukommt, liegt auf der Hand. Ganz wesentlich sind die Informationen und die Hilfestellungen für junge Menschen im Hinblick auf ein Studium oder eine nichtakademische Ausbildung in Deutschland. Es lässt sich absehen, dass das deutsche Angebot sehr schnell auf großes Interesse stoßen wird.

Neben dem anfangs angesprochenen Austausch zwischen Bildenden Künstlern aus Myanmar und Europa ist dieser Fokus auf mediale Bildungsangebote sicher das lohnendste Feld.

Wie sehen diese Angebote konkret aus?

Die Ausbildung junger Musiker ist einer der Schwerpunkte des Goethe-Instituts Myanmar. Die Ausbildung junger Musiker ist einer der Schwerpunkte des Goethe-Instituts Myanmar. | © Goethe-Institut e.V./Myanmar Von Anfang an haben wir die Ausbildung von Dokumentarfilmern und Musikern aller Stilrichtungen unterstützt. Der dritte große Akzent liegt auf dem Aspekt „Zugang zum Wissen“. Sehr bewährt hat sich die Produktion des TV-Wissensmagazins „I got it“ für Kinder, einer Art „Sendung mit der Maus“ auf Burmesisch, bei der Experten von ZDF und WDR den größten lokalen Sender beraten und mit jungen Redakteuren die Inhalte entwickeln.

Auf dieser Spur liegt auch das neueste Projekt eines multimedialen Magazins für junge Leute ab 15 Jahren: YOPE (YOung PEople). Es dreht sich um Kultur, Lifestyle und Politik – die erste probeweise über Facebook verbreitete Folge erreichte auf Anhieb fast eine halbe Million Menschen.

Um welches Thema ging es?

Es war eine Reportage und Umfrage unter jungen Frauen zum Thema Belästigung in öffentlichen Verkehrsmitteln. Solche Fragen werden sonst nirgends in der Öffentlichkeit diskutiert. Gerade deshalb ist das Thema für junge Menschen so brisant.

Sie erwähnten vorher das mangelnde Bildungssystem, die Unerfahrenheit von Journalisten – wie kann denn ein so großes multimediales Projekt unter diesen Umständen gestemmt werden?

Ich bewundere die Energie und die Geduld des internationalen Teams. Alles – vom Skript über die Aufnahmen bis zum Schnitt und zur Moderation – wird von Grund auf Schritt für Schritt mit den jungen burmesischen Journalistinnen und Journalisten erarbeitet und immer wieder durchgesprochen. Die ersten Sendungen sind jetzt fertig. Am 1. Juli ist die erste Folge im Fernsehen und online gesendet worden.

YOPE YOPE | © Goethe Institut e.V./Myanmar Das eingehende Coaching durch die Trainer wird sicher noch für die künftigen Sendungen nötig sein. Denn die anfangs wöchentliche Sendung soll langsam auf eine tägliche Frequenz gesteigert werden. Vieles hängt nun ab vom Erfolg der ersten Folgen von YOPE und dem Zuspruch der Sponsoren. Auch wenn der Ausbildungsstand der jungen Journalisten im Moment eher bescheiden ist, habe ich in Südostasien nirgendwo sonst eine so ernsthafte Lernbereitschaft und Offenheit für alles Neue unter jungen Menschen erlebt wie hier.

Interessieren sich die jungen Menschen in Myanmar für die deutsche Kultur? Was wissen sie über Deutschland?

Der Kenntnisstand tendiert bei den meisten gegen Null; außer den klassischen Klischées über unser Land, zu denen leider auch der Kerl mit dem Chaplin-Bärtchen gehört, darf man nicht viel voraussetzen. Doch gilt das gerade Gesagte auch hier: Gut präsentiert, stoßen Informationen über Deutschland und Europa auf breites Interesse: Film, Musik, Tanz – was immer wir anbieten, die vollen Häuser sind gewiss, und dazu noch aufmerksame Medien, die nicht verwöhnt sind von vielen kulturellen Ereignissen.


Die Fragen stellte Katrin Baumer