Collecting Europe How might our present be viewed from the future?

Photo: ‘4017 Enacted’
Photo: ‘4017 Enacted’

What does Europe mean as an idea and how might our present situation be viewed from the future? These questions are not new: Europe’s history has always been characterised by shifting boundaries, political and economic upheaval, migration and the displacement of people. With this in mind, we have asked 12 artists to imagine themselves in the year 4017, looking back and making sense of where we are now. The installations will go on display throughout the V&A from 1 - 7 February 2017 as part of the week-long festival, Collecting Europe. Here you can read what the artists expect from Europe in 4017.
 

IF&00

IF00 Photo: IF00 Our contribution, Europa, asks people 'If we were to reinvent our democratic institutions for a digital age, what would they look like?' We imagine a future in which digital institutions can transcend borders in the same way that digital corporations already do […] Our governments and institutions were designed for a different industrial age. Unless they reform fast, they will become increasingly obsolete. They will find themselves trying to govern a world that runs in code, armed only with a pencil.

Tasha Marks, AVM Curiosities

Tasha Marks. Photo: Philip Sinden courtesy of Grey Goose I hope Collecting Europe will provoke debate about the future of Europe, asking people to question the artistic legacy that Europe both inspires and contains.

Raqs Media Collective

Raqs Photo: Srinivas Kuruganti We understood the invitation as a playful engagement with Europe, less burdened with weights of present conundrums, definitions, and anxieties, and more with possibilities of latent energies performed with laughter.

Constant Dullaart

Constant Dullart Photo: Karolina Spolniewski I approached the project by asking: How would the biggest data companies in the world and the newest visual data analysis techniques look at a complicated concept like European culture?

Fru*Fru

Fru*Fru Photo: Fru*Fru We have conceived a future culture for Europe and Asia in 4017: the Eurasic Kingdom. A space with no boundaries, neither territorial nor political, where the classic dichotomies will disappear: animal/mechanical, natural/artificial, masculine/feminine, public/private will no longer make sense in Eurasia.
 


About the Project:

Collecting Europe is a collaboration between the Goethe-Institut London and the V&A in partnership with the British Council. Created in a range of media from digital and interactive installations to film, sugar sculpture, tapestry, live performance, musical interventions and pocket-sized publications, the artworks will transform spaces across the Museum. The artists commissioned offer a range of viewpoints from within and outside Europe.

The festival will also include a range of discussions and workshops to encourage debate around what Europe and European identity means to people today, following the result of the UK referendum on EU membership in June 2016.

Collecting Europe will include a digital element, with a new micro-site. The site will ask questions and invite people across the globe to join the dialogue in a playful and interactive way, contributing opinions to change and shape a digital Europe.

Collecting Europe Wie sieht die Gegenwart aus der Zukunft aus?

Foto: ‘4017 Enacted’
Foto: ‘4017 Enacted’

Europa ist derzeit Gegenstand zahlreicher politischer Diskussionen. Im Projekt „Collecting Europe“ wird es Gegenstand künstlerischer Auftragsarbeiten: Das Goethe-Institut London hat gemeinsam mit dem Victoria and Albert Museum (V&A) zwölf internationale Künstlerinnen und Designer aufgefordert, einen Blick aus dem Jahr 4017 auf die europäische Gegenwart zu werfen. Die Ergebnisse werden vom 1. bis zum 7. Februar als Teil eines einwöchigen Festivals im V&A ausgestellt. Schon jetzt erzählen die Künstler, wie sie die Reise in die Zukunft angetreten haben und was sie von dem Projekt erwarten.

IF&00

IF00 Foto: IF00 „Unser Beitrag fragt die Leute: Wenn wir unsere demokratischen Institutionen für das digitale Zeitalter neu erfinden müssten, wie würden sie aussehen?

Wir stellen uns eine Zukunft vor, in der digitale Institutionen Grenzen in einer Weise überwinden können, wie das digitale Unternehmen bereits tun […] Unsere Regierungen und Institutionen wurden für ein anderes Zeitalter entworfen, für das Industrielle Zeitalter. Wenn sie sich nicht schnell reformieren, werden sie zunehmend obsolet werden. Sie werden sich selbst in einer Situation wiederfinden, in der sie versuchen, eine Welt zu regieren, die im Code programmiert ist, während sie nur mit einem Bleistift bewaffnet sind.“

Tasha Marks, AVM Curiosities

Tasha Marks. Foto: Philip Sinden courtesy of Grey Goose „Ich hoffe, Collecting Europe wird eine Diskussion über die Zukunft Europas auslösen, indem es Leute dazu auffordert, das künstlerische Vermächtnis zu hinterfragen, das Europa sowohl inspiriert als auch eindämmt.“


Raqs Media Collective

Raqs. © Raqs. Foto: Srinivas Kuruganti „Wir haben die Einladung als eine spielerische Auseinandersetzung mit Europa verstanden. Diese ist nicht so sehr mit gegenwärtigen Rätseln, Definitionen und Ängsten belastet, sondern enthält viele mögliche verborgene Energien, die Gelächter erzeugen können.“

Constant DullaarT

Constant Dullart Foto: Karolina Spolniewski „Ich habe mich dem Projekt angenähert, indem ich mich gefragt habe: Wie würden die weltweit größten Unternehmen für Datenverarbeitung und die neuesten Techniken, die es für die visualisierte Datenanalyse gibt, ein kompliziertes Konzept wie die Europäische Kultur betrachten?“

Fru*Fru

Fru*Fru Foto: Fru*Fru „Wir haben eine zukünftige Kultur für Europa und Asien im Jahr 4017 entworfen: Das Eurasische Königreich. Ein Raum ohne Grenzen, weder territorialer noch politischer Art, ein Raum, in dem die klassischen Dichotomien verschwinden werden: tierisch/mechanisch, natürlich/künstlich, männlich/weiblich, öffentlich/privat – all das wird in Eurasien keinen Sinn mehr machen.“


 
 

Über das Projekt:

Collecting Europe ist ein Projekt des Goethe-Instituts London in Zusammenarbeit mit dem V&A und dem British Council.

Neben Videoinstallationen, Skulpturen aus Zucker und musikalischen Interventionen werden Debatten und Workshops stattfinden: Was bedeutet die europäische Idee in Zeiten von Brexit und aufkommendem Populismus? Ist Europa nunmehr eine geografische Definition?

Fragen, die im Anschluss an das Festival in einem Webprojekt weitergedacht werden: Weltweit können Nutzer interaktiv in den Dialog eintreten und ein digitales Europa mitgestalten.