Insights into the Iranian Art, Music and Literary Scenes More modern than many think

Kamakan in Berlin
Kamakan in Berlin | Photo: Bernhard Ludewig

Within a period of less than four months, more than thirty Iranian and exiled Iranian artists, cultural professionals and many visitors gathered in Berlin to demonstrate the vibrancy of the Iranian arts scene. Iranian Modernity, the Goethe-Institut’s cultural programme, produced encounters, inspired people to think and enhanced our image of what modernity means in Iran and for Iranian cultural professionals.

Modernity should not be understood as a condition, but as a continuous process, emphasized Tehran-based philosopher Hossein Mesbahian at the start of the Iranian Modernity programme. The notion that modernity is complete is misleading for Iran. More than in the west, the question is debated in Iran of what modernity is and how it can be shaped. However, the Iranian Modernity programme focused less on theories; the search for a distinct, Iranian modernity was made visible, audible and palpable in art, music and literature.  

Versatility of the Iranian arts scene

Gallery-owner Anahita Ghabaian and curator Rose Issa offered insights into the arts scene in Tehran with its many hundreds of art galleries. In a country in which the scope for culture has to be constantly renegotiated, galleries are free spaces for visual art, for concerts, readings and performances that cannot easily find their place elsewhere. The fact that art is an important form of expression for the young generation in Iran was reflected in the different exhibitions, films and concerts that were brought to Berlin for Iranian Modernity.

Kamakan sings in Berlin Kamakan sings in Berlin | Photo: Bernhard Ludewig Kamakan, a band from the Arabic-speaking part of Iran, and the German-Iranian Cymin Samawatie met only two hours before their concert. They then played together in a former crematorium in Wedding. At the CTM festival, an Iranian electronic duo, an ambient musician and the musician Ata Ebtekar performed with two classical Persian instrumentalists at Theater Hebbel am Ufer. Ata Ebtekar, who was born in Hamburg and lived on the US west coast for many years, decided to move to Tehran together with his family a couple of years ago to work there as a musician. Today, he is one of the central figures of the Tehran electronics scene, playing in galleries and at local festivals, and, looking back, describes his decision as the right step. In Berlin, the musicians broke with expectations of Iranian music and underlined the global network of the electronic avant-garde.

Mahmud Doulatabdi at his reading in Berlin Mahmud Doulatabdi at his reading in Berlin | Photo: Bernhard Ludewig Renowned writers such as Mahmud Doulatabadi and Nahid Tabatabai were invited to hold readings and talks, as were the young Afghan poets of The Poetry Project Berlin, who grew up in Iran and now live in Germany. The readings took place not just in public venues, but also in private homes. The author Shida Bazyar read from her novel At Night All Is Quiet in Tehran in the living room of an Iranian-German family and Belgheis Soleymani and Nasim Marashi of Iran read from their exclusively translated works at Dekhoda, the German-Iranian cultural association. 

Between music, art and literature

One of the highlights of the programme, the Iran and Modern Art conference, took place in mid-March at the Berlin Gemäldegalerie. The Goethe-Institut and Neue Nationalgalerie invited experts to re-illuminate the development of modern Iranian art. Contemporary witnesses such as Kamran Diba reported on the establishment of the Iranian and Western collection at the Tehran Museum of Contemporary Art (TMoCA), its exhibition concepts, its self-image and its mission as the leading institution for modern art. The relationship between Islamic and modern art and the Shiraz Persepolis Festival were the subjects of lectures by Susan Babaie, Fereshteh Daftari and Vali Mahlouji.

Performance “Sei, wer Du nicht bist” (Be Who You Are Not), Schaubühne Berlin, 8 April 2017 Performance “Sei, wer Du nicht bist” (Be Who You Are Not), Schaubühne Berlin, 8 April 2017 | Photo: Bernhard Ludewig The Iranian Modernity cultural programme came to an end on 8 and 9 April with the guest theatrical performance Sei, wer Du nicht bist (Be Who You Are Not) at the Schaubühne. In the performance, the Iranian director deals with transsexuality.
 
Hence, the cultural programme not only revealed artistic positions, it also produced encounters, inspired people to think and enhanced our image of what modernity means in Iran and for Iranian cultural professionals.

Einblicke in die iranische Kunst-, Musik- und Literaturszene Moderner als viele denken

Kamakan in Berlin
Kamakan in Berlin | Foto: Bernhard Ludewig

Innerhalb von knapp vier Monaten kamen über dreißig iranische und exiliranische Künstlerinnen, Kulturschaffende und zahlreiche Besucherinnen in Berlin zusammen und machten die Lebendigkeit der iranischen Kunstszene spürbar. Das Kulturprogramm des Goethe-Instituts „Die iranische Moderne“ schuf Begegnungen, regte zum Denken an und hat das Bild, was Moderne im Iran und für iranische Kulturschaffende heißt, erweitert.

Nicht als Zustand, sondern als kontinuierlicher Prozess solle die Moderne verstanden werden, hob der Teheraner Philosoph Hossein Mesbahian zu Beginn des Programms „Die iranische Moderne“ hervor. Die Vorstellung einer abgeschlossenen Moderne sei für den Iran irreführend. Mehr noch als im Westen werde im Iran die Frage diskutiert, was Moderne sei und wie sie gestaltet werden könne. Um Theorien ging es beim Programm „Die iranische Moderne“ allerdings nur am Rande. Die Suche nach einer eigenen, iranischen Moderne wurde in Kunst, Musik und Literatur sichtbar, hörbar und fühlbar.  

Vielseitigkeit der iranischen Kulturszene

Die Galeristin Anahita Ghabaian und die Kuratorin Rose Issa gaben Einblicke in die Kunstszene Teherans, die mehrere hundert Galerien bietet. In einem Land, in dem Spielräume für Kultur stetig neu ausgelotet werden müssen, sind Galerien Freiräume für bildende Kunst, für Konzerte, Lesungen und Performances, die anderswo schwer einen Platz finden. Dass Kunst im Iran eine wichtige Ausdrucksform für die junge Generation ist, zeigte sich in den unterschiedlichen Ausstellungsbeiträgen, Filmen und Konzerten, die im Zuge der „iranischen Moderne“ nach Berlin geholt wurden.

Kamakan singt in Berlin Kamakan singt in Berlin | Foto: Bernhard Ludewig Erst zwei Stunden vor ihrem Konzert kennengelernt haben sich die Band Kamakan aus dem arabischsprachigen Teil des Irans und die Deutschiranerin Cymin Samawatie. Sie spielten dann gemeinsam in einem ehemaligen Krematorium in Wedding. Beim CTM-Festival traten ein iranisches Elektronik-Duo, ein Ambient-Musiker und Ata Ebtekar mit zwei weiteren Musikern klassischer persischer Instrumente im Theater Hebbel am Ufer auf. Der in Hamburg geborene und jahrelang an der amerikanischen Westküste lebende Ata Ebtekar hat sich vor einigen Jahren entschieden, gemeinsam mit seiner Familie nach Teheran zu ziehen, um dort musikalisch zu arbeiten. Heute ist er eine der zentralen Figuren der Teheraner Elektronik-Szene, spielt in Galerien, im Rahmen lokaler Festivals und bezeichnet die Entscheidung rückblickend als richtigen Schritt. In Berlin brachen die Musiker mit Erwartungen an iranische Musik und unterstrichen die globale Vernetzung der elektronischen Avantgarde.

Mahmud Doulatabdi bei seiner Lesung in Berlin Mahmud Doulatabdi bei seiner Lesung in Berlin | Foto: Bernhard Ludewig Renommierte Schriftstellerinnen und Schriftsteller von Mahmud Doulatabadi bis Nahid Tabatabai wurden ebenso zu Lesungen und Gesprächen eingeladen wie die jungen afghanischen Dichterinnen und Dichter von „The Poetry Project Berlin“, die im Iran aufwuchsen und heute in Deutschland leben. Die Lesungen fanden nicht nur an öffentlichen Orten, sondern auch in Privatwohnungen statt. Die Autorin Shida Bazyar las im Wohnzimmer einer iranisch-deutschen Familie aus ihrem Roman „Nachts ist es leise in Teheran“ und die Iranerinnen Belgheis Soleymani und Nasim Marashi trugen in den Räumen des deutsch-iranischen Kulturvereins „Dekhoda“ aus ihren exklusiv übersetzten Werken vor.

Zwischen Musik, Kunst und Literatur

Als einer der Höhepunkte des Programms fand Mitte März die Konferenz „Iran und die Kunst der Moderne“ in der Gemäldegalerie Berlin statt. Goethe-Institut und Neue Nationalgalerie luden Expertinnen und Experten ein, die Herausbildung der iranischen Kunst der Moderne aufs Neue zu beleuchten. Zeitzeugen wie Kamran Diba berichteten vom Aufbau der iranischen und westlichen Sammlung am Teheraner Museum für Zeitgenössische Kunst (TMoCA), von seinen Ausstellungskonzepten, von seinem Selbstverständnis und seiner Mission als führende Institution für moderne Kunst. Das Verhältnis von islamischer und moderner Kunst und das Shiraz Persepolis Festival waren Thema der Vorträge von Susan Babaie, Fereshteh Daftari und Vali Mahlouji.

Performance „Sei, wer Du nicht bist“, Schaubühne Berlin, 08. April 2017 Performance „Sei, wer Du nicht bist“, Schaubühne Berlin, 08. April 2017 | Foto: Bernhard Ludewig Mit dem Theatergastspiel „Sei, wer Du nicht bist“ an der Schaubühne endete am 08./09. April das Kulturprogramm „Die iranische Moderne“. Der iranische Regisseur Saman Arastou beschäftigt sich in der Performance mit dem Thema Transsexualität.

So machte das Kulturprogramm nicht nur künstlerische Positionen sichtbar, es schuf Begegnungen, regte zum Denken an und hat das Bild, was Moderne im Iran und für iranische Kulturschaffende heißt, erweitert.