Street Art Museum Russian Revolution on the Walls of St. Petersburg

Performative program at the opening of the exhibition
Performative program at the opening of the exhibition "Zeit zum Jubeln" | Photo: Maria Pavlova

In 2017, Russia is celebrating the centennial of the Russian Revolution. The Goethe-Institut St Petersburg has dedicated a major cultural project (an exhibition and performance programme) to the occasion in collaboration with two German curators. Yasha Young is the director of the Urban Nation Museum in Berlin and co-curator of an exhibition at the St Petersburg Street Art Museum. The dramaturge, curator and author Florian Malzacher is artistic director of the Impulse theatre festival in Cologne, Düsseldorf and Mülheim an der Ruhr. He is working on his cultural programme at another St Petersburg art institution: the Access Point Summer Festival of the Arts. Here, the two report on their work.
 

How did your involvement in the project come about?
 
Yasha Young Yasha Young | Photo: Tomas Flint Yasha Young: The Urban Nation Museum in Berlin that I run was interesting for the Goethe-Institut St Petersburg because it shows the form of art that was sought-after at the moment in Russia. I was able to mobilize a number of artists who I have collaborated with for a long while.
 
Florian Malzacher: The topic of the Russian Revolution is challenging and important. It gives us the chance to think about how we should consider utopias and political movements in the past as well as the future. It is always impressive to see how contemporary many artistic, philosophical and political ideas seem and how far we still are from their realization. That was the starting point for our project. Florian Malzacher Florian Malzacher | Photo: Robin Junicke I then spoke to many different theatre people, writers and artists – mainly from postdramatic theatre – to create new works or actions that would take place in different parts of the city. These places are both artistically and historically connected with the legacy of the Revolution. Special attention will be paid to the female protagonists. The Romanian choreographer Alexandra Pirici, for example, is creating an action at the Russian State Museum framed with works by the Russian avant-garde painter Natalia Goncharova.
 
How do you interpret the idea of the Revolution within the context of your project?
 
Young: I believe it is very important to not thoughtlessly throw about the word “revolution.” What kind of revolution are we talking about? Why is revolution always associated with violence? It doesn’t have to be violent. It doesn’t have to be negative in general. For me, it was important to focus on being in another country. I try to understand and address different viewpoints, to show the revolution feeling at different levels of meaning.
 
Malzacher: We are not concentrating on actual events from this era although they will play a role. However, the works also deal very much with artistic freedoms and focus on what the concept of utopia means for us today. There is no homogeneous outlook; take the poet Anna Akhmatova who contradicts the avant-garde of her time in many ways.
 
Who is your audience?
 
Young: My personal experience shows that people who are interested in art in general like to follow new movements, new techniques and new topics. For Russia, I am hoping for a good blend of cultural institutions, galleries, students or political activists.
 
Malzacher: The audience will largely be the one that is interested in the Access Point Festival. In only a few years, the organizers have fantastically succeeded in making non-mainstream theatrical works accessible to a wide audience. I am sure that the audience is open to discovering theatre forms it does not yet know.

 
The interview was conducted by Ksenia Reutova.

 
  • Art-mediator Veronika Kirt guides through the exhibition „Zeit zum Jubeln“, Photo: Maria Pavlova Photo: Maria Pavlova
    Art-mediator Veronika Kirt guides through the exhibition „Zeit zum Jubeln“
  • Tour through the exhibition by Denis Leo Hegic production manager of the Urban Nation Museum for Urban contemporary Art, Berlin, Photo: Maria Pavlova Photo: Maria Pavlova
    Tour through the exhibition by Denis Leo Hegic production manager of the Urban Nation Museum for Urban contemporary Art, Berlin
  • „Eremitage ist unser“, Kuril Shto (Russia), Photo: Maria Pavlova Photo: Maria Pavlova
    „Eremitage ist unser“, Kuril Shto (Russia)
  • Participants of the discussion „Simulacrums der Revolution“ at the international forum „Kunst der direkten Handlung“, Photo: Maria Pavlova Photo: Maria Pavlova
    Participants of the discussion „Simulacrums der Revolution“ at the international forum „Kunst der direkten Handlung“
  • Performative program at the opening of the exhibition, Photo: Maria Pavlova Photo: Maria Pavlova
    Performative program at the opening of the exhibition
  • „Revolution“, Millo (Italy), Photo: David Frenkel Photo: David Frenkel
    „Revolution“, Millo (Italy)
  • „Infanterie“, Sergey Karev (Russia), Photo: Maria Pavlova Photo: Maria Pavlova
    „Infanterie“, Sergey Karev (Russia)
  • Opening of the exhibition, Photo: David Frenkel Photo: David Frenkel
    Opening of the exhibition

Street Art Museum St. Petersburg Russische Revolution an Wänden

Performatives Programm anlässlich der Eröffnung der Ausstellung „Zeit zum Jubeln“
Performatives Programm anlässlich der Eröffnung der Ausstellung „Zeit zum Jubeln“ | Foto: Maria Pavlova

2017 feiert Russland das 100-jährige Jubiläum der russischen Revolution. Das Goethe-Institut St. Petersburg hat diesem Ereignis ein großes Kulturprojekt (bestehend aus einer Ausstellung und einem performativen Programm) gewidmet; in Zusammenarbeit mit zwei deutschen Kuratoren. Yasha Young ist Leiterin des Urban Nation Museums in Berlin und Co-Kuratorin einer Ausstellung im Street Art Museum St. Petersburg. Dramaturg, Kurator und Autor Florian Malzacher ist künstlerischer Leiter des Impulse Theaterfestivals in Köln, Düsseldorf und Mülheim an der Ruhr. Sein Kulturprogramm entwickelt er in einer weiteren Kunstinstitution St. Petersburgs – dem The Access Point Sommerfest der Künste. Beide berichten hier über ihre Arbeit.
 

Wie kam es zu Ihrer Beteiligung am Projekt?
 

Yasha Young Yasha Young | Foto: Tomas Flint Yasha Young: Das Urban Nation Museum in Berlin, das ich leite, war für das Goethe-Institut St. Petersburg von Interesse, weil hier die Form von Kunst gezeigt wird, die aktuell in Russland gesucht wurde. Ich habe viele Künstlerinnen und Künstler mobilisieren können, mit denen ich schon seit einiger Zeit zusammenarbeite.
 
Florian Malzacher: Das Thema „russische Revolution“ ist ein herausforderndes und wichtiges. Es gibt uns Gelegenheit, darüber nachzudenken, wie wir Utopien und politische Bewegungen in der Vergangenheit, aber auch in Zukunft betrachten müssen. Es ist immer wieder beeindruckend, wie zeitgenössisch viele künstlerische, philosophische und politische Ideen wirken – und wie weit wir noch immer von ihrer Verwirklichung entfernt sind. Das war der Ausgangspunkt unseres Projekts. Ich habe dann mit vielen verschiedenen Theaterschaffenden, Autorinnen, Künstlern – Florian Malzacher Florian Malzacher | Foto: Robin Junicke hauptsächlich aus dem postdramatischen Theater – gesprochen, um neue Arbeiten oder Aktionen zu erschaffen, die an verschiedenen Orten der Stadt stattfinden werden. Diese Orte stehen sowohl künstlerisch als auch historisch in Verbindung mit dem Nachlass der Zeit der Revolution. Besonderes Augenmerk wird auf den weiblichen Protagonistinnen liegen. Die rumänische Choreographin Alexandra Pirici kreiert beispielsweise im russischen Staatsmuseum eine Aktion, die von Arbeiten der russischen Avantgarde-Malerin Natalia Goncharova gerahmt wird.
 
Wie verstehen Sie die Idee der Revolution im Kontext Ihres Projekts?
 
Young: Ich glaube, dass es sehr wichtig ist, das Wort „Revolution“ nicht unüberlegt zu benutzen. Über was für eine Art von Revolution sprechen wir? Warum wird Revolution immer mit Gewalt assoziiert? Sie muss nicht gewalttätig sein. Sie muss insgesamt nicht negativ sein. Für mich war es wichtig, mich darauf zu konzentrieren, dass ich in einem anderen Land bin. Ich versuche, andere Sichtweisen zu verstehen und zum Thema zu machen. Das Revolutionsgefühl auf verschiedenen Bedeutungsebenen zu zeigen.
 
Malzacher: Wir konzentrieren uns nicht vorrangig auf konkrete Ereignisse dieser Zeit, auch wenn sie eine Rolle spielen werden. Die Arbeiten beschäftigen sich aber auch sehr mit künstlerischen Freiräumen und konzentrieren sich darauf, was das Konzept von Utopia heute für uns bedeutet. Es existiert kein homogener Blick. Die Dichterin Anna Akhmatova wäre hier zu nennen, die der Avantgarde ihrer Zeit auf vielen Wegen widerspricht.
 
Wer ist Ihr Publikum?
 
Young: Meine persönliche Erfahrung zeigt, dass Menschen, die sich generell für Kunst interessieren, gerne neuen Bewegungen, neuen Techniken und neuen Themenzugängen folgen. Für Russland hoffe ich auf eine gute Mischung aus Kulturinstitutionen, Galerien, Studenten oder politischen Aktivisten.
 
Malzacher: Das Publikum wird größtenteils das sein, das sich für The Access Point Festival interessiert. Die Veranstalter haben es auf fantastische Weise geschafft, in nur ein paar Jahren Theaterarbeiten, die nicht dem Mainstream entsprechen, einem breiten Publikum zugänglich zu machen. Ich bin sicher, dass das Publikum offen dafür ist, Theaterformen zu entdecken, die es noch nicht kennt.

Das Interview führte Ksenia Reutova.
 

  • Art-Mediatorin Veronika Kirt führt durch die Ausstellung „Zeit zum Jubeln“, Foto: Maria Pavlova Foto: Maria Pavlova
    Art-Mediatorin Veronika Kirt führt durch die Ausstellung „Zeit zum Jubeln“
  • Führung durch die Ausstellung von Denis Leo Hegic, Produktionsleiter des Urban Nation Museum for Urban contemporary Art, Berlin, Foto: Maria Pavlova Foto: Maria Pavlova
    Führung durch die Ausstellung von Denis Leo Hegic, Produktionsleiter des Urban Nation Museum for Urban contemporary Art, Berlin
  • „Eremitage ist unser“, Kuril Shto (Russland), Foto: Maria Pavlova Foto: Maria Pavlova
    „Eremitage ist unser“, Kuril Shto (Russland)
  • Teilnehmer der Diskussion „Simulacrums der Revolution“ beim internationalen Forum „Kunst der direkten Handlung“, Foto: Maria Pavlova Foto: Maria Pavlova
    Teilnehmer der Diskussion „Simulacrums der Revolution“ beim internationalen Forum „Kunst der direkten Handlung“
  • Performatives Programm anlässlich der Eröffnung der Ausstellung, Foto: Maria Pavlova Foto: Maria Pavlova
    Performatives Programm anlässlich der Eröffnung der Ausstellung
  • „Revolution“, Millo (Italien), Foto: David Frenkel Foto: David Frenkel
    „Revolution“, Millo (Italien)
  • „Infanterie“, Sergey Karev (Russland), Foto: Maria Pavlova Foto: Maria Pavlova
    „Infanterie“, Sergey Karev (Russland)
  • Eröffnung der Ausstellung, Foto: David Frenkel Foto: David Frenkel
    Eröffnung der Ausstellung