Goethe Medal Congratulations!

The awardees of the Goethe Medal 2016: Akinbode Akinbiyi, Juri Andruchowytsch, David Lordkipanidze
The awardees of the Goethe Medal 2016: Akinbode Akinbiyi, Juri Andruchowytsch, David Lordkipanidze | Photo: Maik Schuck

What can culture contribute to international understanding? How can we promote intercultural dialogue? Yurii Andrukhovych, Akinbode Akinbiyi and David Lordkipanidze offer impressive answers to these questions. On 28 August, the three cultural professionals were honoured for this with the Goethe Medal in Weimar.

“Migration of Cultures – Cultures of Migration” was the motto of the conferment of the 2016 Goethe Medal. Klaus-Dieter Lehmann, the president of the Goethe-Institut, awarded the official decoration of the Federal Republic of Germany to photographer Akinbode Akinbiyi, writer Yurii Andrukhovych and museum director David Lordkipanidze. Lehmann said, “Each year, the conferment of the Goethe Medal in Schloss Weimar on Goethe’s birthday is a highlight for the appreciation of cultural dialogue, for equal and independent meeting of cultures and their active mediation. Our human life is primarily cultural. It is therefore worthwhile to tackle social conflicts on the path of cultural convergence.”



Yurii Andrukhovych

The writer, poet, essayist and translator Yurii Andrukhovych is considered one of the most important intellectual voices of Ukraine. He advocates convergence between Western and Eastern Europe, translates German poets such as Rainer Maria Rilke into Ukrainian and familiarizes German readers with his homeland through his own writing.



In her laudatory speech for Andrukhovych, the translator Sabine Stöhr said, “He draws from multiple sources and combines them into a distinctive tone. This is how he brought Ukrainian literature out of its classical ossification and Soviet-Ukrainian provincialism in the 1980s. He gave it back its mischievous grin and opened it to the diverse impressions and influences of Europe and the world. And he reclaimed Ukrainian literature’s place in Europe. In this way – and not only in his political thinking – Yurii Andrukhovych was and is avant-garde.”

Akinbode Akinbiyi

Akinbode Akinbiyi is one of the most prominent African photographers worldwide. His focuses are reportage, architectural and cultural photography, his pictures have been shown at biennials and exhibitions. With his photos, Akinbiyi is able to bring everyday, urban life in Africa to life for viewers.



The artist Eva Leitolf, who held the laudatory speech for Akinbiyi, described Akinbiyi’s work as contributions to the migration of cultures, saying, “Understanding photographing as a process of negotiation, of exchange – beyond “shooting” or “taking” pictures – characterises Akinbiyi’s work and makes it a pioneering and radical project based on a highly expanded concept of photography. His interest in his subjects is not content to create wonderfully cryptic compositions and to suggest complex contexts.”

David Lordkipanidze

As one of the most prestigious paleoanthropologists and archaeologists worldwide, the director general of the Georgian National Museum, David Lordkipanidze, works to advance cultural and educational policies in Georgia and has made a decisive contribution to German-Georgian cultural relations. He lastingly spurred on the modernization of Georgian museums.



In his acceptance speech, Lordkipanidze discussed the constant evolution of culture, stating, “Today, looking on the development of the processes in the modern world, Goethe’s words are still actual: In nature we never see anything isolated, but everything in connection with something else which is before it, beside it, under it and over it. My country, Georgia, is also part of these processes, using science and culture in the first place to be connected to the rest of the world – to be part of the whole world.”

Left to right: Stefan Wolf, Heike Taubert, Klaus-Dieter Lehmann, Akinbode Akinbiyi, Juri Andruchowytsch, Johannes Ebert, Friederike Fless, Eva Leitolf, David Lordkipanidze, Andreas Görgen, Sabine Stöhr, Christina von Braun. Left to right: Stefan Wolf, Heike Taubert, Klaus-Dieter Lehmann, Akinbode Akinbiyi, Juri Andruchowytsch, Johannes Ebert, Friederike Fless, Eva Leitolf, David Lordkipanidze, Andreas Görgen, Sabine Stöhr, Christina von Braun. | Photo: Maik Schuck

Goethe-Medaille Herzlichen Glückwunsch!

Die Preisträger der Goethe-Medaille 2016 v.l.n.r. Akinbode Akinbiyi, Juri Andruchowytsch, David Lordkipanidze
Die Preisträger der Goethe-Medaille 2016 v.l.n.r. Akinbode Akinbiyi, Juri Andruchowytsch, David Lordkipanidze | Foto: Maik Schuck

Was kann Kultur zur internationalen Verständigung beitragen und wie kann der interkulturelle Austausch gefördert werden? Juri Andruchowytsch, Akinbode Akinbiy und David Lordkipanidze geben eindrucksvolle Antworten auf diese Fragen. Am 28. August wurden die drei Kulturschaffenden dafür in Weimar mit der Goethe-Medaille geehrt.

„Migration der Kulturen – Kulturen der Migration“ war das Schwerpunktthema der Verleihung der Goethe-Medaille 2016. Der Präsident des Goethe-Instituts, Klaus-Dieter Lehmann, übergab das offizielle Ehrenzeichen der Bundesrepublik Deutschland an den nigerianischen Fotografen Akinbode Akinbiyi, den Schriftsteller Juri Andruchowytsch und den georgischen Museumsdirektor David Lordkipanidze:

„Jedes Jahr ist die Verleihung der Goethe-Medaille im Weimarer Stadtschloss an Goethes Geburtstag ein Glanzpunkt in der Wertschätzung des kulturellen Dialogs, der gleichwertigen und eigenständigen Begegnung von Kulturen und ihrer aktiven Vermittlung. Unser menschliches Leben ist in erster Linie eine kulturelle Leistung. Deshalb lohnt es sich, gesellschaftliche Auseinandersetzungen auf dem Weg der kulturellen Annäherung anzugehen.“



Juri Andruchowytsch

Der Schriftsteller, Dichter, Essayist und Übersetzer Juri Andruchowytsch gilt als eine der wichtigsten intellektuellen Stimmen der Ukraine. Er engagiert sich für die Annäherung von West- und Osteuropa, übersetzt deutsche Dichter wie Rainer Maria Rilke ins Ukrainische und macht mit seiner eigenen schriftstellerischen Arbeit das deutsche Publikum mit seinem Heimatland bekannt.



In ihrer Laudatio sagte die Übersetzerin Sabine Stöhr über Andruchowytsch: „Er schöpft aus vielfältigen Quellen und fügt sie zu einem unverwechselbaren Ton zusammen. So hat er die ukrainische Literatur in den 1980er-Jahren aus ihrer klassischen Erstarrung und sowjetukrainischen Provinzialität herausgeführt. Er hat ihr das schelmische Lachen zurückgegeben und sie geöffnet für die vielfältigen Eindrücke und Einflüsse Europas und der Welt. Und er hat der ukrainischen Literatur ihren Platz in Europa zurückerobert. Auch damit – und nicht nur in seinem politischen Denken – war und ist Juri Andruchowytsch Avantgarde.“

Akinbode Akinbiyi

Akinbode Akinbiyi ist eine der profiliertesten afrikanischen Fotografen weltweit. Seine Schwerpunkte sind Reportage-, Architektur- und Kulturfotografie, seine Werke wurden im Rahmen verschiedener Biennalen und Ausstellungen präsentiert. Akinbiyi schafft es, mit seinen Aufnahmen den Betrachtenden das alltägliche und urbane Leben in Afrika näherzubringen.



Die Künstlerin Eva Leitlof, die die Laudatio auf Akinbiyi hielt, beschrieb Akinbiyis Werke als Bewegung zwischen den Kulturen: „Das Fotografieren als einen Prozess des Verhandelns, des Austausches zu begreifen – jenseits des Bilder-‚schießens‘ oder des englischen ‚to take a picture‘ – kennzeichnet seine Arbeit und macht sie zu einem wegweisenden und radikalen Projekt, dem ein stark erweiterter Fotografiebegriff zugrunde liegt. Sein Interesse an seinen Sujets begnügt sich nicht damit, wunderbar hintersinnige Kompositionen zu schaffen und vielschichtige Sinnzusammenhänge anzudeuten.“

David Lordkipanidze

Als einer der renommiertesten Paläoanthropologen und Archäologen weltweit engagiert sich der Direktor des Georgischen Nationalmuseums, David Lordkipanidze, für Kultur- und Bildungspolitik in Georgien und leistete einen entscheidenden Beitrag für die deutsch-georgischen Kulturbeziehungen. Er initiierte die Modernisierung des georgischen Museumswesens nachhaltig.



In seiner Dankesrede ging Lordkipanidze auf die permanente Entwicklung der Kultur ein: „Heute, in einer global vernetzten Welt, klingen Goethes Worte hochaktuell ‚in der lebendigen Natur geschieht nichts, was nicht in einer Verbindung mit dem Ganzen stehe, und wenn die Erfahrungen nur isoliert erscheinen, wenn wir die Versuche nur als isolierte Fakta anzusehen haben, so wird dadurch nicht gesagt, dass sie isoliert seien.‘ Mein Heimatland – Georgien – nimmt an diesen Prozessen teil, vor allem auch durch die Kunst und die Wissenschaft, um in Verbindung mit dem Rest der Welt, in Verbindung mit dem ‚Ganzen‘ zu stehen.“

V.l.n.r.: Stefan Wolf, Heike Taubert, Klaus-Dieter Lehmann, Akinbode Akinbiyi, Juri Andruchowytsch, Johannes Ebert, Friederike Fless, Eva Leitolf, David Lordkipanidze, Andreas Görgen, Sabine Stöhr, Christina von Braun. V.l.n.r.: Stefan Wolf, Heike Taubert, Klaus-Dieter Lehmann, Akinbode Akinbiyi, Juri Andruchowytsch, Johannes Ebert, Friederike Fless, Eva Leitolf, David Lordkipanidze, Andreas Görgen, Sabine Stöhr, Christina von Braun. | Foto: Maik Schuck