Carte Blanche Middle East “Perhaps everyone is struggling more with themselves”

The activist Lukáš Houdek immersed himself in the LGBTI scene of Amman for two weeks as part of the project Carte Blanche Middle East.
The activist Lukáš Houdek immersed himself in the LGBTI scene of Amman for two weeks as part of the project Carte Blanche Middle East. | Photo: Lukáš Houdek

Is there a LGBTI scene in Jordan? And is the Czech Republic really as liberal about same-sex love as it seems? These questions were discussed at an event called Amman Same Sex Love at the Goethe-Institut Prague. The results are surprising.

There was plenty of laughter this evening at the Goethe-Institut Prague even though the topics were difficult: homosexuality in a Muslim country, family conflicts, playing everyday hide-and-seek. At an event called Amman Same Sex Love, Khalid Abdel-Hadi, the chief editor of the only LGBTI magazine in the Middle East, Hana Kulhánková, director of the human rights film festival Jeden Svět and Mohammad, a member of the LGBTI scene in Amman discussed such issues. The event was moderated by Lukáš Houdek who, with the Hate Free initiative, fights against hatred and racism in the Czech Republic.

The gathering of this group in Prague is remarkable in several respects. The Czech Republic is considered very tolerant towards sexual minorities, but reservations against Muslims are widespread. In the past year, anti-Islamists were able to mobilize hundreds of participants for demonstrations against the alleged threat of Islamization. “There is much talk about them, but never with them,” says Houdek.

The Czech activist Lukáš Houdek (left) and Khalid Abdel-Hadi, chief editor of the only LGBTI magazine in the Middle East. The Czech activist Lukáš Houdek (left) and Khalid Abdel-Hadi, chief editor of the only LGBTI magazine in the Middle East. | Photo: František Šeda/Goethe-Institut

“The problem isn’t religion, it’s tradition”

For Mohammad and Khalid Abdel-Hadi, faith is not to blame that life is difficult for many homosexuals in their country. Abdel-Hadi is an LGBTI activist and also a practicing Muslim. “I know a lot of people from the LGBTI community who are devout Muslims or Christians. But the problem isn’t religion, it’s tradition.” Mohammad (whether that is his real name is unknown) agrees. The young architect has not yet opened up about his homosexuality. His parents, with whom he lives, know, but his brothers are not allowed to find out about it. “That would be dangerous for me.”

Mohammad is one of the gay Jordanians Lukáš Houdek met in Amman when he immersed himself in the LGBTI scene there for two weeks as part of the project Carte Blanche Middle East. Three Goethe-Instituts from North Africa and the Middle East are working together with Goethe-Instituts from Central and Eastern Europe to develop cultural programmes for the project. In this way, a little bit of Beirut comes to Bratislava, Cairo to Vilnius – and Khalid Abdel-Hadi and Mohammad came to Prague to share with Kulhánková, Houdek and the audience. Mohammad’s family knows nothing about it. What did he tell them at home? He shrugs and grins, “They think I’m at an architectural conference.”

Stories about gay sheiks and “mipsterz”

“Homosexuality is not punishable in Jordan. But in our society the laws of the family are more powerful,” says Abdel-Hadi, who has been writing to combat the social stigma for nine years in his online magazine My.Kali. Stars like the singer Yasmine Hamdan are photographed for the cover of his magazine. At first glance, the title images differ little from lifestyle magazines for women. Bright colours, glossy paper, headlines like “What we’ve missed in online dating so far.” Behind this, however, is a concept that Abdel-Hadi regards as clearly activist. “We reproduce stereotypes and then break with them,” he says of his work. And that he wants to educate society.

Hana Kulhánková, director of the human rights film festival Jeden Svět. Hana Kulhánková, director of the human rights film festival Jeden Svět. | Photo: František Šeda/Goethe-Institut Only recently, My.Kali began to be issued in Arabic. Previously, stories about gay sheikhs, “mipsterz” (Muslim hipsters) and relevant film tips were only published in English, which was “also a kind protective shield” for Abdel-Hadi. Indeed, My.Kali experienced its first backlashes following the Arabic publications. The website was blocked in Jordan. Abdel-Hadi is not discouraged by this, though. He continues to publish on an international online platform.

Fighting for social acceptance

According to Hana Kulhánková, in spite of widespread tolerance there is still a lot that needs to be done in the Czech Republic before equality is attained for lesbians, gays, bisexuals and transsexuals. “We have registered partnerships, but that’s not the same thing as marriage.” LGBTI persons also do not enjoy the same rights as heterosexual singles or couples when it comes to adoption rights. There is also a lack of public outing. “Hardly any politicians or other public figures come out here,” says Kulhánková, although the sexual orientation of many is an open secret. “We should publish a list,” she laughs.

Visitors to the event Amman Same Sex Love at the Goethe-Institut in Prague. Visitors to the event Amman Same Sex Love at the Goethe-Institut in Prague. | Photo: František Šeda/Goethe-Institut Why do people in the Czech Republic still opt to live double lives? Kulhánková does not have an answer to this question. “There is no big LGBTI community that fights for true social acceptance,” she attempts as an explanation. Perhaps each and every one is struggling more with themselves.

By Katharina Wiegmann
Katharina Wiegmann is an editor of the German-language Prager Zeitung.

Carte Blanche Middle East „Vielleicht kämpfen alle mehr mit sich selbst“

Der Aktivist Lukáš Houdek tauchte im Rahmen des Projekts „Carte Blanche Middle East“ zwei Wochen lang in die LGBTI-Szene von Amman ein.
Der Aktivist Lukáš Houdek tauchte im Rahmen des Projekts „Carte Blanche Middle East“ zwei Wochen lang in die LGBTI-Szene von Amman ein. | Foto: Lukáš Houdek

Gibt es eine LGBTI-Szene in Jordanien? Und sind die Tschechen gleichgeschlechtlicher Liebe gegenüber wirklich so liberal eingestellt, wie es auf den ersten Blick scheint? Im Goethe-Institut Prag wurde über „Amman Same Sex Love“ diskutiert. Die Ergebnisse überraschen.

Es wurde viel gelacht an diesem Abend im Goethe-Institut Prag. Obwohl die Themen schwierig waren: Homosexualität in einem muslimisch geprägten Land, Familienkonflikte, das Versteckspiel im Alltag. Unter dem Titel „Amman Same Sex Love“ diskutierten Khalid Abdel-Hadi, Chefredakteur des einzigen LGBTI-Magazins im Nahen Osten, Hana Kulhánková, Direktorin des Menschenrechtsfilmfestivals Jeden Svět und Mohammad, der seinen Nachnamen nicht nennen möchte – ein Mitglied der LGBTI-Szene in Amman. Moderiert wurde die Veranstaltung von Lukáš Houdek, der mit der Initiative Hate Free gegen Hass und Rassismus in Tschechien kämpft.

Die Zusammenkunft dieser Runde in Prag ist in mehrfacher Hinsicht bemerkenswert. Tschechien gilt zwar als sehr tolerant gegenüber sexuellen Minderheiten, Vorbehalte gegenüber Muslimen sind allerdings weit verbreitet. Islamgegner konnten hier im vergangenen Jahr mehrfach hunderte Teilnehmende für Demonstrationen gegen eine vermeintlich drohende Islamisierung mobilisieren. „Es wird viel über sie, aber nie mit ihnen gesprochen“, sagt Houdek.

Der tschechische Aktivist Lukáš Houdek (links) und Khalid Abdel-Hadi, Chefredakteur des einzigen LGBTI-Magazins im Nahen Osten. Der tschechische Aktivist Lukáš Houdek (links) und Khalid Abdel-Hadi, Chefredakteur des einzigen LGBTI-Magazins im Nahen Osten. | Foto: František Šeda/Goethe-Institut

„Das Problem ist nicht Die Religion, sondern Die Tradition“

Für Mohammad und Khalid Abdel-Hadi ist nicht der Glaube schuld daran, dass das Leben für viele Homosexuelle in ihrem Land schwierig ist. Abdel-Hadi ist LGBTI-Aktivist – und praktizierender Muslim. „Ich kenne viele Menschen aus der LGBTI-Community, die gläubige Muslime oder auch Christen sind. Aber das Problem ist nicht die Religion, sondern die Tradition.“ Mohammad – ob das sein richtiger Name ist, bleibt unklar – stimmt ihm zu. Der junge Architekt hat sich bislang nicht zu seiner Homosexualität bekannt. Seine Eltern, bei denen er lebt, wissen zwar Bescheid, seine Brüder dürfen aber auf keinen Fall davon erfahren. „Das wäre gefährlich für mich.“

Mohammad ist einer der schwulen Jordanier, die Lukáš Houdek in Amman kennenlernte, als er dort im Rahmen des Projekts Carte Blanche Middle East zwei Wochen lang in die LGBTI-Szene eintauchte. Bei dem Projekt gestalten drei Goethe-Institute aus Nordafrika und dem Nahen Osten gemeinsam mit Goethe-Instituten aus Mittel- und Osteuropa Kulturprogramme. So kommt Beirut nach Bratislava, Kairo nach Vilnius – und so kamen auch Khalid Abdel-Hadi und Mohammad nach Prag. Mohammads Familie weiß davon nichts. Was er zu Hause erzählt habe? Er zuckt mit den Schultern und grinst. „Für die bin ich bei einer Fachkonferenz mit anderen Architekten.“

Geschichten über schwule Scheichs und „Mipsterz“

„Homosexualität ist in Jordanien zwar nicht strafbar. In unserer Gesellschaft sind die Gesetze der Familie aber sowieso mächtiger“, sagt Abdel-Hadi, der seit neun Jahren in seinem Online-Magazin My.Kali gegen das soziale Stigma anschreibt. Für das Cover seines Magazins lassen sich inzwischen Stars wie die Sängerin Yasmine Hamdan ablichten. Auf den ersten Blick unterscheiden sich die Titelbilder kaum von Lifestyle-Magazinen für Frauen. Knallige Farben, Hochglanzoptik, dazu Schlagzeilen wie „Was wir beim Online-Dating bisher verpasst haben“. Dahinter steckt allerdings ein Konzept, das Abdel-Hadi als klar aktivistisch begreift. „Wir reproduzieren Stereotype und brechen dann mit ihnen“, sagt er über seine Arbeit. Und, dass er die Gesellschaft aufklären wolle.

Hana Kulhánková, Direktorin des Menschenrechtsfilmfestivals „Jeden Svět“. Hana Kulhánková, Direktorin des Menschenrechtsfilmfestivals „Jeden Svět“. | Foto: František Šeda/Goethe-Institut Seit Kurzem erscheint My.Kali auch auf Arabisch – dass Geschichten über schwule Scheichs, „Mipsterz“ („Muslim Hipsters“) und einschlägige Filmtipps bislang nur auf Englisch veröffentlicht wurden, war für Abdel-Hadi „auch eine Art Schutzschild“. Und tatsächlich erlebte My.Kali nach den arabischen Veröffentlichungen den ersten Rückschlag. Die Internetseite wurde in Jordanien blockiert. Abdel-Hadi lässt sich davon aber nicht entmutigen: Über eine internationale Online-Plattform publiziert er weiter.

Für gesellschaftliche Akzeptanz kämpfen

Hana Kulhánková findet, dass es trotz weitgehender Toleranz auch in Tschechien noch einiges zu tun gibt, bis die Gleichstellung von Lesben, Schwulen, Bi- und Transsexuellen erreicht ist. „Es gibt zwar die eingetragene Partnerschaft, das ist aber nicht dasselbe wie eine Hochzeit.“ Auch im Adoptionsrecht hätten LGBTI-Personen nicht dieselben Rechte wie heterosexuelle Singles oder Paare. Es fehlten auch öffentliche Bekenntnisse. „Politiker und andere öffentliche Figuren outen sich bei uns kaum“, sagt Kulhánková. Dabei sei die sexuelle Orientierung bei vielen ein offenes Geheimnis. „Wir sollten mal eine Liste veröffentlichen“, meint sie lachend.
 
Besucherinnen und Besucher der Veranstaltung „Amman Same Sex Love“ im Goethe-Institut in Prag. Besucherinnen und Besucher der Veranstaltung „Amman Same Sex Love“ im Goethe-Institut in Prag. | Foto: František Šeda/Goethe-Institut Warum sich Menschen in Tschechien heute noch für ein Doppelleben entscheiden? Eine Antwort hat Kulhánková darauf nicht. „Es gibt keine große LGBTI-Community, die für eine wirkliche gesellschaftliche Akzeptanz kämpft“, versucht sie sich an einer Erklärung. Vielleicht kämpfe jede und jeder mehr mit sich selbst.


Von Katharina Wiegmann

Katharina Wiegmann ist Redakteurin der deutschsprachigen Prager Zeitung.