Frankfurt Book Fair Goethe at Home

Street art from the guest of honour at the Frankfurt Book Fair
Street art from the guest of honour at the Frankfurt Book Fair | Photo: Christian Guémy

If the Bible is the book of books, Frankfurt is the book fair of book fairs. It’s a fixture in the calendar – not just for publishers. The Goethe-Institut also makes its way to the vibrant literary scene of the Frankfurt Book Fair with an extensive programme of events.

While the Goethe-Institut’s work in literature consists chiefly of events abroad and translation funding, book fairs, in particular the one in Frankfurt, offer an excellent opportunity for a change of perspective. What does our own work look like in a domestic light? In a way, it is a holiday at home for the Goethe-Institut. How appropriate that of all places, the city of Goethe’s birth serves as the backdrop for this journey home.

Of course, the German public should also be able to get an idea of the Goethe-Institut’s work for the sake of literature – the subject matter, formats and people – all around the world. This opportunity will be offered by the Goethe-Institut between 11 and 15 October at Stand L38 located in Hall 3.1. There will be events about this year’s book fair guest of honour, France, but also about Arabic comics, fake news and a lost avant-garde movement on the stages of Weltempfangs-Zentrum für Politik, Literatur und Übersetzung.

This is the second time since 1989 that France – a nation of bibliophiles – is the focus of the book fair. Based on the guest of honour, the Goethe-Institut is exploring a variety of global themes. For instance, the Goethe-Institut Nancy is presenting the literature project The Lost Avant-Garde produced in cooperation with the Literarische WELT. Like no other conflict before it, the First World War claimed the lives of intellectual luminaries of its age such as Guillaume Apollinaire and August Macke. For the project, the Goethe-Institut asked nine French and German writers to imagine what course the works of these artists might have taken if the war had never happened. A bilingual edition of their essays in German and French will be presented on 11 October 2017 as Nora Bossong, Frank Witzel, Philippe Claudel, Mathias Enard and Philippe Forest read from their literary assessments and then discuss them with the audience.

Disinformation and decolonialisation

The avant-gardist role of literature is also the subject matter of the joint German-Franco-Egyptian project New Arabic Comics. A panel will discuss Arabic-language graphic novels from the past ten years, which reflect the free spirit and openness of a young generation of illustrators in spite of censorship and a lack of sales channels.

Another topic that the Goethe-Institut in Frankfurt is working on is fake news. How can civil society protect itself from targeted disinformation and political manipulation? “The fact that fake news is associated with such huge manipulative, democracy-damaging potential also has to do with a credibility deficit among the population with regard to traditional media,” says Johannes Ebert, CEO of the Goethe-Institut. “Alongside the pure provision of information, conveying critical media skills is gaining in importance in the work of the Goethe-Institut so that people learn to recognise different mechanisms of propaganda and targeted falsehoods, especially on the social networks.” Ebert will be joined on the panel by the neuroscientist Maren Urner, the journalist Matthew Karnitschnig and Yevhen Fedchenko, the maker of the website www.stopfake.org.

In a segment entitled Decolonise Yourselves!, Gabi Ngcobo, the curator of the 10th Berlin Biennale for Contemporary Art, the political scientist María do Mar Castro Varela and Klaus-Dieter Lehmann, the president of the Goethe-Institut, will discuss cultural dialogue between Africa and Europe, a topic that the Goethe-Institut also considers a focal point of its work. “In addition to philosophical reflection on the active movement of decolonisation, the cultural course is increasingly being set for a fundamental reordering,” explains Lehmann. “With its work, the Goethe-Institut wants to reveal different perspectives, make the many voices clear and at the same time support the development of cultural infrastructures because art and culture need structures to be visible.”

In addition to all of this, the refugee issue in Germany, a key topic of today’s children’s and youth literature, the political development of Romania, conflicts of interest in the Balkans and the tension between freedom of expression and blasphemy will be the subjects of passionate debates in Frankfurt. Naturally, the Goethe-Institut in Frankfurt will also present the results of its translation work. In 2016, it supported the translation of more than 200 German books into approximately 35 languages.

You can see an overview of all of the events by the Goethe-Institut at the Frankfurt Book Fair here.

-db/fg-

Frankfurter Buchmesse Goethe daheim

Street Art aus dem Gastland der Frankfurter Buchmesse (Foto: Christian Guémy)
Street Art aus dem Gastland der Frankfurter Buchmesse | Foto: Christian Guémy

Wenn die Bibel das Buch der Bücher ist, so ist Frankfurt die Buchmesse der Buchmessen. Ein Pflichttermin nicht nur für Verlage. Auch das Goethe-Institut begibt sich mit einem umfangreichen Veranstaltungsprogramm in den regen Literaturbetrieb.

Während die Literaturarbeit des Goethe-Instituts zu einem großen Teil in Veranstaltungen im Ausland und der Übersetzungsförderung besteht, bieten Buchmessen, allen voran die in Frankfurt, eine ausgezeichnete Gelegenheit für einen Perspektivwechsel: Wie sieht die eigene Arbeit im heimischen Licht betrachtet aus? Es ist gewissermaßen ein Heimaturlaub für das Goethe-Institut. So trifft es sich sehr gut, dass ausgerechnet Goethes Geburtsstadt, die Szenerie für diesen Besuch in der Heimat bietet.

Und natürlich soll sich auch das deutsche Publikum einen Eindruck davon verschaffen können, mit welchen Themen, Formaten und Menschen das Goethe-Institut in aller Welt in Sachen Literatur arbeitet. Diese Möglichkeit gibt es vom 11. bis 15. Oktober am Stand des Goethe-Instituts in Halle 3.1, Stand L38. Neben an, auf den Bühnen des Weltempfangs-Zentrus für Politik, Literatur und Übersetzung, finden Veranstaltungen zum diesjährigen Gastland der Buchmesse, Frankreich, statt, es geht aber auch um arabische Comics, Fake News und eine verlorene Avantgarde.

Schon zum zweiten Mal seit 1989 ist Frankreich Ehrengast auf der Buchmesse – ein Land der Buchliebhaber. Ausgehend vom Gastland widmet sich das Goethe-Institut verschiedenen globalen Themen. So stellt das Goethe-Institut Nancy das in Kooperation mit der Literarischen WELT entstandene Literaturprojekt Die verlorene Avantgarde vor. Wie kein Konflikt zuvor forderte der Erste Weltkrieg seine Opfer unter den Geistesgrößen seiner Zeit wie Guillaume Apollinaire oder August Macke. Für das Projekt beauftragte das Goethe-Institut neun französische und deutsche Schriftstellerinnen und Schriftsteller, darüber zu spekulieren, welchen Verlauf die Werke dieser Künstler ohne den Krieg hätten nehmen können. Die deutsch-französische Gesamtausgabe der Texte wird am 11. Oktober 2017 vorgestellt: Nora Bossong, Frank Witzel, Philippe Claudel, Mathias Enard und Philippe Forest lesen aus ihren literarischen Fortschreibungen und diskutieren anschließend mit dem Publikum.

Desinformation und Dekolonialisierung

Um die avantgardistische Rolle der Literatur geht es auch in dem deutsch-französisch-ägyptischen Gemeinschaftsprojekt Der neue arabische Comic. Auf einer Podiumsdiskussion befassen sich die Teilnehmer mit den arabischen Graphic Novels der letzten zehn Jahre, die den freiheitlichen Geist und die Offenheit einer jungen Zeichner-Generation widerspiegeln – trotz Zensur und fehlenden Vertriebsstrukturen.

Auch der Umgang mit Fake News ist eines der Themen, mit denen sich das Goethe-Institut in Frankfurt beschäftigt: Wie kann sich die Zivilgesellschaft gegen gezielte Fehlinformation und politische Manipulation schützen? „„Dass Fake News ein so großes manipulatives, demokratiegefährdendes Potenzial zugeordnet wird, hat auch mit einem Glaubwürdigkeitsdefizit klassischer Medienangebote in der Bevölkerung zu tun.“ findet Johannes Ebert, Generalsekretär des Goethe-Instituts. „Die Vermittlung kritischer Medienkompetenz, mit der sich unterschiedliche Mechanismen von Propaganda und gezielter Falschmeldungen vor allem in den sozialen Netzwerken erkennen lassen, gewinnt neben der reinen Informationsbereitstellung für die Arbeit des Goethe-Instituts immer mehr an Bedeutung.“ Auf dem Podium wird Ebert mit der Neurowissenschaftlerin Maren Urner, dem Journalisten Matthew Karnitschnig und Yevhen Fedchenko, dem Herausgeber der Website www.stopfake.org diskutieren.

Und unter dem Titel Dekolonisiert euch! erörtern Gabi Ngcobo, die Kuratorin der 10. Berlin Biennale für zeitgenössische Kunst, die Politikwissenschaftlerin María do Mar Castro Varela, und Klaus-Dieter Lehmann, der Präsident des Goethe-Instituts, den kulturellen Austausch zwischen Afrika und Europa. Ein Thema, in dem auch das Goethe-Institut einen Schwerpunkt seiner Arbeit sieht: „Neben der philosophischen Reflexion zur aktiven Bewegung der Dekolonisierung werden auch zunehmend kulturelle Weichen für eine grundsätzliche Neuordnung gestellt", erläutert Lehmann, „Das Goethe-Institut will mit seiner Arbeit verschiedene Blickweisen aufzeigen, die Vielzahl der Stimmen deutlich machen und gleichzeitig den Aufbau kultureller Infrastrukturen unterstützen, denn: Kunst und Kultur benötigen Strukturen, um sichtbar zu sein.“

Aber auch die Flüchtlingsfrage in Deutschland, ein Schlüsselthema in der aktuellen Kinder- und Jugendliteratur, die politische Entwicklung Rumäniens, Interessenskonflikte auf dem Balkan und das Spannungsfeld zwischen Meinungsfreiheit und Blasphemie werden in Frankfurt Gegenstand leidenschaftlicher Diskussionen. Natürlich wird das Goethe-Institut in Frankfurt zudem die Ergebnisse seiner Übersetzungsarbeit vorstellen. 2016 unterstützte es mit seinen Förderprogrammen die Übersetzung von mehr als 200 deutschen Titeln in rund 35 Sprachen.

Eine Übersicht aller Veranstaltungen des Goethe-Instituts auf der Frankfurter Buchmesse finden Sie hier.

-db-